the rest dun tink we teach liao rite :D

saigonblack

saigon har....just go cybercafe or ice cream/cafe fast food sian sian a bit
since u foreigner chance high high
the rest dun tink we teach liao rite :D

But i am a good boy, i wait for the girls to hit me there :s13:

But ya, there are a lot of pimps on motorbikes that keep cutting into my path on the pavement while walking at night and keep asking if I want young girls. I shoo them off and continue walking and the stupid bike keep following me for at least another 50m and keep asking. :s8:

Telur17

I have a picture of that too at home! :s13: I think the glass dessert is call Che if im not wrong.

I like hanging around Ben Thanh as well, but my best place that I visit everyday is this restaurant call Quan Ngon. Open air alfresco concept. CHEAP AND GOOD! Pack to the brim everyday even though the place is big :s13:

P/S My standard room I went at Elios also have no window. Think I better put in a note to state I want a window should I book it.
we went quan ngon an too. Not bad. Quite like the atmosphere and the food was not bad. But we feel the desserts not as good as the one in Ben Thanh.

Will definitely request a room with a window should I ever book Elios again. Miss the pho and banh mi... :(

saigonblack

we went quan ngon an too. Not bad. Quite like the atmosphere and the food was not bad. But we feel the desserts not as good as the one in Ben Thanh.

Will definitely request a room with a window should I ever book Elios again. Miss the pho and banh mi... :(

I like the food in quan ngon for sure. So much so I visit it everyday! :s13: In fact I like everything VIETNAM!!! :s13:

Looking forward to going back again. Btw when you planning to go back again? For me, december.

Techadd

wah lan eh.. wtf.. :s22: so ex, the beer inside got estacy ah? lol

lol.. price of the beer is the last thing you would worry in there since you will be tempted to open a 'color' since every table you see in there has at least 2-3 bottles..:s22::s22:

vietnamese are high spenders when it comes to drinks and showing off.. :D DUN PLAY PLAY HAR..

Telur17

I like the food in quan ngon for sure. So much so I visit it everyday! :s13: In fact I like everything VIETNAM!!! :s13:

Looking forward to going back again. Btw when you planning to go back again? For me, december.
No idea. Probably not for the rest of this year unless my company decides on Vietnam for our retreat. :p

But will definitely prefer to explore other parts of Vietnam. Curious about Hanoi, Dalat, Hoi An and want to see Halong Bay...

saigonblack

No idea. Probably not for the rest of this year unless my company decides on Vietnam for our retreat. :p

But will definitely prefer to explore other parts of Vietnam. Curious about Hanoi, Dalat, Hoi An and want to see Halong Bay...

Dalat will also be a place that I want to visit soon as well. Have beem to Danang, Hoi An and My Son as well. And yes, Halong Bay is a must too!

ach

Yes, 3/2 street is the street name, and along this street, there is a small junction which leads to Cao Thang Street where the night markets are operating daily in the evening. you can see the rows of night market stalls just at the start of this cao thang street, can't miss it...

:s22:

is this near Equatorial Hotel?

Johnlaw2010

Can open Fixed deposit in Vietnam?

Just came back from vietnam. Saw this piece of news. Just like to know can singaporean open Dong Fixed deposit in Vietnam? Is it taxable in Vietnam? Will it be hard to bring out the money from Vietnam. What is the interest rate now?
Example 100 thousand USD (Converted to Vietnam Dong) Fixed deposit .

Vietnamese Banks Raise Rates as Benchmark Increases (Update1)

By Nguyen Dieu Tu Uyen

May 19 (Bloomberg) -- Vietnamese banks raised interest rates after the central bank increased its benchmark rate to tame the fastest inflation in more than 16 years.

Banks including Bank for Investment & Development of Vietnam, the nation's second biggest by assets, and Joint-Stock Commercial Bank for Foreign Trade of Vietnam, or Vietcombank, the third biggest, today increased deposit rates to an average of 14 percent, from 12 percent. Loan rates rose to as much as 18 percent, the maximum permitted, from an average of 16 percent.

The Southeast Asian nation's central bank on May 17 raised its base rate to 12 percent, the most since it was introduced in 1998, to curb surging inflation and tighten lending. The jump in rates from 8.75 percent indicates the central bank will rely on higher lending rates and credit controls to reduce overheating in the economy, Goldman Sachs Group Inc. said in a report today.

``Banks and companies will have to more carefully evaluate the projects they finance with loans,'' said Huy Nam, an independent equity analyst and consultant on share sales for companies including Cable & Telecommunications Material Joint-Stock Co.

State-owned Bank for Investment & Development, also known as BIDV, raised deposit rates to 13.5 percent from 12 percent and loan rates to 18 percent, from 16.5 percent a year, starting today, according to an e-mailed statement from the bank.

Joint-Stock Commercial Bank for Foreign Trade of Vietnam, the country's third-biggest lender, raised its rate for deposits of more than six months to 14 percent from 12 percent, Nguyen Phuoc Thanh, chief executive officer, said by phone today. Lending rates will be as high as 18 percent, said Thanh.

`Reasonable Increase'

The 3.25 percentage point rise in the central bank rate on May 17 outstripped a 50 basis point increase on Jan. 30, itself the first rise since December, 2005. A basis point is 0.01 percentage point.

``This is a reasonable increase for now,'' Nam said by phone today from Ho Chi Minh City. The central bank's move will encourage people to put more money in banks and enable lenders to give more loans to investors, according to Nam.

The central bank will rely more on higher interest rates and credit controls to tackle the overheating economy, Helen Qiao, a Hong Kong-based analyst for Goldman Sachs Group Inc. said in a note today.

``Vietnam is clearly at a crucial stage of its cyclical management for inflation control and ensuring a soft landing of the economy,'' Qiao, wrote in the report. The risk of a ``hard landing'' isn't big, she said.

