US help.

patryn33

have u check amtrak schedule? how U go from NYC to DC to Philly and then Niagara?
u have to back track to NYC to go niagara, no direct route. day 10 back to NYC and SIN from philly can u make it to your flight?
do check out amtrak schedule in your planning.
ie NYC and DC do have trains every hour from 10am but even leaving at 10am u will be there at 1pm.DC to Philly also have trains that leave every hour but still its a 2hr ride.
from NYC there is only 2 trains to Niagara a day, by the time u get there its 5pm.

9 days covering NYC, DC, Philly and Niagara is very rush.

jamielam

Hi Patryn, thanks for pointing out on the Amtrak schedule.
I will remove either philly or dc if necessary most likely will skip DC.

The plan is nyc - Niagara - Philly/DC - nyc

Btw from the list, is there any place that can be missed or should include in?

patryn33

I wouldn't skip DC, I would skip Philly.

don't know why u want to check out place such as Century 21, Macy's, Riley's believe it or not.

how are U going to do Lincoln centre and Broadway on same day? Liconln center only watch performance, u plan to watch 2 shows a day? it can be moved to say 3 and 4. make some adjustment and free up day 5 in NYC.

jamielam

Yeah I will separate both Lincoln and broadway. These places are not confirmed yet, just trying to see anyone been there before so can get more accurate info :) Anyway thanks for the advice cheers!

Telur17

I wouldn't skip DC, I would skip Philly.

don't know why u want to check out place such as Century 21, Macy's, Riley's believe it or not.

how are U going to do Lincoln centre and Broadway on same day? Liconln center only watch performance, u plan to watch 2 shows a day? it can be moved to say 3 and 4. make some adjustment and free up day 5 in NYC.

maybe him or his travelling friend wants to shop? my friend sure checkout century 21 n tj maxx when she comes NY de.

for day 1, think just pick rockerfeller or empire state building. cos essentially its the same view lor. not cheap to go up too. :p personally, I like top of the rock. check out sites like viator or those tourist maps. normally can get a few $ discount

patryn33

shop... hmm.. 5th ave and woodbury outlet can shop so much already. only can bring back 2 check in bags and a carry on anyway. Go many place hard to bring back things also.
want to go many shopping place to need est how much to buy.

Home Good, Marshalls is own by TJ Max. TJ Max has steeper discount but I feel Marshall has a little better stuff. I love to check them out out, never know what can U find.

TJ Maxx RUNWAY has better stuff compare to the regular TJ MAX, here are the stores location.
https://www1.tjmaxx.com/tjx/runway.asp

Telur17

Day 1

actually your itinerary is all over the place. NBC is at rockerfeller. museum of sex is near madison sq garden which is near herald sq which is where empire state building is. Might want to prioritise what you really want to see. 1st day might have jetlag so tiring to go so many places.

Day 2
Woodbury

Day 3
Times sq
Madison sq garden
Macy's
Carnegie hall
Riley's believe it or not
Mdm tussauds

riley and mdn tussauds r at times sq. carnegie hall near central park and madison sq garden is not that near to both places.

Day 4
9/11 tribute centre
Elis island water taxi
Brooklyn bridge
Yankee stadium

1st 3 is downtown manhatten. last one all the way in the bronx. you got time to go?

Day 5
Night at the museum (Museum of natural history)
Soho
Wall St
Broadway Tkts
Century 21
Lincoln centre

if you are going ellis island and 9/11 on previous day, might as well go wall street on same day since its in same area.

To Washington DC (By Amtrak)

Day 6 and 7
Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception
Crime Museum
Old Post Office Pavilion
Lincoln memorial
US National Arboretum
Medieval Times
National Geographic Events
White house (Will write in but not sure whether still open to tour)
Library of Congress

white house no more open to foreign tour i believe

Telur17

Yes, one of the objectives is to shop. I shall check out Tj maxx thanks friend :)
you are welcome. my friend who likes designer stuff says nordstorm racks is v good too.

shop... hmm.. 5th ave and woodbury outlet can shop so much already. only can bring back 2 check in bags and a carry on anyway. Go many place hard to bring back things also.
want to go many shopping place to need est how much to buy.

Home Good, Marshalls is own by TJ Max. TJ Max has steeper discount but I feel Marshall has a little better stuff. I love to check them out out, never know what can U find.

TJ Maxx RUNWAY has better stuff compare to the regular TJ MAX, here are the stores location.
https://www1.tjmaxx.com/tjx/runway.asp
5th avennue most stuff quite ex lor. but us brands so much cheaper here lah. surprised to find out that uniqlo oso much cheaper in the US.

patryn33

5th avennue most stuff quite ex lor. but us brands so much cheaper here lah. surprised to find out that uniqlo oso much cheaper in the US.

That I agree with u.
Uniqlo is cheaper in USA than sg or Japan? Japan was really cheap, I got a wool toggle coat for ~usd$35.

I thought White House is open just have to write in to us embassy, they don't have tour every day iirc so even he or she plan on that day may not be available.

