Usually for landed property, how is the renovation process like?

Tabula Rasa

Not haolian thread. Just ask out of curiosity. Not in financial position to be able to afford landed property right now anyway.

For those landed houses, usually how long it takes to build up? I heard can take a few years if wanna knock down existing and build up? During that few years, usually people stay where? Rent a temporary place?

How much does landed reno usually cost if building up? Will be more than 1m? I can imagine will need a lot of approval from the various agencies too, and maybe hire architect. Definitely won't be cheap.

For Semi Detached and terrace houses, if sharing a wall with neighbour, how do you manage the reno such that you don't damage your neighbours house?

tjy008

90% of the builders will promise the sky. then delay will come, variations also come...

die die make sure the QP / PE engaged by you. else u llst if there are problems.

Rathcycle

hire architect, apply to sla/relevant authorities for R&R or A&A
then architect can bring their ID and builder or use your own id, they will also need engineer for R&R then submit to authorities to vet and approve then start lo.
rn to build from scratch is about $3-400psf depends on builder/architect and depends on what ingredient you use.

zyklon86

If you cannot afford a landed property, you cannot afford to rebuild one. Now rebuild semi also 2.5mil up already.

If you poor, it is better value to buy those small landed house which are already built up. Stay few years then sell or leave empty.

If genuinely want to rebuild, pm me.

You need to differentiate reno, a&a and rebuild.

Reno is just interior. Cheap 200-300k. Expensive 400-500k. My neighbourhood highest reno I hear before 1.5mil...so...big big range.

Tabula Rasa

If you cannot afford a landed property, you cannot afford to rebuild one. Now rebuild semi also 2.5mil up already.

If you poor, it is better value to buy those small landed house which are already built up. Stay few years then sell or leave empty.

If genuinely want to rebuild, pm me.

You need to differentiate reno, a&a and rebuild.

Reno is just interior. Cheap 200-300k. Expensive 400-500k. My neighbourhood highest reno I hear before 1.5mil...so...big big range.

What's teh diff btw rebuild and A&A? Rebuild means include knockdown?

Heard those houses that are already build up and reno not long ago, will sell at a premium cos of the convenience for the buyer.

dilphinus

Not haolian thread. Just ask out of curiosity. Not in financial position to be able to afford landed property right now anyway.

For those landed houses, usually how long it takes to build up? I heard can take a few years if wanna knock down existing and build up? During that few years, usually people stay where? Rent a temporary place?

How much does landed reno usually cost if building up? Will be more than 1m? I can imagine will need a lot of approval from the various agencies too, and maybe hire architect. Definitely won't be cheap.

For Semi Detached and terrace houses, if sharing a wall with neighbour, how do you manage the reno such that you don't damage your neighbours house?
Know the difference between building and reno lah.

To build a house, need an architect.

To reno, you don't need an architect.

nyvrem

My side got 1 old house bulldoze down and rebuilt 3 story

Tiagong over 4mil

@theMKR plz confirm

bedok terrace there

:o

peterchan75

Things to consider if rebuilding a landed home.
1. Cement roof with roof access. Every few years or so, do some water proofing or resealing.
2. Why not tile or zinc roof... leak! Not cheap to repair leaky roof.
3. Forget about garden, just cement or tile up surrounding. Unless, you want spend time and money of grass lawn.
4. Consider boom lift access if semi detached or bungalow. It's a lot cheaper than scaffolding for painting and repair works. Like more than 50% cheaper. Scaffolding for a 3 storey bungalow can cost up to $15K.
5. DO NOT encased drainage pipe with bricks and cement. Hunting for leak is a nightmare.

Darth_Yang

The process goes like this...

U pay some money...

Reno start...

U pay more money ...

Reno con't...

Reno completed

U pay even more money...

i_got_a_question_to_ask

Buy land build house Jin Chor to cash out at once
Buy livable house and do extensive Reno or AA most manageable
Buy brand new built house also Chor on cashflow

But first and third won't have many headache for a long time in terms of maintenance

zyklon86

What's teh diff btw rebuild and A&A? Rebuild means include knockdown?

Heard those houses that are already build up and reno not long ago, will sell at a premium cos of the convenience for the buyer.

Rebuild means tear down and build again loh.

A&A... addition and alteration.

You don't buy those newly rebuild. Buy those 3 story maybe 10+ years ones. Stay a few years then move liao. It is a stepping stone. Not your forever home.

theMKR

My side got 1 old house bulldoze down and rebuilt 3 story

Tiagong over 4mil

@theMKR plz confirm

bedok terrace there

:o
my neighbor also bulldoze 1 down. rebuilding 3sty with attic, mezzanine and basement.

tia gong is 4.2m
but is estimated at 10,000sqft build up

think nowadays 4m is the norm for rebuild le

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.