Vietnam

Henabi

Going to Vietnam fora business trip in the coming few weeks. Will be in Hanoi and Saigon

Curious if its more worthwhile to use Starhub data roam or buy a data/sim-card there?

Anything to lookout for lately? Haven't been there for 2-3 years due to Covid.
How many days or weeks will you be there?
If you are just going to be within Hanoi city and Hcmc… get either Viettel or Vinaphone for best 4G/5G coverage

if you going to the outskirts, rural and kampung areas… then stick with Viettel

you can try the MRT there… FINALLY COMPLETED

Ryuichi

If you are just going to be within Hanoi city and Hcmc… get either Viettel or Vinaphone for best 4G/5G coverage

Now you remind me of that haha, my Vietnamese friend kpkb about their MRT being delayed.

Ok i guess the on-the-go-sim can easily get from airport...

tweeety

The fake mai linh and Vinasun taxi have tampered meters
so the amount jump much faster

grabcar is normal within hanoi city
But I rarely take grabcar from noi bai airport. Cuz scared the car is those small small ones
I just get hotel transfer car and from my experience, they will use those Alphard type. Big and comfy

when you are inside hanoi and ninh binh
You can ask the hotel reception or concierge to help you get taxi
Usually they will get mai linh or vinasun
wah, thanks for the head up. i didnt know got fake taxi.

im thinking of taking grab to the hotel then maybe change dong there. dont have any dong right now.

probably will go local $ exchanger to change $.

im going for 6 days, how much would you recommend to change?

Henabi

wah, thanks for the head up. i didnt know got fake taxi.

im thinking of taking grab to the hotel then maybe change dong there. dont have any dong right now.

probably will go local $ exchanger to change $.

im going for 6 days, how much would you recommend to change?
Change inside vietnam airport, after you clear the immigration also can.

for 6days… it depends on your personal spending and how many people travelling together.

You can consider change 1200 sing
That will be around $200 per day

paladin

My take on change money for visit to developing country, always bring extra sgd500 cash than whatever you wish to spend. Better to have surplus dong to bring back than not enough dong.

Reason: developing country, everything cheaper than sg. You cannot afford French fine dining in Sg? You can do so in Vietnam. Later your wife becomes a finalist in MasterChef and loses because she has never eaten fine dining and dunno what it is. Tailoring a suit expensive in Sg? Affordable in Vietnam.

You will end up want to have new experiences but not enough dong. Worst, your wife goes shopping on first day and spent half her budget already. That's what happened to mine.

If you spend enough on what you want, the savings can be more than the air tickets and hotels fees combined

paladin

Planning to head to Sa Pa when I'm in Hanoi later this month.

Thinking of taking the bus in the AM, reach Sa Pa city in the afternoon. Then the rest of the day just walk around the city centre and relax.

Second day AM take the cable car up to Fansipan then PM visit Cat Cat Village.

Anywhere else I should go? I don't plan to do tours or do homestay. Usually do solo when I travel. Can trek somewhere alone?
You can climb Ham Rong mountain entry besides the church/ Notre Dame cathedral ( use Google map) . Easy climb , just follow what others or tour guide do. Nice view on top. About 2 hours up and down

pro tip: Fansipan is weather dependent, if weather is good, ie sunny and clear, on first day, go already, you may never know if 2nd day weather will be good, it can be rainy, cloudy/ foggy or windy, or even all of the above. Fansipan is quite big, need 3 hours to factor breaks, if you are not taking funicular, aim to reach cable car at the top for your descent by 5.30pm, before it gets dark, therefore, aim to go latest 2.30pm to 3 pm, if weather on Day 1 is good. The stairs are brutal for me, and I am quite fit. Maybe because I am scared of heights and some stairs are steep, e.g the Buddha one.

Bigbird00

I bought Viettel 4G Sim at the airport for Vnd 350,000! Valid for 3 weeks!

Is this correct?

Feels like i kanna chop carrot! :confused:

Got MRT meh!

Dont see any MRT here leh!

Bigbird00

FYI. Guys i have checked 11 Jul rates in Hanoi Goldsmiths Shop at Old Quarters.

They take SGD. Rate ~VND 171,500 to S$100! Much better then SG.

WTA
Those who have been to HaiLong Bay, is 1 day cruise enough a not?

Seems like they have a lot of routes for cruise.

Today cloudy and rainy weather!

popdod

FYI. Guys i have checked 11 Jul rates in Hanoi Goldsmiths Shop at Old Quarters.

They take SGD. Rate ~VND 171,500 to S$100! Much better then SG.

WTA
Those who have been to HaiLong Bay, is 1 day cruise enough a not?

Seems like they have a lot of routes for cruise.

Today cloudy and rainy weather!

I realiSed all the Klook cruise is one cave. And some activities.

Can’t see all the caves unless u stay overnight.

Think I will take a day’a trip.

Pls sic your experience. :s12:

rrr2015

pro tip: Fansipan is weather dependent, if weather is good, ie sunny and clear, on first day, go already, you may never know if 2nd day weather will be good, it can be rainy, cloudy/ foggy or windy, or even all of the above. Fansipan is quite big, need 3 hours to factor breaks, if you are not taking funicular, aim to reach cable car at the top for your descent by 5.30pm, before it gets dark, therefore, aim to go latest 2.30pm to 3 pm, if weather on Day 1 is good. The stairs are brutal for me, and I am quite fit. Maybe because I am scared of heights and some stairs are steep, e.g the Buddha one.
are you sure is 3hrs or did u speedrun up?
most recommend at least 6hrs one way

paladin

are you sure is 3hrs or did u speedrun up?
most recommend at least 6hrs one way
I did mine 3 hours from 11 am to 2 pm to reach hotel for lunch and checkout but I recommend taking funicular up and then takes stairs down, take stairs up really tiring and got to factor many breaks. the climb up and down the Buddha stairs were extremely brutal for me

Bigbird00

depend on which package you choose.

The mrt is in hanoi :)

Will be checking out the Halong bay tour in the next few days!

Any advice on what to look out for eg scams or not worth routes/package?

SO far, i have not seen any metro or the station in and around Old quarter leh!

Maybe i've been looking at the XMMs! :p

rrr2015

I did mine 3 hours from 11 am to 2 pm to reach hotel for lunch and checkout but I recommend taking funicular up and then takes stairs down, take stairs up really tiring and got to factor many breaks. the climb up and down the Buddha stairs were extremely brutal for me
ok thought u hike all the way up:LOL:
yeah plenty of time saving options means peak must be crowded

paladin

ok thought u hike all the way up:LOL:
yeah plenty of time saving options means peak must be crowded
I took cable car up la, why miss such an experience? Where got hike all the way? It's tallest mountain in indochina, from foot surely 6-8 hrs to peak.

Just take cable car, then funicular, then take stairs down. That time I didn't take funicular, I ran out of time and didn't reach summit, think was 60m away from it but had to abandon as my paid hotel lunch till 2.30pm only and bus travelling to Hanoi leaves at 3 plus? But I spent a lot of time taking photos too, and leisure walk till ran out of time. But serious tip, avoid climbing up the Buddha stairs, after that, need to take a long break to recover and may affect your plans. If you see the photo below and compare to the height of a man, it's at least 10 storeys high

https://images.app.goo.gl/9mJjwA6SuPi9XNtm6

popdod

Will be checking out the Halong bay tour in the next few days!

Any advice on what to look out for eg scams or not worth routes/package?

SO far, i have not seen any metro or the station in and around Old quarter leh!

Maybe i've been looking at the XMMs! :p

How’s the weather over there now ?
:s12:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.