Vietnam

RoLanTo

Hi everyone.. wanna ask if there are any tour agency/group to recommend for family trip? intention is make it abit like education sch trip for young primary sch kids, see farms, sceneries and maybe some farming experiences?

ekardo

for simcard, is it cheaper to buy on arrival?

klook is around $8 for Vina

ekardo

If you have klook discount coupons, klook is cheaper, I used klook. Anyway, the difference not much because it's so cheap.
Klook got discount coupon?

Anyway, anyone tries NPN esim in Vietnam before? Pricing seems quite attractive and it's esim.

ekardo

Eskimo is better

Data plans valid for 2 years
I dun frequent Vietnam so often...

US$7 for 1GB, 3GB for US$18... seems quite expensive, but good for frequent and light data user traveller

just go to airport and buy after immigration and not before immigration la.
sims card and other stuffs are dirty cheap. maybe u compare online the difference is 1 to 3 dollars ? and u spend the time and effort for the 1 to 3 dollars.

ekardo

apart from checking the price, also can reduce time at arrival if bought online and done enough "homework", especially when you will never know if they are out to con tourist...

Rxgn

I dun frequent Vietnam so often...

US$7 for 1GB, 3GB for US$18... seems quite expensive, but good for frequent and light data user traveller
eskimo is valid for worldwide countries

Rxgn

apart from checking the price, also can reduce time at arrival if bought online and done enough "homework", especially when you will never know if they are out to con tourist...
i usually go online shopee. because once your plane landed, while waiting to disembark, can start to use liao. this is standard SOP for all countries i go. now with eskimo, even better. if you dont like eskimo, can still buy other physical/e sim from shopee.

unlike you have to wait after disembark, after clear immigration, after wait to collect luggage then go out and buy sim and finally can access your phone

and most ppl know hcmc immigration q are notorious long and slow. often need to q at least 30mins and above.

ekardo

i usually go online shopee. because once your plane landed, while waiting to disembark, can start to use liao. this is standard SOP for all countries i go. now with eskimo, even better. if you dont like eskimo, can still buy other physical/e sim from shopee.

unlike you have to wait after disembark, after clear immigration, after wait to collect luggage then go out and buy sim and finally can access your phone

and most ppl know hcmc immigration q are notorious long and slow. often need to q at least 30mins and above.
Ya. Same for me. But I have SIMBA that have 1gb free data worldwide. That would suffice to kill the time during immigration or for urgent use.
U can consider SIMBA too. (Dirt cheap)

how is the credit card acceptance in hcm?
or pretty much 90% is by cash?

Rxgn

Ya. Same for me. But I have SIMBA that have 1gb free data worldwide. That would suffice to kill the time during immigration or for urgent use.
U can consider SIMBA too. (Dirt cheap)

how is the credit card acceptance in hcm?
or pretty much 90% is by cash?
I have seen simba, but would like to stick to my vivifi share plan.

Hcm, most restaurants and 7-11 type fastfood take cc. Smaller shops selling like gifts tshirt food and street vendors, cash.

Do explore their local supermarket too, co-op. There is one in district 1

Money changer, go to gold shop like ha tam or kim mai

ekardo

I have seen simba, but would like to stick to my vivifi share plan.

Hcm, most restaurants and 7-11 type fastfood take cc. Smaller shops selling like gifts tshirt food and street vendors, cash.

Do explore their local supermarket too, co-op. This is one in district 1

Money changer, go to gold shop like ha tam or kim mai
Vivifi share have free roaming?
Anyway, thanks for the info. First timer to HCM for me. Been to Hanoi but it’s way more backward than HCM I suppose.

Rxgn

Vivifi share have free roaming?
Anyway, thanks for the info. First timer to HCM for me. Been to Hanoi but it’s way more backward than HCM I suppose.
No free roaming. Just that i have many lines in my family (total 6). Using the new promo share plan, its only cost $40 for main line and each additional line at $1 more only.

I been to hanoi once but more than 30 times in hcmc. i found hcmc more backwards. Hanoi is more city-like like singapore. I dont see homeless ppl on the street or street vendors.

Hcmc is more hectic-like. Quite a few homeless on the streets and many street vendors.

Enjoy your trip.

ekardo

No free roaming. Just that i have many lines in my family (total 6). Using the new promo share plan, its only cost $40 for main line and each additional line at $1 more only.

I been to hanoi once but more than 30 times in hcmc. i found hcmc more backwards. Hanoi is more city-like like singapore. I dont see homeless ppl on the street or street vendors.

Hcmc is more hectic-like. Quite a few homeless on the streets and many street vendors.

Enjoy your trip.
wow...really ? HCMC is more backward...didnt know that..now I have to lower my expectation..

thanks..

fr33d0m

or rather Hanoi is stricter. after all, it is the capital.

HCMC is more liberal.

anyway, both are too backward for Singaporean taste.

Rxgn

wow...really ? HCMC is more backward...didnt know that..now I have to lower my expectation..

thanks..
That is what i perceive. You might think differently.

U can watch some recent youtube videos on hcmc to get more understanding.

ekardo

Stayed in hcmc for few years and I don’t find the city backwards leh. Maybe my expectations are lower.
Earn SGD and spend vnd very good life here.
My quality of life here much higher and better
what did you do there for a few years? retirement or work ?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.