Vietnam

excalibur324

4 days 3 nights in HCM and Hanoi each. how should i plan it? with 1st day each reached about afternoon and last day each flying out.

Solo trip, any recommendation for cheap accommodation?
4d3n can consider day trips out

hcmc - mekong delta tours, cuchi tunnels
hanoi - halong bay, tam coc, more days in hanoi allow u to go sapa

dalat or muine can be worthy visits if u feel bored in hcmc.

maxokw

Thanks for the info. Will do more search on the area for accommodation and yes, planning to take day tours. Will skip Sapa for now, Halong Bay will be going but Tam Coc, see if can fit in the time.

anyone took their internal flight, VietJetAir before? need to fly between HaNoi and HCM. Best part is, i do not see other seats allocated to any passengers, looks like i am the only one. Like that during the flight day not enough passengers they sure wont fly. scary...

maxokw

Is it a case where it is free seating if you choose not to pay to select seats?

if is not a full flight, usually can just hop over to a empty seat.

but for my case, i dont see a single seat occupied. Meaning nobody booked that flight, also meaning the flight might be canceled if the passengers rate fell below it's quota. isnt it?

what other internal flight are there? I need to fly from Bkk to Hanio, Hanoi to HCM.

beanstalk6

Because it costs extra to select seats, your fellow passengers chose not to. They are content to sit on a first-come-first basis. I usually opt not to pay, but try to board early instead, so I get a better choice of seats.
Vietnam Airlines and also Jetstar Vietnam fly the route.

Thoma5

Hi all,

Im going vietnam for the 1st time in my life. im so totally new to this country. and there is a few things i want to do, please guide me or pm me for your advise. below is my checklist;

1. where to find nice food ?

2. is there any shopping mall over there? any nice cloth to shop anot?

3. what can i do at night? where is the club at ? how to go?
is it dangerous anot?

HELP HELP !!!! thanks...

1. Duno ur taste.

2. Yes there is shopping mall but then need to find.

3. Book saigon zoom hotel... Very cheap $20+ a night. Got elevator,hotel quite decent. Bar all nearby. Can book tour in the hotel. Cheap cheap.

Address 102/1a cong quynh street 1a ho chi minh city

Remember those siao kia on bicycle will keep asking u to get girl... Dun go... Want girl just go and xian...
Quite safe lah dun worried.

maxokw

In HCM City, stay at Phan Ngu Lao. In Hanoi, stay in the old quarter where it is more interesting.

HCM - Any cheap and clean hotels to recommend? Looking at Saigon Zoom Hotel and Saigon Mini hotel - think they are the same organization. Approx budget SG$20 - SG$25 / night.

Phan Ngu Lao is a whole stretch of street and connecting to Ben Thanh mkt? Can find day tours along that street?

whats in the area other then Ben Thanh Mkt?

Hanoi - any cheap and clean hotels to recommend?
Approx budget SG$20 - SG$25 / night.

Whats in the area to walk/visits?

thanks!

beanstalk6

Pham Ngu Lao is like Khao San Roadin Bangkok, where backpacker motels and inns are concentrated. Likewise, excursions and tour desks also concentrate. To be precise, the De Tham offshoot from Pham Ngu Lao is where you should head for.
Pham Ngu Lao Street Reviews - Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam Attractions - TripAdvisor.
Cross reference the location with all the attractions you read about in guidebooks, and you will see why staying in District 1's Pham Ngu Lao makes sense, in addition to all the above backpacker conveniences. Also, check photos of the streetscene to get an idea.
Ho Chi Minh City travel guide - Wikitravel

Ditto the Old Quarter and French Quarter in Hanoi.

seraphim6967

I will be arriving in Hanoi at around 7pm.

Is it wise to go straight to Halong Bay or should I spend one night in Hanoi before proceeding to Halong Bay?

beanstalk6

How are you getting to Halong Bay at that hour? How are you booking your junk tour? I am not aware of any night departures from the port.

seraphim6967

Thanks for your answer

Actually, I wanted like to know is it possible to go to Halong Bay at that time. I have no idea why the question came out like this.

any way, now that I know that there is no night departure I will go book me a room for the night.

MadamChia

I never been to Vietnam before but i will going there soon within a month or 2.
I heard they have good coffees.

excalibur324

I will be arriving in Hanoi at around 7pm.

Is it wise to go straight to Halong Bay or should I spend one night in Hanoi before proceeding to Halong Bay?
book a tour in hanoi. all tours leave in the morning. takes around 3 hrs to reach halong city from hanoi.

suangern

Don't say i never wong you hor. :s13: Be careful when taking their teksi.

狮城女在越南误上假德士 遭锁车勒索

越南搭德士误上贼车,2狮城女郎拒绝付高出40倍的德士费,司机竟把她们载到昏暗巷子里,锁车门车窗恐吓勒索!

很多国人爱到越南胡志明市旅游,不过大家在乘搭德士时要小心,以免被砍菜头。

就有两名本地女郎投诉,原本新币8角的车资,竟然变成新币35元。当她们拒绝被敲竹杠时,德士司机竟把她们载到暗巷勒索,变相抢劫。

有黑道撑腰,警察捉不完。

《新明日报》

News sauce: http://news.omy.sg/News/Local-News/...-De-Shi-Zao-Suo-Che-Le-Suo-160831#prettyPhoto

tpybear

One of my fav dish in HCMC! The crab pincers!
The link is a picture of the delicious crab pincers in HCMC, Vietnam. The tasty and unique fish sauce poured over the fresh crab pincers make it a point that one plateful is never enough!
Oh yes, this picture is currently used for my university's photo contest, would appreciate a "like" if you deem it worthy!
Have fun in vietnam!
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=603498049661580&set=a.603497939661591.1073741828.390401674304553&type=1&theater

maxokw

Don't say i never wong you hor. :s13: Be careful when taking their teksi.

狮城女在越南误上假德士 遭锁车勒索

越南搭德士误上贼车,2狮城女郎拒绝付高出40倍的德士费,司机竟把她们载到昏暗巷子里,锁车门车窗恐吓勒索!

很多国人爱到越南胡志明市旅游,不过大家在乘搭德士时要小心,以免被砍菜头。

就有两名本地女郎投诉,原本新币8角的车资,竟然变成新币35元。当她们拒绝被敲竹杠时,德士司机竟把她们载到暗巷勒索,变相抢劫。

有黑道撑腰,警察捉不完。

《新明日报》

News sauce: 狮城女在越南误上假德士 遭锁车勒索

scary.... >.<

kangaroos_kang

Can someone help me.
I stay in ho chi minh caravelle hotel last year. Beside the hotel there is another tall hotel.
Any idea whats the other hotel name?
I couldnt find it at google map.
Making a trip next week. Thanks

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.