Look like all the cost cutting no more tours for everyone!
http://m.whitehouse.gov/about/tours-and-events

Telur17

That I agree with u.
Uniqlo is cheaper in USA than sg or Japan? Japan was really cheap, I got a wool toggle coat for ~usd$35.

I thought White House is open just have to write in to us embassy, they don't have tour every day iirc so even he or she plan on that day may not be available.

Look like all the cost cutting no more tours for everyone!
Tours & Events | The White House

ya, i checked a few months ago when we were going washington. white house closed but can still go capitol building for tours. library of congress was surprisingly good too. n so many museums in washington.

ya, uniqlo quite cheap here leh. i got a cardigan for 19.90. sold at 39.90 in sg. leggings jeans during promo here is 12.90, normal times 19.90. it is sold at 34.90 in sg.

patryn33

There are so many cool museum in dc, too bad White House to closed for everyone, not even my American kids can access today.

chimpchimp

Hi all, just enquiring if New York has great Boxing Day sales? Especially those branded shops along 5th Avenue?

Shiny Things

To Washington DC (By Amtrak)

Day 6 and 7
(snip)

white house no more open to foreign tour i believe

You missed one big one while you're in DC - the National Air and Space Museum. (There are two parts - one on the National Mall, near the White House and everything; and one out at the airport.)

The Library of Congress is pretty great; Medieval Times is a tacky chain of theatre restaurants that isn't worth your time or money.

Also if you're in midtown NY, it's only about 20 minutes' walk to the Intrepid Air and Space Museum. It's AN ENTIRE AIRCRAFT CARRIER. WITH A SPACE SHUTTLE ON TOP OF IT.

If you'd rather spend your afternoon spending your hard-earned cash on tacky branded cr@p than scrambling around an aircraft carrier, then you have a beige heart and a vanilla soul and are probably no fun at parties.

Telur17

You missed one big one while you're in DC - the National Air and Space Museum. (There are two parts - one on the National Mall, near the White House and everything; and one out at the airport.)

The Library of Congress is pretty great; Medieval Times is a tacky chain of theatre restaurants that isn't worth your time or money.

Also if you're in midtown NY, it's only about 20 minutes' walk to the Intrepid Air and Space Museum. It's AN ENTIRE AIRCRAFT CARRIER. WITH A SPACE SHUTTLE ON TOP OF IT.

If you'd rather spend your afternoon spending your hard-earned cash on tacky branded cr@p than scrambling around an aircraft carrier, then you have a beige heart and a vanilla soul and are probably no fun at parties.

that's not my itinerary lah. just commenting on jamielam's itinerary. paiseh, i lazy to use quotes.

I did go to the air and space museum in washington. It was v nice but actually like the art museum better. wish I had more time to spend there.

And yes, I think intrepid is a good place to go. but he has limited time, so I guess its up to him what he wants to do. Not everyone into aircraft carriers mah. maybe his travelling companion really into shopping so must compromise a bit?

Shiny Things

And yes, I think intrepid is a good place to go. but he has limited time, so I guess its up to him what he wants to do. Not everyone into aircraft carriers mah. maybe his travelling companion really into shopping so must compromise a bit?

I'm not taking a pop at you here, mate - I'm taking a pop at anyone who thinks the point of vacations is to go shopping for the exact same luxury-goods rubbish you can buy at home.

Let's say you go to America and spend $1,000 on a Louis Vuitton Neverfull tote ("oh my god it's twice that much in Singapore!"). When you get home, you'll be the proud owner of... the exact same tote bag that every second woman in Singapore already owns.

Or you could spend that $1,000 on a week blasting a convertible Mustang around Utah, stopping here and here and here and here and here, taking photos like this one and this one and this one and this one and this one, seeing things that you've never ever seen before and might never see again, and doing all of it at the wheel of a great American muscle car that just begs to be taken out and driven hard.

Which one's going to make your life richer? Which one's going to leave you with the best memories? (And c'mon - which one's going to make your friends turn green with envy when they see the photos?)

Telur17

I'm not taking a pop at you here, mate - I'm taking a pop at anyone who thinks the point of vacations is to go shopping for the exact same luxury-goods rubbish you can buy at home.

Let's say you go to America and spend $1,000 on a Louis Vuitton Neverfull tote ("oh my god it's twice that much in Singapore!"). When you get home, you'll be the proud owner of... the exact same tote bag that every second woman in Singapore already owns.

Or you could spend that $1,000 on a week blasting a convertible Mustang around Utah, stopping here and here and here and here and here, taking photos like this one and this one and this one and this one and this one, seeing things that you've never ever seen before and might never see again, and doing all of it at the wheel of a great American muscle car that just begs to be taken out and driven hard.

Which one's going to make your life richer? Which one's going to leave you with the best memories? (And c'mon - which one's going to make your friends turn green with envy when they see the photos?)
not worth to buy LV in US. Want LV go France better. :p

The photos are really swee. Hope to be able to do that one day.

Everybody differs in what they want. His itinerary oso got some museums n sightseeing lah. I know history buffs who will also devote some time to shopping branded stuff. To each their own. :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.