US help.

Telur17

I would have spent 4 days in NYC, and it's not my first time there. But definitely wouldn't mind staying back to catch 1-2 more shows/musicals before leaving. I'm female so not sure if travelling to philly alone is a good idea or whether it's better to follow a day tour (pricey at 159USD). That being said, I'll be alone in Boston too
wah, the day tour not cheap. Think its pretty safe to travel to Philly esp if you are going during the day? Last time I got the greyhound tickets really cheap at $1 each way. But maybe I was lucky. But then travelling to Philly takes about 2 hours whether on bus or train so both ways will take up almost half the day le. n the scenery nothing great lor. maybe spend the time in a museum or just exploring town better.

if got time n you interested, don't mind meeting up for makan. :)

patryn33

ya, heard some amtrak journeys can be quite fun. Can see lots of nice scenery. but more ex than greyhound? But still want to take a cross country ride on amtrak one day :)

Yes it cost more, best thing with train is it travels in a snow storm unlike bus.
It also goes thru some places that is inaccessible by car and u get to see great views.

U should try NYC to Montreal route.

Telur17

Yes it cost more, best thing with train is it travels in a snow storm unlike bus.
It also goes thru some places that is inaccessible by car and u get to see great views.

U should try NYC to Montreal route.

NYC to Montreal by train? How long will that be? I do intend to go Montreal one day but was planning to fly instead.

cormet

cormet

wah, the day tour not cheap. Think its pretty safe to travel to Philly esp if you are going during the day? Last time I got the greyhound tickets really cheap at $1 each way. But maybe I was lucky. But then travelling to Philly takes about 2 hours whether on bus or train so both ways will take up almost half the day le. n the scenery nothing great lor. maybe spend the time in a museum or just exploring town better.

if got time n you interested, don't mind meeting up for makan. :)

when will you be there? or do you live there :s13:

my extra day is 22 june.

Telur17

I've booked! Thanks though :)

Still considering about whether to spend a day in Philly. Not sure if i't's too much moving around with all my stuff. Probably can check in my luggage with Amtrak first.
Personally, I will skip. Unless I can spend 2 days in Philly. Otherwise a bit rush. Bus and train both about 2 hours per-way. Lots to do in NY. Go shopping instead lah.

I took the fall foliage tour with onboardtours last year. They're not bad. Maybe you can try a tour with them too. This sounds not bad. New York Shopping Tour » New York City Tours - OnBoard New York toursNew York City Tours - OnBoard New York tours

when will you be there? or do you live there :s13:

my extra day is 22 june.
I live in NY. 22 June is a Sat. If want to meet, I will drag my hubby and 2 boys along. :p

cormet

Personally, I will skip. Unless I can spend 2 days in Philly. Otherwise a bit rush. Bus and train both about 2 hours per-way. Lots to do in NY. Go shopping instead lah.

I took the fall foliage tour with onboardtours last year. They're not bad. Maybe you can try a tour with them too. This sounds not bad. New York Shopping Tour » New York City Tours - OnBoard New York toursNew York City Tours - OnBoard New York tours

I live in NY. 22 June is a Sat. If want to meet, I will drag my hubby and 2 boys along. :p

Sure i'll let you know closer to the date? Kind of decided to skip Philly already. Haha I'm browsing the tours now.

Telur17

Sure i'll let you know closer to the date? Kind of decided to skip Philly already. Haha I'm browsing the tours now.

no prob. if you don't manage to meet, have a great time in NY :)

chimpchimp

Anyone stayed at Hotel St. James in NYC before? I came across this quite value-for-money and no-frills hotel when i was searching for hotels in the Times Square area. Really good location for the price!

Shiny Things

Anyone stayed at Hotel St. James in NYC before? I came across this quite value-for-money and no-frills hotel when i was searching for hotels in the Times Square area. Really good location for the price!

"No frills" is putting it politely - Tripadvisor users call it "tired" and in need of a facelift.

Surely you can do better than this for the same price. Hit up Priceline, Hotwire and Kayak, and see what you can get.

ah_paul

I have just booked my flight.

