Very touched. End of china trip

Solidus_GZ

Actually u know why they treat u food anot?
My tiong kok customer even i 1 person come they order like 1 to 2k sgd food, they use it to declare their expenses to offset their tax, they rather spend money to treat makan and ktv then giving tax to their gov

Weng123

Actually u know why they treat u food anot?
My tiong kok customer even i 1 person come they order like 1 to 2k sgd food, they use it to declare their expenses to offset their tax, they rather spend money to treat makan and ktv then giving tax to their gov
If we can visit ktv and treat makan to offset our income tax, why not. Ownself and family, friends enjoy better than giving perks to FTs

nonameless

You r the golden goose , their own ppl already milked dry. Wait for you to migrate back to China with yr cpf.

nakata97

Well, I have to agree with this. Happened to my parent. 路遥知马力。
Not saying it's definitely happening. Chances are ... very high.

Aiya…. Always remember to take care of yourself.

no one cares how you live your lives

elephantscannotfly

I have been to china couple of times. Sorry to say but what you have experienced is normal. It is their nature to impress their guests. It is the same reason why the Japanese are so well mannered in the front, but will still stab you in the back when you have it turned. You can label me narcissistic, but one fine day you will come back here, read this and say damn you're right.

tokong

Agreed . how much hv to give them

Money usually is parents give elders.

TS' parents will definitely give hongbaos to some elders. It's not much, and try not to fret over these little things. One table of food is not very expensive in a county-level restaurant. If host knows the eatery/restaurant boss, it will even be cheaper. Anyway, you go anywhere this type of EQ (人情世故) always must have, just follow the culture of the place. Normally the person who pays for the welcoming or CNY banquet is usually your parents' generation relative or their son who has made some money in the big cities. All these already have mutual understanding. You don't go and offer to give him the meal money after he has paid for the banquet. They considered it very rude because they take it as not giving them 面子. Thus when your China friend or client gives you a treat, just sit down and eat, that's it. At most you give them a pack of good cigarettes (buy when you touch down at the airport). You can also buy a bottle of good wine at the airport and at the restaurant tell the waitress to open put it on the table. Then everybody can enjoy. You yourself don't drink too much, it is very very strong liquor. They can tank it but we are tropical people we can't drink like them.

So all these table culture must know. When you offer to pour liquor, always pour the boss or the client company boss first or if it is a family banquet like TS' pour the grandparents' generation first, NOT pour for your wife first or the person sitting beside you first. Actually these are common sense which many Singaporeans lack.

Solidus_GZ

Money usually is parents give elders.

TS' parents will definitely give hongbaos to some elders. It's not much, and try not to fret over these little things. One table of food is not very expensive in a county-level restaurant. If host knows the eatery/restaurant boss, it will even be cheaper. Anyway, you go anywhere this type of EQ (人情世故) always must have, just follow the culture of the place. Normally the person who pays for the welcoming or CNY banquet is usually your parents' generation relative or their son who has made some money in the big cities. All these already have mutual understanding. You don't go and offer to give him the meal money after he has paid for the banquet. They considered it very rude because they take it as not giving them 面子. Thus when your China friend or client gives you a treat, just sit down and eat, that's it. At most you give them a pack of good cigarettes (buy when you touch down at the airport). You can also buy a bottle of good wine at the airport and at the restaurant tell the waitress to open put it on the table. Then everybody can enjoy. You yourself don't drink too much, it is very very strong liquor. They can tank it but we are tropical people we can't drink like them.

So all these table culture must know. When you offer to pour liquor, always pour the boss or the client company boss first or if it is a family banquet like TS' pour the grandparents' generation first, NOT pour for your wife first or the person sitting beside you first. Actually these are common sense which many Singaporeans lack.
and always toast lower on the cup than the one who toast you, that show respect.

focus1974

Visited relatives. Here the people really care about you and make sure you really enjoy. They care about one another. Got a law firm partner who drive me all around and very nice to me. Treated me to super grand food like those 25 seaters where food like lobster and fish keep coming in. I lost count of number of food. Last night they put a lot of firecrackers to celebrate my return. Many are not rich but they really tried to do their best.

Like today I wanted to go fz airport for flight. I told them I didi over. They say lots of relatives fight over to send me go airport. Tell me must not didi

I kana this kind of hospitality really grateful. I already think next time they come sg I will set aside 10k sgd to host then back. Maybe take them to malaysia or cruise or something. They coming soon.

Really make me think of sg relatives. A lot real selfish and care for their own. Very big difference. Not sure about your relatives but my sg relatives really care for themself. Like I ask my close friend he also say sg relatives care for themselves and look down on him. I pure sinkie. Did ns. Parents sinkie. Don't tell me go back china hor

uh.. actually .. this type of behaviour is common in most countries.

You go malaysia to the town of your wife relative, they will also bring you around and host you in their house (if you want).
You go korea/japan/taiwan , your friends (classmates from last time) will also bring you around their place (at least will take 1 day to acompany you or to meet you up for dinner/lunch etc).

it's just we 不会做人。

fortunehunter

Visited relatives. Here the people really care about you and make sure you really enjoy. They care about one another. Got a law firm partner who drive me all around and very nice to me. Treated me to super grand food like those 25 seaters where food like lobster and fish keep coming in. I lost count of number of food. Last night they put a lot of firecrackers to celebrate my return. Many are not rich but they really tried to do their best.

Like today I wanted to go fz airport for flight. I told them I didi over. They say lots of relatives fight over to send me go airport. Tell me must not didi

I kana this kind of hospitality really grateful. I already think next time they come sg I will set aside 10k sgd to host then back. Maybe take them to malaysia or cruise or something. They coming soon.

Really make me think of sg relatives. A lot real selfish and care for their own. Very big difference. Not sure about your relatives but my sg relatives really care for themself. Like I ask my close friend he also say sg relatives care for themselves and look down on him. I pure sinkie. Did ns. Parents sinkie. Don't tell me go back china hor

No take you go 天上人间 don't consider full package

boringLife-

I joined tour group then after tour end, coincidentally flew over to guangzhou for layover with another tour member.

In guangzhou he fetch me in maybach to have dinner together then drop me off at canton tower before he go back to rest lol

charlieangel123

everyone is selfish
AT is more selfish than sinkie

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.