Vietnam

rayban

Why not check tripadvisor for must see must visit places in Hanoi? I have not been there yet. Will be going HCM and Vung Tau coming wed...next year will go further north up.

vung tau buay sian meh?

takuyazzz

I just came back from Hoi An and my transfers to/fro Danang Airport were arranged by the hotel (US$15 each way). It was hot (37C when I was there last week) with thunderstorms in the afternoon (usually near evening times). Suggest you bring umbrella.

Overall, Hoi An is a rustic and relaxing place (minus the haggling :().

thanks for the info...by haggling do u mean the tailors or just everything in general? I hate it as well :s22:

kitkat2

Anybody? Or you guys never travel outside of city and running from one mall to another?

been to duong lam, soc son, and bac ninh.

plan to go to bac giang, tam dao and hai phong. heard the food at hai phong is great :)

if you are adventurous, try mai chau or moc chau.

grapewall

I just came back from Hoi An and my transfers to/fro Danang Airport were arranged by the hotel (US$15 each way). It was hot (37C when I was there last week) with thunderstorms in the afternoon (usually near evening times). Suggest you bring umbrella.

Overall, Hoi An is a rustic and relaxing place (minus the haggling :().

Wanted to visit Hoi An. How you go there?

koala2004

they like to go there cuz it's the nearest beach to HCMC, that's all
Vung Tau is still nothing compared to other beaches in Vietnam

Ya maybe...but no hurry, cover slowly north up...since I am going back at least once a year. Anyway, I am not really a beach person. SLSL only, no water pls.

rayban

Never been there...local people all like go there, believe must be good, my wife wanted to go there so go lor. She knows what to eat and do there.

Why so sian for you?

haha..... the reason is ..... vung tau is nearly to hcmc 2 hours aways.....
Firstly if you been to danang , nha trang or even mui ne, i think vung tau is bad compare to them.....
The beach and road very dirty , best avoid friday or sat since everyone will go there, and if the police raid the stalls at the beach, then you have lesser thinks to eat and try there

koala2004

haha..... the reason is ..... vung tau is nearly to hcmc 2 hours aways.....
Firstly if you been to danang , nha trang or even mui ne, i think vung tau is bad compare to them.....
The beach and road very dirty , best avoid friday or sat since everyone will go there, and if the police raid the stalls at the beach, then you have lesser thinks to eat and try there

Ok didn't know...but too bad, we will be there from Thu to Sat. Hope everything goes well. Agree, definitely places like danang, nha trang will be better, even without going there. I already presume Vung Tau is next best and nearest to HCMC.

rayban

Ok didn't know...but too bad, we will be there from Thu to Sat. Hope everything goes well. Agree, definitely places like danang, nha trang will be better, even without going there. I already presume Vung Tau is next best and nearest to HCMC.

stay the better hotel in vung tau with swimming pool will be better than the beach haha

And do try their soya beancurd..... si bei good

koala2004

stay the better hotel in vung tau with swimming pool will be better than the beach haha

And do try their soya beancurd..... si bei good

I usually don't bother spend too much on hotel, 3 stars good enough in the 30 plus range. I prefer to venture out, see, hear and eat. If stay hotel, I might as well stay in Singapore...lol.

Ok noted on the soya beancurd ,thanks!

invisible999

been to duong lam, soc son, and bac ninh.

plan to go to bac giang, tam dao and hai phong. heard the food at hai phong is great :)

if you are adventurous, try mai chau or moc chau.

Could you tell what was logistics for all places - how did you move from place to place and how much time/cost was it involving?

Would you go at these places again? Why (if yes/no).

Regarding mai chau/moc chau - plan to do it but want to minimize travel time.

invisible999

I recommend Morning Glory and Miss Ly. For street food, go for Bale Well (there is no food menu and every table is served with the same dishes). :)
Affirmative with Morning Glory. When I travel, I try eat at different places, but Morning Glory was so great that during 3 days stay there we went there 3 times.

Three people, ordering 6 different dishes, with (outstanding) Viet drip coffee - was less than SGD 60. Plus they accept credit cards.

Food there is very fresh and affordable.
I would go back just for food. One MUST EAT thing - Bahn Mi prepared by 80 y/o lady - she has been doing this for >40 years.

kitkat2

Could you tell what was logistics for all places - how did you move from place to place and how much time/cost was it involving?

Would you go at these places again? Why (if yes/no).

Regarding mai chau/moc chau - plan to do it but want to minimize travel time.

soc son is the district where noi bai airport is. north from the airport is a hilly area. there is a monument on top of a hill dedicated to the mythical king giong. at the base of the hill is a vast temple complex. i rode pillion with friends, so cost was negligible. you could take public bus to soc son town and then transfer to xe om.

i went to a friend's village home in bac ninh countryside. vast expense of paddy fields and the ponds and waterways were filled with blooming lotuses as it was in the middle of summer. plan to go back in winter and stay in a hotel in bac ninh town itself and start exploring from there. there is a european designed star-shaped fort. there are also very old temples in bac ninh such as but thap and dau. there are regular buses from hanoi.

duong lam is an old and well preserved traditional vietnamese village in son tay. i believe some of villagers offer homestay so you can stay there overnight. we hired a car with driver and i think we paid close to a million dong for the day trip. if you go by car, you could visit ba vi which is not very far away, or attempt tam dao further north from duong lam.

it takes four hours to travel by bus to mai chau, much faster if by car. if you check airbnb, there are some very interesting lodges and homestays. hope to go there next year, stay a few nights and meet the thai people.

would i go back? why not. love the culture and history, and such places in the north are usually not too touristy :)

dau temple in bac ninh
19014121762_5f76785757_k.jpg

see also:
https://www.travelfish.org/sight_profile/vietnam/hanoi_and_surrounds/hanoi/hanoi/1009

caytruc

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.