Useful tools for DIY PC enthusiasts & technicians

ykgoh

You all DIY enthusiasts and techs got buy any special tools for PC assembly and troubleshooting at home mah?

Such as:

• Power supply voltage tester: test PSU OK or not.
  • 2.5" / 3.5" IDE / SATA to USB adapter cable: to transfer data from internal HDD to another machine.
  • Wriststrap: prevent static buildup and discharge.
  • Screwdriver kit and hex wrenches of various sizes

Any value in buying a tool that is seldom used in your opinion? Maybe used once only every year or 2 years whenever there is a computer breakdown.

Feel free to suggest other useful tools you have.

Kince86

Imo a voltmeter and a screwdriver set is good to have in homes regardless of purpose.

Wriststraps is meh.

Just imo tho. Im neither a techie nor a enthusiast

nannan82

Thing I cfm needed... screwdriver...hiren bootdisk...sata to usb kit...

royfrosty

Answer varies for certain chassis.

LianLi chassis doesnt really need a screwdriver.

But normally what i always have,

Screwdriver, Anti Static wrist (just in case it is raining or working in a cool environment)

I have at home is a Fluke Multimeter (just in case for troubleshooting)

A Zippo with cloth to wipe old and dirty chassis to give its brand new look again.

wtfh4x

I've found a small torchlight to be useful in black-painted chassis, as sometimes its difficult to see what you're doing. And a magnetic screwdriver of course.

Singtel_Sim

Torchlight is very useful.

Screw drivers with magnetic heads definitely useful. But hex wench?

royfrosty

Hex wench depends. If you have a wc loop then you might need it. Else no need.

Maeda_Toshiie

Torchlight is very useful.

Screw drivers with magnetic heads definitely useful. But hex wench?

I use an adjustable wrench for the standoffs for the mobo. I know adjustables are prone to rounding heads, so care is needed.

royfrosty

Not good to use hex wrench on fittings for WC... hand tight is enough le.

No lah. Personal preferences. Never like to hand tight. Just use wrench to tighten it. As long can feel the torque nia stop le.

Hand tight not my favourite. For example the aqc gpu blocks got the fitting end that one use hand a bit difficult to turn lol.

shadow84

No lah. Personal preferences. Never like to hand tight. Just use wrench to tighten it. As long can feel the torque nia stop le.

Hand tight not my favourite. For example the aqc gpu blocks got the fitting end that one use hand a bit difficult to turn lol.

Lol, i now scared to overly tighten things ever since i did it on my G10 till the frame flex a lot..lol

Maeda_Toshiie

Lol, i now scared to overly tighten things ever since i did it on my G10 till the frame flex a lot..lol

Hand tighten and then use a wrench to tighten a little more until you feel the exponential increase in resistance. Just make sure you don't use brute force and damage the threads.

No different from tightening hydraulic pipelines inside a tank.

Ark Law

Anti-static wristwrap is no point at home in SG. Our homes aren't dry enough unless you have A/C

MoneyFace =p

You all DIY enthusiasts and techs got buy any special tools for PC assembly and troubleshooting at home mah?

Such as:

• Power supply voltage tester: test PSU OK or not.
  • 2.5" / 3.5" IDE / SATA to USB adapter cable: to transfer data from internal HDD to another machine.
  • Wriststrap: prevent static buildup and discharge.
  • Screwdriver kit and hex wrenches of various sizes

Any value in buying a tool that is seldom used in your opinion? Maybe used once only every year or 2 years whenever there is a computer breakdown.

Feel free to suggest other useful tools you have.

This will do:

dscn00615bt.jpg

psu002jw4.jpg

Use a crossover LAN cable to connect both old and new PCs together

Connect PSU to mains and touch its metal chassis periodically during assembly to discharge.

yusoffb01

BEST38-In-1InterchangeableScrewdriver%20Set1_01.jpg

Dont forget this screw driver set! Got mine for like 5sgd at aliexpress

ykgoh

Actually to secure n tie loose cables together, apart from cable ties, any problem with using masking tape? I think black electrical tape n scotch tape tend to melt or get sticky over time. But paper maskjng tape seems OK.

Ark Law

mypillowtalks

Last time me have a few tools, cos work in simlim square(shop+onsite), and got a short period of time friend jio me help him run on site repair.

Onsite things i bring:
Testpen, multimeter, fuses, magnetic traditional and electronic screwdriver(+/-), small screw driver set(for laptop), magnet, brush, thermal paste, eraser, soldering iron, headstrap led light(wear liao look stupid but no choice :s13:), ext dvd, thumbdrives

Put in office:
soldering iron + sucker, variable powersupply, ide/sata to usb convertor, ide/sata casing(both 2.5 and 3.5"), HDD docking station, extra mobo batt, PCI troubleshooting & diagnostic card, wire stripper and crimping tools(to make small black connector from mobo to casing), mini desk clamp, PCI lan card/modem, external DVD drive, external diskette drive, bootable thumbdrive, cable ties, vacuum cleaner.

Most importantly is to have lots of extra compatible components for testing, lots of screws.

Pliers and spanners important when the whole stand off comes off when unscrewing mobos.

Ext diskette n thumbdrive more of flashing of bios.
Got people invest in air compressor to blow dust off parts.

Now not in computer line already, some things duno put till where, things like screwdrivers, multimeter,soldering,clamps, fuses, wires all these still got use.

Kiwi8

Actually to secure n tie loose cables together, apart from cable ties, any problem with using masking tape? I think black electrical tape n scotch tape tend to melt or get sticky over time. But paper maskjng tape seems OK.

I think even certain masking tape turns out to be sticky in the long run too, so it's better to avoid using tape of any kind and just stick to either cable ties or velcros.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.