Inflation Surges

Consumer prices climbed 21.4 percent year-on-year in April, the most since at least 1992, and the trade deficit quadrupled through the first four months of the year, driven by surging imports.

Bank lending rose 14.7 percent in the first four months, according to the central bank, reaching almost half the State Bank of Vietnam's 30 percent cap to reduce credit growth and tame inflation. The regulator raised reserve requirements to 11 percent of deposits of 12 months or less, in February, from 10 percent.

Vietnam Bank for Agriculture & Rural Development, the nation's biggest, said the Hanoi-based state-owned lender would give branch managers authority to decide the higher rates they will offer depositors, said Vu Tiem Hong, head of the planning department and spokesman for the lender, known as Agribank.

Asia Commercial Bank, the nation's biggest publicly traded bank, raised deposit rates to as high as 14 percent from 12 percent, Ly Xuan Hai, chief executive officer, said by phone. Its maximum lending rate is now 18 percent, he said. Regulations limit how much banks can charge lenders and pay depositors to one-and-a- half times the base rate.

Sacombank's Rates

Saigon Thuong Tin Joint-stock Commercial Bank, or Sacombank, the second-biggest publicly traded bank, raised rates on deposits of more than six months to 14 percent from 12 percent. The rate for deposits of less than six months was increased to as much as 13.8 percent from 11.5 percent, according an e-mail from the bank, based in Ho Chi Minh City.

Vietnam's Deputy Prime Minister Nguyen Sinh Hung said in April the government would reduce the 2008 economic growth target to 7 percent from a previous forecast of as much as 9 percent. Growth slowed to 7.4 percent year-on-year in the first quarter after expanding 8.5 percent in the whole of last year, the quickest pace since 1996.

Techadd

You'll need a investment card or residential card (something like a foreigners card or employment card, investors card) together with your passport, a 6 month valid visa, depending on the amount you have in hand, there is also a need to see if you've actually declared the amount if you brought in if the amount is more than US7K, all this for a savings account, i'm not sure what would the requirement be for a Fixed Dong Rate deposit, especially for a foreigner.

Johnlaw2010

Can open Fixed deposit in Vietnam?

Singaporean can open Dong Fixed deposit?

Nhan Dan – Domestic commercial banks have been rushing to apply their new interest rates to attract depositors after the State Bank of Vietnam announced a new interest rate management mechanism.

The Ocean Bank’s highest interest rate is set at 15% a year. In addition, it also announced a promotion programme in which depositors to the bank will have chances to receive gifts.

Sacombank’s interest rate for over six month terms is 14% a year, that for under six month terms is 13.5-13.8% a year. Depositors of more than VND 50 million will also enjoy a 0.005% to 0.025% a year depending on their depository terms.

According to VP Bank’s new interest rates, applied from May 19, interest rate for over six month term deposits in Vietnamese dong is the highest, at 15% a year while that for deposits in US dollar is 7% a year for terms of 7, 9, 12 and 13 months.

According to experts, this week, the interest rates of commercial banks will have changes as banks will look at each other’s moves to attract depositors. From next week, the market will be stable and new interest rates will be established at around 14-15% a year for deposits in Vietnamese dong and 6.5-7% a year for deposits in US dollar.

Johnlaw2010

You'll need a investment card or residential card (something like a foreigners card or employment card, investors card) together with your passport, a 6 month valid visa, depending on the amount you have in hand, there is also a need to see if you've actually declared the amount if you brought in if the amount is more than US7K, all this for a savings account, i'm not sure what would the requirement be for a Fixed Dong Rate deposit, especially for a foreigner.

Application expected, but cannot put in foreign banks Like ANZ banks in HCMC? Without Visa and investors card? I can TT to vietnam ANZ account when goes HCMC again.
Employment card,investors card wow it seem FD is taxable in vietnam.
Is the interest rate high now in vietnam?

Techadd

Application expected, but cannot put in foreign banks Like ANZ banks in HCMC? Without Visa and investors card? I can TT to vietnam ANZ account when goes HCMC again.
Employment card,investors card wow it seem FD is taxable in Vietnam.
Is the interest rate high now in Vietnam?

All banks would have to follow the banking regulations of the Vietnamese body. However each and every bank also have their small policy regarding opening accounts. Employment card, investors cards, etc are only there to safeguard against illegal money laundering.

Take it for example, it probably be the same for foreigners opening an account in Singapore?

Bringing money in is easy in Vietnam, bringing out its another matter as long as you are not bringing out the above limit.

Interest rate is about 10%? for Vietnam Dong if i recall correctly :D

PennywisE

I'm planning for a short getaway trip to HCMC alone. Prolly for about 4days. Still deciding on the itinerary.
btw, is it safe for a lone traveller?

Techadd

I'm planning for a short getaway trip to HCMC alone. Prolly for about 4days. Still deciding on the itinerary.
btw, is it safe for a lone traveller?

In HCMC, its pretty safe, however its always good to take precautions, avoid going out too late at night alone.. stay in brightly lit areas.. etc..:) if u need a hotel accomodation, do pm me

naught

i would like to know where do i get cheap and good french food. i saw someone mention augustine restaurant in this thread but i tried to google it to no avail. techadd would you mind recommending me? if possible spas as well. heh.

Telur17

i would like to know where do i get cheap and good french food. i saw someone mention augustine restaurant in this thread but i tried to google it to no avail. techadd would you mind recommending me? if possible spas as well. heh.
Augustin is at 10 Nguyen Thiep, near Dong Quai. Food is not bad. Cost us less than S$40 for 2 mains and 2 glasses of wine.

We saw quite a few regular french customers there so the food should be relatively authentic. One of them even had his own bottle of wine waiting for him.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.