Can I ask, since I will be travelling for only 7 weeks, I just need to apply ESTA right?

Also, is there an estimate of how much things will cost there? been more than 10 years since I last went. Airfare is already paid, lodging is settled. Is $100/day sufficient for food and some sight-seeing? Just wanna know a rough gauge of what I will be spending there. :)

Shiny Things

I have just booked my flight.

Can I ask, since I will be travelling for only 7 weeks, I just need to apply ESTA right?

Yep, that's right. Any longer than three months and you need to rig up a longer-term visa.

Also, is there an estimate of how much things will cost there? been more than 10 years since I last went. Airfare is already paid, lodging is settled. Is $100/day sufficient for food and some sight-seeing? Just wanna know a rough gauge of what I will be spending there. :)

Yeah, that should be stacks. Food's cheap over here, and if you've got your room and board sorted then $100 a day should cover you unless you're in somewhere horrifically expensive (NYC mostly).

cormet

Which sim card should I get? I'll be there for about 2-3 weeks. My priority is unlimited 3/4G. I do not need international calls but would like local calls if possible.

invisible999

Which sim card should I get? I'll be there for about 2-3 weeks. My priority is unlimited 3/4G. I do not need international calls but would like local calls if possible.

US is not Singapore/Asia from this perspective, your choices are quite limited. In reality you have only two choices - AT&T and Tmobile. And you have specifically explain in the shop that you do not want a plan or an annual contract, but rather want a SIM card for the existing phone with data package enabled.

And also forget about unlimited data package. Last time I've checked with ATT they've been offering 12GB for $200 and that's data package only. You need to add on top of that $70 for the SIM card for smartphone devices and taxes.

You might be better of if you rent a 3G router instead.

P.S. They might also simply refuse you to sell SIM card/package because you are not US resident.

Telur17

I find the standard is $30/month. almost everyone is offering that. If you don't need internet connection everywhere you go, can just hop into the many starbucks and macD for free wifi.

The 10 Best Cheap Prepaid Phone Plans You've Never Heard Of
The 10 Best Cheap Prepaid Phone Plans You've Never Heard Of | PCMag.com

but article dated last year so you might want to check up.

For what its worth, I have a T Mobile prepaid and they didn't ask for any ID. Can buy from drugstores like CVS.

cormet

Ohh okay thanks guys! On my previous trip I did get a T-mobile card but it was above $50 I remember. I'll ask again at the airport :)

Thanks again.

jamielam

Hi Guys,

I will be going to States this coming Aug. Based on what on the posts in this useful thread and some research, I managed to come up with a Nyc-Niagara-Was DC- Philly itinerary. Sorry a rather long list, I hope to get some feedback many thanks in advance!
Nyc

Day 1
Empire state building / Skyride
Rockefeller top of rock
Grand central terminal
5th Ave
Trump tower
Museum of sex
NBC studio tour

Day 2
Woodbury

Day 3
Times sq
Madison sq garden
Macy's
Carnegie hall
Riley's believe it or not
Mdm tussauds

Day 4
9/11 tribute centre
Elis island water taxi
Brooklyn bridge
Yankee stadium

Day 5
Night at the museum (Museum of natural history)
Soho
Wall St
Broadway Tkts
Century 21
Lincoln centre

To Washington DC (By Amtrak)

Day 6 and 7
Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception
Crime Museum
Old Post Office Pavilion
Lincoln memorial
US National Arboretum
Medieval Times
National Geographic Events
White house (Will write in but not sure whether still open to tour)
Library of Congress

To Philadelphia ( By Amtrak)

Day 8 and 9
Old City
Hot Air Balloon Flights Rides
King of Prussia Mall
Eastern State Penitentiary
National Constitution Center
Ghost Tours of Philadelphia
Lights of Liberty
New Hope & Ivyland Railroad
Philly Horse and Carriage Rides
The Franklin Institute

Day 10 back to Nyc - Sin

Day 8 and 9

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.