Vietnam

Techadd

hmm techadd why u dont recommend opentour bus??? It is safe?

er..for short distance i could receommend it, but it is better for one self to choose it rather than me recommending it less the bus air con not working..engine breakdown etc..., wait kanna shot down wor...:o:o

it is generally safe though.. ;) but transfer to dalat and nha trang has a specific time for openbus, either in the morning for dalat or the overnight bus for the nha trang side..unless you want to opt for the local bus transfer which are used by the locals...?

Techadd

Hi everyone

jus to add on

So anyone know what is the best approach if i will to travel btw hcmc/nha trang/dalat
with hcmc as the starting point?

wats the preferred transport ? as suggested train? dun think there is internal flight rite
normally people stay 1 day each for each place in dalat and nha trang?

thanks in adv for any rec/suggstion :s13:

Hello, there is a domestic flight, you could give a call to jetstar office to enquire since they are sharing code with domestic Pacific Airlines route.

HCM - > Nha trang (By flight for fastest or by train) - > Dalat (By land) -> HCM (By Land)

Techadd

Mainly to go see see look look. eat, drink and enjoy.

Hotel hopefully nothing more than SGD 200 for 3 nights. any recommendation? saw someone mention "Le Duy Hotel near Ben Thanh market" is it good? also can we have guest overnight in the room? heard that we are not able to bring anyone to our room if they are not registered... (You need to ask Le Duy on that, msot hotels do not allow guests overnight)

Transport: how much do we need to pay to get from Airport to Hotel, as on budget trip, so wanna spend every cents worthwihile. (Better get the Hotel Limousine Service, you'll most probably get overcharged taking the Airport Cabs)

Place to visit : any place interesting to visit?, Cu Chi Tunnel, a cath. Church, war musem...etc.. that all i saw online.. haha.. anymore? is it near hotel? (Ben thanh market is near hotel), chinatown needs a ride, cuchi needs a ride, war museum needs a ride, church, cathdral is walking distance, bout 30mins ++ from your hotel

Food for Though: any place to eat, hopefully cheap and good too :D
Lots of food at ben thanh market.

Drink and Have fun : any fun place to reommend? Like Disco, pub, message etc?? might be meeting some lady friend in Vietnam if they return to HCM else will be on my own.. so like to check out the disco , u can try apocalysp..gossip might be too expensive..

Thing to take note: DO's and Don'ts when visiting HCM ?? are they?? hopefully will be offence anyone along this trip.. :D

TIA bros~! Gam Eng Nui Nui (sorry for any typo, am learning to speak Viet online... LOL )[/QUOTE]

lqkhoi

I m a Vietnamese so can help you some infos.
Transport: NEVER and NEVER take the taxi named AIRPORT TAXI. They always try to deal with you instead of use Meter. Just try to go outside, ignore all of the invitations and you can choose YellowTaxi ( Tel: 8111111) or MAILINH taxi and force them to turn on the meter. Normally from Tan Son Nhat Airport to Central prepare around 8 to 10 SGD ( there are no surcharge or anything else in HCMC).

For transport to other cities: if you have time and wanna watch sightseeing can choose SINH BUS ( website above) but prepare in order to be safe, they drive damn slow. Nha Trang is ard 430 km from HCM, DaLat is 350 and Hue is 800. Normal speed of SINHCAFE bus is ard 50-60Km/h so you can have a draft idea how long.
If you rush can choose internal flight from Jetstar of VNAirlines but the Airport in NhaTrang not in the city so you need another 1 hour to travel by bus / taxi from the airport to the city. Hue and Dalat Airport is nearer so maybe 20mins.

DO and DONTS ? Dont know coz maybe my DO and DONTs are different from you but may be you need to be careful a bit on the food safety coz you are not used to it like us :) so dont try so much the street food if you are not preparing a chance having a stomachache.
For trying Vietnamese food, you can try NGON restaurant in NAM KY KHOI NGHIA St. The taste is so so for us but they have a very big variety of dishes nearly all VN foods. Prepare the very long queue there if you go there at the lunch / dinner time. Price also fix and acceptable.
Again good restaurant normally need local guide :).

Hope some enough infos for you. Anymore question just PM me.

freedomx10

Hi bros here,

i would like for any inputs on my itinenary.

Day1

-Arrive in HCM

-Walk abt in HCM

Day2

-CU chi tunnels + 0.5 day tour of HCM

Day3

-Mekong Delta

[Would like to know is there is local sleeper bus that leaves for dalat at night? How safe is the local buses? frequent accidents?]

Day4

-Leave for Dalat in the morning (730am - 1.30pm by sinfcafe open tour bus)

-walk abt in dalat

Day5

-walk abt in Dalat.

[Would like to know is there is local sleeper bus that leaves for nha trang at night? ]

Day6

-Leave from dalat for Nha Trang(730 - 1130am)

-Walk abt in Nha Trang

Day7

-Walk abt in Nha Trang

-Leave for Hoi an(7pm-3am)

Day8

-Reach Hoi an in the morning

-walk abt

Day9

-walk abt in the morning

-leave for danang to take train in the evening

[saw the train timings on the vietnam railway website.

Danang to Hanoi (1610 - next day 930am)

got several qn

1)How accurate and reliable is the train website?

2)is it advisable to book the tickets when we reach HCM as we r only going HCM in dec?

3)Do anyone have any bad experiences on this?

4) Should i take plane instead?]

Sorry for the long post. Any inputs would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

milkz86

anyone knows of any bus/coach services from hcmc to dalat, and dalat to nhatrang? i know sinh have but its fixed timing, by the time we touch down, we would have missed it.

what is the air fare from nha trang to hcmc now? can't seem to find proper quotes.

