Vietnam

Jorgensen

Here's my proposed itinerary for my intended Vietnam trip. Do feel free to give comments and suggestions.

Day 1 :
morning - Reached Hanoi via Tiger Airways.Checked in hotel.
noon to evening - Explore Hanoi (Old Quarter). Hoan Kiem Lake, Hoa Lo prison, Temple of Literature, One Pillar Pagoda…etc

Day 2 :
morning - Halong Bay tour. (Booked with tour café in Hanoi)
evening - Overnight stay in Cat Ba Island

Day 3 :
morning - Tour bus back to Hanoi.
noon to evening - Rest in hotel. Explore Hanoi
evening - Take Night train to Hue.

Day 4 :
morning to noon - Reached Hue, Checked in hotel.
noon to evening - Explore Hue (Imperial City, perfume river, & pagodas..etc)

Day 5 :
morning - Hue Mausolems ( Tombs of Emperors ) tour. (Booked with tour café in Hue)
evening - Explore Hue/ Rest in hotel

Day 6 :
morning - Take minibus to Hoi An (bus ticket bought from hotel)
noon - Reached Hoi An , checked in hotel.
evening - Explore Hoi An.(*Tailor shirts. Take a day or so)

Day 7 :
morning - My-Son tour ½ day tour (Booked with tour café in Hoi An)
noon to evening - Rest in hotel. Dinner and explore rest of Hoi An.

Day 8 :
morning - Take domestic flight from Hoi An to HCM-City.
late noon - Reached HCM-City. Checked into hotel.
evening - Go Ben Thanh nite market for dinner(* Eat the famous ‘pho’)

Day 9 :
morning to evening - Explore HCM-City( mainly District 1 Saigon & District 5 Cholon)

Day 10 :
morning to noon - Cu Chi tunnel ½ day tour (Booked with tour café in HCM-City)
noon to evening - Rest in hotel. Walk around District 1. (*Buy Vietnamese coffee powder)

Day 11:
morning/afternoon - Checked out hotel. Take flight via Tiger Airways from HCM-City back to Singapore

Things to ponder:
1)Will 1 day be enough to cover the entire District 1 & 5 in HCM-City?
2) IS Cu Ci tunnel tour worth the time spent? Should I change it to either of these ..Mui Ne beach,Phu Quoc Island or Mekong River instead?
3) Any other "must-go" places I have missed out?Will consider extending the vacation if the likes of Sapa,Danag...etc are worthwhile trips.

Bak_Chor_Mee

hi im planning my vietnam trip for this year december. i just did some research and found out tt Hanoi can be quite chilly... but will it be still having the cold season during dec period?? and what are the places of interest in hanoi? oh btw this is my first time visiting vietnam! :p

Ah-Toh

ah yea.. and they are priced pretty good at this moment :)

not too sure about the price haha, cause i stayed there during school exchange program last november :) my room very special one, the toilet got 1 woman in bikini picture

leogeo

hi im planning my vietnam trip for this year december. i just did some research and found out tt Hanoi can be quite chilly... but will it be still having the cold season during dec period?? and what are the places of interest in hanoi? oh btw this is my first time visiting vietnam! :p
wah, planning 11 months in advance? that's very early

weather wise abt 18-24 in the day and can drop to 12 at night?

Bak_Chor_Mee

hehe.. yar i want to experience the x'mas season in vietnam, and since hanoi is colder since it's located north. any idea hows the festive season in hanoi? is it happening?

zichuan

pic of what is a cyclo ride....be warned, everyone..........claimed to be 15000 dong / pax ( asked many times! dumb to believe ), then tk u extra tour, charge u 800,000 dong for 4 pax.....bargain til 600,000 then they tk, coz i guess they saw green uniform tourist security guy walking over to us............

zimyh1.jpg

U got rip.. 800,000dong for the ride for 4pax? i can take a cab to vung tau from airport 4pax for 800,000 dong .. haha

Rxgn

my vungtau trip was fun.. riding around with rented motorbikes
80k dongs whole day

tulipsgal

not too sure about the price haha, cause i stayed there during school exchange program last november :) my room very special one, the toilet got 1 woman in bikini picture
hi, how is the condition of the room? is it near to ben thanh market?

jokerpoker81

U got rip.. 800,000dong for the ride for 4pax? i can take a cab to vung tau from airport 4pax for 800,000 dong .. haha

yea rite....wasnt my decision....but what's done cannot be undone, and i can only warn everyone here in HWZ...........die die dun take....once u cm of the benh thanh mkt, they will swarm at you tourists, and even block your way, refuse to let you go...............this is the time to keep a look out for the guys in dark green uniforms ( tourist security )...who can also speak english....and will help if approached...

saturnz^

Hi People

Will be going HCM next month, heard that we are unable to change SGD to VND here right, we need to change in vietnam is it? Also, my fren say we cannot change SGD to VND, must use USD and change, is it?

ahkwan

Hi People

Will be going HCM next month, heard that we are unable to change SGD to VND here right, we need to change in vietnam is it? Also, my fren say we cannot change SGD to VND, must use USD and change, is it?

dude, go vietnam change using sgd lah... confirm no prob....

jokerpoker81

Hi People

not impossible, but few money changers sell / have stock of dong.....even have, the rates are sh itty.....change at vietnam airport using sgd lor.......must use USD to change? who said tht? juz tht if u already have USD, dong rates will be better lor.....no point changing sgd to usd then dong....nt as if u going to buy an island there or wat.....the differences wun kill u.......

zichuan

Hi People

yes u can change in singapore but rates abit low compare to chaning over at their airport. mine is rather better rate, because my wife is vietnam i just western union wire transfer takes next working day and just go there and collect $ . western union rate much more better. this is if u have a friend over there etc. just my 5cent sharing tip.

zichuan

yea rite....wasnt my decision....but what's done cannot be undone, and i can only warn everyone here in HWZ...........die die dun take....once u cm of the benh thanh mkt, they will swarm at you tourists, and even block your way, refuse to let you go...............this is the time to keep a look out for the guys in dark green uniforms ( tourist security )...who can also speak english....and will help if approached...

try learning viet. although takes time. another way is dress like them act like them. join them. lol. joking.

slang

wow..this vietnam thread got over hundreds over pages!!!

would like to check with u guys and hear your suggestion on my planned tripped to vietnam next mth...

I will be flying to HCM city from Singapore, then reached there on friday afternoon. Checking into a guesthouse in HCM city..(still finding out on Honghan Guesthouse). Planning to stay there till sunday morning...then chcked out ...and traveling to mekong delta area to look for some homestay for another 2 night..then next day travel back to HCM city to take a flight to Cambodia....

is my above planned trip alright?
or is there a better itinerary for around 5D4N kinda trip?

and btw...I am going on a backpack trip alone...so not looking at expensive kinda hotel...
oh yah...one important advise or recommendation needed from u seasoned travellers...going to siem reap in cambodia from Vietnam i cant find budget air going there...so is there a more cost saving way of traveling there, without taking up damn too much time or whole day on bumpy road?

any advise?

weird

slang: ask u ah.. who is the gal in ur pic? =P

for guesthouse, there are alot in the backpacker street. dont pay more than 10USD!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.