US help.

Shiny Things

Thanks for the suggestions, I will do more research on the attractions for SF for that period. Do you have any recommendations for hotels in SF?

We need a price range and a date. I usually recommend the Kimpton hotel chain in SF, though; they're not-overly-expensive, very friendly, and stacks of personality.

Shiny Things

I know that America is big, but sadly asides from driving, I'm not sure how else to get around, and doubly sad; the fiancé doesn't like driving. Zzzz. Might have to rethink my destination.

Thank you so much for this though, the route around the parks sound like a lot of fun! Should be easier to plan something now with this in mind!

Do the driving yourself then - you'll love it. The scenery's phenomenal - you'll have some epic holiday photos to make everyone jealous with.

(If you can take seven or eight days on that national parks loop, you can extend it even further and pick up some incredible parks in western Utah; cute little mountain towns in Colorado; the old mountain town of Santa Fe; the Painted Desert; and Meteor Crater in Arizona. That might be a bit of a squeeze based on your schedule, but let me know if you want the details of the extended loop.)

Shiny Things

Is it true that there is no tax refund in New York when u shop at factory outlet?

That's right. Sales taxes in America are imposed at a state level, not a national level, so it'd be impossible to correctly handle tax refunds anyway.

denial86

Do the driving yourself then - you'll love it. The scenery's phenomenal - you'll have some epic holiday photos to make everyone jealous with.

(If you can take seven or eight days on that national parks loop, you can extend it even further and pick up some incredible parks in western Utah; cute little mountain towns in Colorado; the old mountain town of Santa Fe; the Painted Desert; and Meteor Crater in Arizona. That might be a bit of a squeeze based on your schedule, but let me know if you want the details of the extended loop.)

Haha I would if I knew how to drive! :p Thanks for the tips, will discuss with him and see what he thinks!

patryn33

Whoa, thank you so much for the detailed breakdown! Lol, good to know I don't have to go to a beach, don't care for them really, but the fiancé is a sun lover.

I know that America is big, but sadly asides from driving, I'm not sure how else to get around, and doubly sad; the fiancé doesn't like driving. Zzzz. Might have to rethink my destination.

Thank you so much for this though, the route around the parks sound like a lot of fun! Should be easier to plan something now with this in mind!

Haha I would if I knew how to drive! :p Thanks for the tips, will discuss with him and see what he thinks!
if he hates driving why risked the danger of not enjoying one self and fight during a honeymoon.

travelling from A to B takes sometime usually at least 1 hr. if U are not type to hike just take snap pics and leave u may only scratch the surface. The best views often requires some leg work. will he be tired and hit the roads? alot of things to consider. when u hit Utah u get many nice places to visit ie Arches etc. u don't want to drive to Bryce and miss out on A B and C and feel like returning to hit some places U missed last time. then again it means more driving.

There are other places in states u can go without knowing how to drive. U can visit NYC, DC, Boston, Philly and up to Montreal/ Old quebec city and Niagara Falls. U can fly or travel on a train (http://tickets.amtrak.com/itd/amtrak/selectpass) to these places. may take longer time but he don't have to drive. then again 14 days with traveling time U get like 11 days. shopping in NYC under usd$110 is tax free.

techman03

going to SFO, LA, Vegas , NYC this december 13-jan2

any advice in SG where to buy winter clothes? any online sites?

gmarket? taobao?

Telur17

if he hates driving why risked the danger of not enjoying one self and fight during a honeymoon.

travelling from A to B takes sometime usually at least 1 hr. if U are not type to hike just take snap pics and leave u may only scratch the surface. The best views often requires some leg work. will he be tired and hit the roads? alot of things to consider. when u hit Utah u get many nice places to visit ie Arches etc. u don't want to drive to Bryce and miss out on A B and C and feel like returning to hit some places U missed last time. then again it means more driving.

There are other places in states u can go without knowing how to drive. U can visit NYC, DC, Boston, Philly and up to Montreal/ Old quebec city and Niagara Falls. U can fly or travel on a train (Amtrak - Reservations - USA Rail Pass - Select Pass) to these places. may take longer time but he don't have to drive. then again 14 days with traveling time U get like 11 days. shopping in NYC under usd$110 is tax free.
agree. I took bus from NYC to Philly, Washington and even Toronto. Actually quite relaxing leh. Buses have wifi so can do some light surfing. Load tablets with shows, games etc and time passes v fast. N of cos whole family can just relax and look out of the window and admire scenery. but of cos buses have set routes so cannot go off exploring other places on a whim.

going to SFO, LA, Vegas , NYC this december 13-jan2

any advice in SG where to buy winter clothes? any online sites?

gmarket? taobao?
i will get some basics from uniqlo and buy the rest in the USA. better choice and cheaper. If you think you have time, can oso buy from taobao. I know some who have done so and the costs etc were quite ok

patryn33

agree. I took bus from NYC to Philly, Washington and even Toronto. Actually quite relaxing leh. Buses have wifi so can do some light surfing. Load tablets with shows, games etc and time passes v fast. N of cos whole family can just relax and look out of the window and admire scenery. but of cos buses have set routes so cannot go off exploring other places on a whim.

its been awhile since I took coach, which one did you take?
megabus.com | Now serving over 30 million bus customers in North America
Greyhound.com | Greyhound Express

xtwis7

greyhound and peter pan. better than expected. megabus always seems to be more expensive on the dates that I want so no chance to try. some of their dropoff points oso not so good

Peter Pan was really good. More Shiok for me than a plane lor. I'm quite tall so it was very comfortable even though my bus ride was only from DC to Boston.

techman03

boots. don't wear the free saf sneakers with all the air holes. will be v cold

boss any recommendation on what kind pls....

best if anyone can recommend a winter boots/ shoe for grand canyon..(any shop to recommend not so ex)

thanks in advance

patryn33

whats your budget and size?
willing to shop online gore tex boots will be nice.

Merrell, Timberland, Salomon, Wolverine, Columbia hiking boots.

if U not really going down Canyon... U can go for nicer boots ie
- Red Wing
- Thorogood

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.