Vietnam

tempestuous-

For those who have been to yamgshuo in China, is ninh binh similar to it? Currently in Hanoi, and have planned to go to ninh binh but if it is similar to yangshuo which I have been to, then I thought I can go elsewhere instead.

luckygal

Going Da Nang with a few friends to celebrate birthday. Just Da Nang. Besides a few of the typical attractions, would like to spend most of our time at a beach resort to chill. Any reasonable priced clean beach resort to spend like 4n? Or any hotels that are near the beach. Preferably FnB and shops near the resort so do not have to grab. Thanks

popdod

How much did you pay for your ticket? I thinking of going the weekend before national day but I heard now is the rainy season

$110 scoot.

Weather like Singapore. Occasionally shower for a short while.

Today just reached.

EB8-CBAA7-DB45-4-FED-9-CC1-41-AB13-D51-B81.jpg

Today just walk around my hotel area and saw this simi sinkapore.

64-F82-CFF-B554-42-C3-BEC2-2-C7626-C4-F730.jpg

Go nearer then saw ish Loti bao ice cream. Cheh. : /

A5-EF1515-0-B42-4-C8-F-817-E-AD142-FBFF999.jpg

Then walk their weekend night market. Jin crowded siol.

6-F9272-BB-775-A-44-F9-9166-0-FD808-C16-C8-F.jpg

Nothing much. Mostly fake brand stuff. Thailand nite mkt is then naise.

9-DF981-FD-01-A7-4417-92-FF-9817-D04-AB313.jpg

Ownself hoot. Ownself paint.
Owner happy. \o/

4-BBACFE1-5-EFE-47-B3-960-C-FBBFFE6-A4-F6-F.jpg

No cloths to see. See Lao gao.

496-ACACA-BA1-C-4-C22-950-E-6-F295147-DF61.jpg

Still got nite performance

1-A3-D988-D-E4-DF-44-ED-9389-E83-B63345-A54.jpg

Reminds me the heydays of Boat Quay. A lot of youngsters drinking :s12:

Most of them and tourists don’t wear masks.

Only when you hear Singaporeans talking. U saw them wear masks. :s13:

firsttimebuyer

$110 scoot.

Weather like Singapore. Occasionally shower for a short while.

Today just reached.

EB8-CBAA7-DB45-4-FED-9-CC1-41-AB13-D51-B81.jpg

Today just walk around my hotel area and saw this simi sinkapore.

64-F82-CFF-B554-42-C3-BEC2-2-C7626-C4-F730.jpg

Go nearer then saw ish Loti bao ice cream. Cheh. : /

A5-EF1515-0-B42-4-C8-F-817-E-AD142-FBFF999.jpg

Then walk their weekend night market. Jin crowded siol.

6-F9272-BB-775-A-44-F9-9166-0-FD808-C16-C8-F.jpg

Nothing much. Mostly fake brand stuff. Thailand nite mkt is then naise.

9-DF981-FD-01-A7-4417-92-FF-9817-D04-AB313.jpg

Ownself hoot. Ownself paint.
Owner happy. \o/

4-BBACFE1-5-EFE-47-B3-960-C-FBBFFE6-A4-F6-F.jpg

No cloths to see. See Lao gao.

496-ACACA-BA1-C-4-C22-950-E-6-F295147-DF61.jpg

Still got nite performance

1-A3-D988-D-E4-DF-44-ED-9389-E83-B63345-A54.jpg

Reminds me the heydays of Boat Quay. A lot of youngsters drinking :s12:

Most of them and tourists don’t wear masks.

Only when you hear Singaporeans talking. U saw them wear masks. :s13:
Wah, very nice! Do you have any hotel recommendations? I booked air tickets but not hotel yet!

Pandalogic

First time go. Stay district 1 lor.
Near Ben thanh market.
If not go stay near bui vien. But not right in bui vien unless u don't want to sleep.
Budget one can look at a&em hotel
For mid range one can go hammock hotel. Free flow beer and mini bar and snacks 24/7. Free breakfast till 12pm daily.

popdod

Wah, very nice! Do you have any hotel recommendations? I booked air tickets but not hotel yet!

In hanoi. I stayed at Tirant hotel. (Old Quarters)

Walking distance to weekend street market and Dong Kinh Nghia thuc square where all the cafes , restaurants, water puppet show , and high end shopping mall. ( end of the ngoc son temple)

I use Google maps to see the tourist attractions and zoom in the hotels near around it.

Hope it helps. :s12:

firsttimebuyer

Does anybody have any suggestions on how to get smaller Vietnamese denomination notes? The money changers in Singapore only seem to want to give the 500,000 denomination.

Pandalogic

Don't change in Singapore.
Change 50 at hcm airport. Buy a SIM card 180k.
Then goto Ben thanh market gold shop and change Ur SGD.
Remember if u want to use grab in Vietnam and u wanna pay by card. U need to remove Ur card from grabpay and readd when in Vietnam.
If not gojek will work without the readding of cards.can also use be also

SaulGoodman

Don't change in Singapore.
Change 50 at hcm airport. Buy a SIM card 180k.
Then goto Ben thanh market gold shop and change Ur SGD.
Remember if u want to use grab in Vietnam and u wanna pay by card. U need to remove Ur card from grabpay and readd when in Vietnam.
If not gojek will work without the readding of cards.can also use be also

does grab & gojek accept cash in vietnam?

popdod

Sharing for those going hanoi.

