USA Stocks discussion - Part 3

limster

For illustration. 100% equity compared to 60%stock/40%bond mix after all the crashes.
As Louis-Vincent Gave has pointed out, US likes to throw their bond market under the bus in order to pump up stocks, so no wonder 60% US equity/40% US bonds does worse than 100% equity. If it was 40% non-US bonds the result may be different.

elvintay07

Let say u inherit or strike lottery 2M today.
How u invest?
if $2m then want to be safe will be 12 trache into world index. This strategy likely will benefit your next few gen

if want to be millionaire or billionaire then showhand in crypto. This is make or break. Within years can be multi millionaire or back to become dog.

mooseolly

As Louis-Vincent Gave has pointed out, US likes to throw their bond market under the bus in order to pump up stocks, so no wonder 60% US equity/40% US bonds does worse than 100% equity. If it was 40% non-US bonds the result may be different.
US stocks are overwhelmingly the best-performing major asset class over the very long term, significantly outperforming non-US bonds and nearly all other asset classes.

Stocks are for growth and consistently deliver the highest returns over multi-decade periods. Bonds are primarily for stability and capital preservation.

DevilPlate

if $2m then want to be safe will be 12 trache into world index. This strategy likely will benefit your next few gen

if want to be millionaire or billionaire then showhand in crypto. This is make or break. Within years can be multi millionaire or back to become dog.
I shd rephrase it.

Let say u 55yo have 2M cash today + paid up HDB + CPF FRS
Insecure job anytime can kena retrench.

DevilPlate

US stocks are overwhelmingly the best-performing major asset class over the very long term, significantly outperforming non-US bonds and nearly all other asset classes.

Stocks are for growth and consistently deliver the highest returns over multi-decade periods. Bonds are primarily for stability and capital preservation.
Key word is very long term like 50years? :s13:

DevilPlate

We are in a secular bull market, no need wait 50 years. Just ride it until stagnation or secular bear comes. Don’t fight the trend.
Nobody knows whether we are in secular bear or bull.
Hindsight 20/20

Maybe next yr Global sovereign debt chibaboom :s13:

elvintay07

I shd rephrase it.

Let say u 55yo have 2M cash today + paid up HDB + CPF FRS
Insecure job anytime can kena retrench.
I already said world index (slow and steady like Buffett and Munger). But if you want get rich scheme then can go aggressive. Those ball-less approach like put simi fixed D or 3% bond no need to ask me. I no recommend bond since cpf is world largest bond.

But talk is easy. Most ppl who won $2m toto usually go ktv, hang flower joint and do all the nonsense. Don’t even talk about investing

mooseolly

Nobody knows whether we are in secular bear or bull.
Hindsight 20/20

Maybe next yr Global sovereign debt chibaboom :s13:
So far so good with the indexes hitting multiple ATH this year. We already have two cyclical correction , covid and 2022 within this secular bull. When will it stagnant idk but no need to fight the trend.

mooseolly

Btw I am not telling people to FOMO and buy at ATH. Even if indexes ATH also have undervalued stocks although it is only a handful. Cannot say index ATH so everything is overvalued.

Otherwise it will be like saying all Singaporeans are rich because our gdp per capita one of the highest in the world.

elvintay07

So far so good with the indexes hitting multiple ATH this year. We already have two cyclical correction , covid and 2022 within this secular bull. When will it stagnant idk but no need to fight the trend.
I think US will continue to do well in the next 50 years. China is the next closest and they are good. But mentality they are not there yet.

elvintay07

Btw I am not telling people to FOMO and buy at ATH. Even if indexes ATH also have undervalued stocks although it is only a handful. Cannot say index ATH so everything is overvalued.

Otherwise it will be like saying all Singaporeans are rich because our gdp per capita one of the highest in the world.
Agree. But super difficult to find the gems. Most of the value for money is more like broken business.

Jirachi

Your favourite GIC CEO still loves 60-40

Jirachi

I just go S&P 500. World Index is too volatile for me.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.