Techadd

anyone knows of any bus/coach services from hcmc to dalat, and dalat to nhatrang? i know sinh have but its fixed timing, by the time we touch down, we would have missed it.

what is the air fare from nha trang to hcmc now? can't seem to find proper quotes.

i check for you the flight costs for the nha trang - > hcm :s22:

the local bus station has departs hourly from hcm -> nha trang.. but dunno if its recommended..

weird

anyone been to Volcano? i was walking pass. its seem to be very happening inside. but i never walk in.. outside parked alot of exp car like bmw series7 n all tat sia..

Techadd

anyone been to Volcano? i was walking pass. its seem to be very happening inside. but i never walk in.. outside parked alot of exp car like bmw series7 n all tat sia..

volcano is more of a up class discotheque/night club..you can try that if u want as well..:s22:

skilled

almost everyday rains @ 4pm on wards.

life is just good over there. spent 6days over there.

crystaljade83

hey... need helpp in accommodation in hanoi? will be there for 6 nights?

any other place to go besides Sapa, Halong bay... n how many day should i stay there?

TIA =)

weird

hey... need helpp in accommodation in hanoi? will be there for 6 nights?

any other place to go besides Sapa, Halong bay... n how many day should i stay there?

TIA =)

im been here since wed and it rain here everyday.. haha

i hv changed hotels everyday.. tried a few. but if u wan cheap.
u can get this:

FAMILY STYLE HOTEL NAME: TI TI
ADDR: 40/12-40/14A BUI VIEW Q1
TEL: 8367438 --> viet no

Single is 10USD
Twin is 12USD
NO BREAKFAST

Its @ the backpacker street.. infact got an ang mo which i know is staying jus 2 blocks down my hotel and is paying USD$6. but fine w mi lar.. i like here its more homely feel.
but around this area got alot of local food to try. from cheap to ex one.. depend on ur budget.

This is my 2nd night here.. and intend to stay for the 3rd b4 leaving this relaxing country.

PS: THIS IS SOMETHING YOU NEED TO TAKE NOTE OF! today i went out nv off air con n all tat. the ppl here open my door, do room service and close all the light n stuff.. something i dont like but its fine w mi cos my stuff is not being touch and all my impt stuff is w mi 24/7.

weird

volcano is more of a up class discotheque/night club..you can try that if u want as well..:s22:

huh? its a night club ah? i thot is a disco.. i heard loud music from outside sia..
hmm on avg how much does it cost since you say is sorf of high class.. (cos i ate here every meal is like 200-300K D but i think to the local ppl is consider ex wor)

King_fisher

Can i ask if lan shops easily found in vietnam and if i wanna buy prepaid sim card in vietnam or what is the cheapest alternative if i want to call back to sg from vietnam???

Techadd

Can i ask if lan shops easily found in vietnam and if i wanna buy prepaid sim card in vietnam or what is the cheapest alternative if i want to call back to sg from vietnam???

LAN shops can be easily found in city central and most hotels/mini hotels have internet connection in their lobby.

prepaid sim card for overseas calls are expensive based on 10sec block rate, its probably the same elsewhere since prepaid sim cards are usually meant for local calls usage. but its still cheaper than auto roaming i guess

Techadd

huh? its a night club ah? i thot is a disco.. i heard loud music from outside sia..
hmm on avg how much does it cost since you say is sorf of high class.. (cos i ate here every meal is like 200-300K D but i think to the local ppl is consider ex wor)

well if you were to have just a bottle of beer, its still cheaper than singapore..but then.. most tables there would have 'colours' on their table coupled with fruit plates...u dun wanna look cheap do ya? :s13::s13: , its the same situation in Gossip as well...

2-300k per meal is expensive to the locals of course, to me is also expensive wor.. it adds up to about 20-25Sin Dollars per meal..expensive for a normal singaporean also leh. i eat 20k per meal sometimes also leh..:s13:

King_fisher

LAN shops can be easily found in city central and most hotels/mini hotels have internet connection in their lobby.

prepaid sim card for overseas calls are expensive based on 10sec block rate, its probably the same elsewhere since prepaid sim cards are usually meant for local calls usage. but its still cheaper than auto roaming i guess

Which kind of prepaid sim card should i get from if maybe use to call back to sg??

Techadd

im been here since wed and it rain here everyday.. haha

i hv changed hotels everyday.. tried a few. but if u wan cheap.
u can get this:

FAMILY STYLE HOTEL NAME: TI TI
ADDR: 40/12-40/14A BUI VIEW Q1
TEL: 8367438 --> viet no

Single is 10USD
Twin is 12USD
NO BREAKFAST

Its @ the backpacker street.. infact got an ang mo which i know is staying jus 2 blocks down my hotel and is paying USD$6. but fine w mi lar.. i like here its more homely feel.
but around this area got alot of local food to try. from cheap to ex one.. depend on ur budget.

This is my 2nd night here.. and intend to stay for the 3rd b4 leaving this relaxing country.

PS: THIS IS SOMETHING YOU NEED TO TAKE NOTE OF! today i went out nv off air con n all tat. the ppl here open my door, do room service and close all the light n stuff.. something i dont like but its fine w mi cos my stuff is not being touch and all my impt stuff is w mi 24/7.

ern.. most hotels also do that as well :) moreever, the powers are cut off usually in 3 star hotels onwards once u remove the key slot. And oh yea, never leave valuble stuff in your room unless you have it locked up in your baggage. still, the housekeepers leave the room doors wide open when cleaning the rooms, standard code practice..

Techadd

Which kind of prepaid sim card should i get from if maybe use to call back to sg??

you could try the ones from VNPT, Viettel , but do bring your passport along just in case the shop keeper wants to register it, (usually they just register it on your behalf)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.