Vietnam

zul99z

Would love to do so. Vietnam is addictive right? You just came back from hcm then now want to go back again.

Haha I miss that place. There's a certain charm to it which makes me want to go back and explore the country even more. Maybe it's the smile of the locals, the cheap prices or the beautiful architecture, scenery, culture and way of life. Haha. Funny how I'm heading to Turkey in October and Sydney+Mellbourne in December this year yet I'm looking forward to heading back to Vietnam the most, albeit next year. Haha. :) :D

agenda

Thnx for the tips bro. Indeed I met and chatted with so many fellow tourists and locals when I was in Saigon! Don't mind if I ask, how long is your trip to Vietnam? What are your routes were? Also how much did you budgeted for your trip? I'm planning a 1 month solo backpacking trip south to North next feb/march/April so I'm scouting for things to do and places to visit :)

I initially planned 2.5 weeks for $700 but I overspent at the start, right now, I will stay for 4 weeks, targeting about $1100 excluding flights.

I did Hanoi-Sapa-Halong-Hue-Hoi An-Danang. Going to Mui Ne and Dalat next, currently in Saigon.

Should definitely go to Phuong Nha if you have money. Heard Nha Trang is cramped with Russians so I'm skipping that. Might go to Vung Tau and Phu Quoc.

Anyway, my advice to you is - don't have an itinerary, just bring a guidebook and tripadvisor. Bring your ATM card. You will meet people and see tours that you want to do and by then, you would appreciate the flexibility in your plans.

Also, travelling alone is more expensive than in pairs. You pay slightly more for a better dorm compared to a double room. Taxi rides are expensive. You don't have a 2nd opinion so will definitely get ripped off (angmohs dont count cause they have no sense of pricing around this region)

zul99z

I initially planned 2.5 weeks for $700 but I overspent at the start, right now, I will stay for 4 weeks, targeting about $1100 excluding flights.

I did Hanoi-Sapa-Halong-Hue-Hoi An-Danang. Going to Mui Ne and Dalat next, currently in Saigon.

Should definitely go to Phuong Nha if you have money. Heard Nha Trang is cramped with Russians so I'm skipping that. Might go to Vung Tau and Phu Quoc.

Anyway, my advice to you is - don't have an itinerary, just bring a guidebook and tripadvisor. Bring your ATM card. You will meet people and see tours that you want to do and by then, you would appreciate the flexibility in your plans.

Also, travelling alone is more expensive than in pairs. You pay slightly more for a better dorm compared to a double room. Taxi rides are expensive. You don't have a 2nd opinion so will definitely get ripped off (angmohs dont count cause they have no sense of pricing around this region)

Nice to hear that. When you said expensive, on average how much did a cab ride cost? When I was in Saigon a few weeks back a 30 min cab ride from apartment to airport via taxi costed only $9+. Thus to me the price is very reasonable haha. Also Yupp, I'll surely heed your advice. Thnx for the tips!! :D

agenda

Nice to hear that. When you said expensive, on average how much did a cab ride cost? When I was in Saigon a few weeks back a 30 min cab ride from apartment to airport via taxi costed only $9+. Thus to me the price is very reasonable haha. Also Yupp, I'll surely heed your advice. Thnx for the tips!! :D

I would pay $7/$8 for a bed in a 12 bed dorm and $11 for a 4 bed. A pair would pay a total of $15 to $20 for a private double room.

Taxi rides to the airport, was about usd15 in hanoi for 1 car, if travel in group, more discount.

Halong by, if alone, some cruise force u to pay single supplement for usd20.

Food, you order fried rice for 30k and u want some springrolls, sure, 30k more and u ownself pay for all.

Anyway, get a data plan and use uber, super cheap. Outside of hanoi and saigon, i mostly walked or cycled.

thunderation

Too many different HLB cruises to choose from. Any recommendations? Was recommended fantasea for a mid range one.

Sent from dark side of the moon using GAGT

Am heading there as well, looking at Glory Legend cruise for mid-range. I know it is cheaper to buy on the ground, but this is my first time there and I'm afraid I'll get lost/scammed:s22: so am gonna get online I guess. Any suggestions are appreciated:s13:

grapewall

Planning to go hcm during national day holidays...cost $162 2 days ago, suddenly the returning tickets dropped prices, now only $122... where to find for public holidays getaway?

easyippt

Am heading there as well, looking at Glory Legend cruise for mid-range. I know it is cheaper to buy on the ground, but this is my first time there and I'm afraid I'll get lost/scammed:s22: so am gonna get online I guess. Any suggestions are appreciated:s13:

likelihood of getting scammed is quite low. try scouting the ground and searching tripadvisor for the reviews while you're there.

Cometdevil

I'm assuming thats the 3d2n with stay in cat ba island? 115USD is just 2d1n with something like bhaya cruise or a class. Anyway, for halong bay, 3* is enough already, everything else is overpaying. Since about $350 can get you a decent cruise in SG. And most of the cruise at halong bay is nothing to write home about. Btw, most cruise itinerary are the same.

No. Its just a 2d1n cruise. It goes to bai tulong bay then back to hlb.

koala2004

Haha I miss that place. There's a certain charm to it which makes me want to go back and explore the country even more. Maybe it's the smile of the locals, the cheap prices or the beautiful architecture, scenery, culture and way of life. Haha. Funny how I'm heading to Turkey in October and Sydney+Mellbourne in December this year yet I'm looking forward to heading back to Vietnam the most, albeit next year. Haha. :) :D

Exactly! Me toooo!

dede1217

Planning to go hcm during national day holidays...cost $162 2 days ago, suddenly the returning tickets dropped prices, now only $122... where to find for public holidays getaway?

u r saying about jetstar promo rite ?
they have good pricing for ndp period for other countries too ...
bangkok 5 to 9 aug only 136sgd
fri nite fly, sun late morning depart from bkk

figo16

Turkey is exotic with rich history and culture.

Sydney and Melbourne are ok. they are places where you visit once liao and you don't feel like going back.scenery in australia is nothing compared to those in china and europe.

vietnam is rich in history and n. vietnam has nice scenery

rayban

u r saying about jetstar promo rite ?
they have good pricing for ndp period for other countries too ...
bangkok 5 to 9 aug only 136sgd
fri nite fly, sun late morning depart from bkk

now bo such price liao....

dede1217

now bo such price liao....

Checked yesterday morning, the seats keeps getting lesser and lesser
price keeps going up by 10 sgd ....

guess would fly nov and sep haha ...
wait club sales promo again, their sales price always 70+ ... is good price ...

rayban

Checked yesterday morning, the seats keeps getting lesser and lesser
price keeps going up by 10 sgd ....

guess would fly nov and sep haha ...
wait club sales promo again, their sales price always 70+ ... is good price ...

ya lor i see hcm bangkok sian liao n when see the price... not the one i want... haha

qhong61

Turkey is exotic with rich history and culture.

Sydney and Melbourne are ok. they are places where you visit once liao and you don't feel like going back.scenery in australia is nothing compared to those in china and europe.

vietnam is rich in history and n. vietnam has nice scenery
Is Turkey very hot? Like Spore?

figo16

SIA and budget airlines always have promo to hcm and bkk but not to hanoi. airfare to hanoi always costs at least $400.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.