CE9096-E3-CD15-4-DEC-8-E8-F-8-A8021-E1-A822.jpg

This morning going to Halong Bay (lots of small islands).

Booked through Klook and we r transported by this minibus.

9-E907-EB5-CAB6-4-F39-88-EE-B4491459-CE79.jpg

After 2.5 hours of journey. Finally reached halong bay pier and take this small ship to visit the caves.
Heng got toilet break during the 2.5hrs ride. Else bladder sure cannot tahan. :|

0-EFEF24-A-FE2-F-4-AD8-B3-A5-C0-C9-ABE90-BDB.jpg

A lot of hotels near the halong bay.
But most closed. Pandemic casualties.

Woah even got Halomoon hotel!! housekeeping staff wear sailor moon uniform to work ?? :love:

A2-D84-F8-E-A478-4-F4-B-9-AA2-969-D2-FAE657-D.jpg

First island to go ish Titop island.
U can either choose to swim or hike.

I choose to hike.

A161-BC07-4-D3-D-44-D0-AD7-D-DD62508-B9-CB6.jpg

The hike is no joke. Steps uneven and steep and narrow. Machiam do lunges workout. Shag siol.

B5-E9495-B-0600-478-F-A823-52117-C0-F0773.jpg

The panoramic breathtaking view.
Jin sweee. :s12:

Worth the climb.

29-DCEDC3-74-F6-4-F70-949-D-337-D04307-D02.jpg

For those choose to swim.
It’s quite crowded within an enclosed area.

popdod

8-A06-C647-74-E6-45-A5-9-CDC-5-EDFF5-EB17-B6.jpg

After hiking. Next activity is water sports.

You can choose either kayaking or take small boat. Can tell from the peekture I took small boat. Climb until damn shag. No strength to paddle Liao. : {

142-B3-A8-C-4-C9-B-473-C-888-F-E3-BFC1-A56176.jpg

Once u go into the water cave. You r surrounded by these tall hills.
Then u paddle around. Those on small boats just admire the scenery. Take peekture, see any mermaids sightings.

C1095263-EEBC-4-AC1-8-E17-AD8-CCE412301.jpg

Last activity is sexploring the magnificent Surprising Cave. Tiagong on trip advisors. This is the most popular cave.

A05246-FE-5110-49-F2-839-F-449208039-A87.jpg

Took many thousand years to form this formation. Nature beauty darn naise. \o/ \o/

2-D94-FC08-5204-4604-B34-E-74-A878-CBA95-B.jpg

Despite the bins around. Still have ppl litter around. Sad.

92-B264-F2-2074-40-E3-A55-A-2383-CBDCAE7-B.jpg

Just like in life. If you going through some difficult times. You will see light at the end of the tunnel. \o/ \o/

4-BAF4-FBE-BE77-4849-B3-F7-EAA60-E933-FB1.jpg

Halong bay realllu have a lot naise weird looking hilltops. U can see eagles flying around and jellyfish.

No lack of scenic views. \o/ \o/
A must go destination.

popdod

Are you solo or with group?
Thinking of going Vietnam at end of year, I see their listings on klook all write 'join in group', does that mean don't accept solo traveler?

Solo traveller.
For halong bay should be ok
Today group a few solo travellers.

There are some attractions i can't join.
minimum 2. :(

Will find other methods. :s12:

firsttimebuyer

Wow, I saw your pics in your later posts! They look so beautiful! You must be having a great time!! :)

I am flying off tomorrow! You didn't do any ART upon arrival at the Vietnam airport, right?
Sharing for those going hanoi.

CE9096-E3-CD15-4-DEC-8-E8-F-8-A8021-E1-A822.jpg

This morning going to Halong Bay (lots of small islands).

Booked through Klook and we r transported by this minibus.

9-E907-EB5-CAB6-4-F39-88-EE-B4491459-CE79.jpg

After 2.5 hours of journey. Finally reached halong bay pier and take this small ship to visit the caves.
Heng got toilet break during the 2.5hrs ride. Else bladder sure cannot tahan. :|

0-EFEF24-A-FE2-F-4-AD8-B3-A5-C0-C9-ABE90-BDB.jpg

A lot of hotels near the halong bay.
But most closed. Pandemic casualties.

Woah even got Halomoon hotel!! housekeeping staff wear sailor moon uniform to work ?? :love:

A2-D84-F8-E-A478-4-F4-B-9-AA2-969-D2-FAE657-D.jpg

First island to go ish Titop island.
U can either choose to swim or hike.

I choose to hike.

A161-BC07-4-D3-D-44-D0-AD7-D-DD62508-B9-CB6.jpg

The hike is no joke. Steps uneven and steep and narrow. Machiam do lunges workout. Shag siol.

B5-E9495-B-0600-478-F-A823-52117-C0-F0773.jpg

The panoramic breathtaking view.
Jin sweee. :s12:

Worth the climb.

29-DCEDC3-74-F6-4-F70-949-D-337-D04307-D02.jpg

For those choose to swim.
It’s quite crowded within an enclosed area.

boringLife-

Solo traveller.
For halong bay should be ok
Today group a few solo travellers.

There are some attractions i can't join.
minimum 2. :(

Will find other methods. :s12:
You go how many days ah? I maybe booking solo trip to hanoi in September 6d5n but I don't want take like few hours ride to go some where that kind.

I visited HCM before and frankly 6d5n is overkill. If I stay in HCM for so long, I will probably just go find girls everyday

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.