Vietnam

juuzbe

wah 20hrs! :eek: ... jetstar pacific to danang return fare S$100 anytime

actually distance from hcmc to dalat is only 300km which is shorter than SG to KL .. yet they take more than double the time?! a bit too exaggerated

Ya loh.... If journey time like SG to KL, I don't mind.. but 8hours.. OMG.. to and fro 1 day gone.
For bed size I am sure I am ok because I am not tall... :s13:
Maybe next time round fly to North and come own via south..

Small.Kid

Hi guys this is rather urgent.

I just realised my passport expires on 5th March and I alrdy bought a ticket to Vietnam departing this Sunday.

According to Vietnam regulations, it requires 6 months before expiry.

Does anyone have any advice or experience with this issue?

And is it possible to renew passport within a day?

Any help is much appreciated thanks !!!

dilphinus

Dalat kind of a nice place to visit. Would need advice from bros and sis here who had ventured there before for advice.

Read from Sinh webby that they have trips to Dalat but kind of 3D2N type which 2 days gone on the roads. Also read that Phuong Trang bus has hourly trips to Dalat from HCMC. Anyone had ventured their sleeping buses to Dalat before and may i know normally what time you would suggest depart HCMC to Dalat? 1N or 2N stay you think would be enough there?

Or anyone has recommendation for hotel to stay in Dalat and any day tour company I can go to?

TIA for advice.

HCM to Dalat is approximately 5 hours, depending on road conditions. Anyway, the road isn't smooth. You won't be able to rest well on the bus ride. But then I went 4 years ago.

I took a day tour with the Dalat easy rider for US$10. Customize your own itinerary. Tell them where you want to go.

suangern

Hi guys this is rather urgent.

I just realised my passport expires on 5th March and I alrdy bought a ticket to Vietnam departing this Sunday.

According to Vietnam regulations, it requires 6 months before expiry.

Does anyone have any advice or experience with this issue?

And is it possible to renew passport within a day?

Any help is much appreciated thanks !!!
:s22: please don't try your luck at Vietnam airport...

call this number to ICA now... 6391 6100

audiovideo

HCM to Dalat is approximately 5 hours, depending on road conditions. Anyway, the road isn't smooth. You won't be able to rest well on the bus ride. But then I went 4 years ago.

I took a day tour with the Dalat easy rider for US$10. Customize your own itinerary. Tell them where you want to go.

most of the angmoh review said better reserve 8hrs for the travel.
the distance is something like from SG to KL yet time taken can be double :s22:
a highway can really help to speed things up :D

cakeman

Just came back on Saturday. I got 1 SGD - 16.6K VND at the airport right after clearing customs, before going down the escalator to the arrival hall. Did not change any money at the city though. Hotel offered lousy rate of 15+K VND.

suangern

Just came back on Saturday. I got 1 SGD - 16.6K VND at the airport right after clearing customs, before going down the escalator to the arrival hall. Did not change any money at the city though. Hotel offered lousy rate of 15+K VND.
wah, now there also have money changer liao :s13:... last time i went (feb 2014) the money changer all located after x ray scan, before exiting to the meet-and-greet area.

ktzw718

i will be travelling from HCM to Hanoi for about 11 days. Will the SIM cards i get from HCM work in Hanoi? or Nha trang?

JinTaoKee

Don't confuse yourself la, did you read what I type. Ho Chi Minh to Hoi An and not Da Lat. For your info Hoi An and Da Nang very close, around 10km distance only.

o9Kgyus.jpg

Around 14 hours by car without rest stops. By bus slower abit plus more delay with meal/rest stops.

By bus smelly smelly got 18 hours or more.
I took from saigon to nha trang before takes about 12 hours.

dleodleo

Hi all travelers!

Our family of three (with a 6-year-old child) has just returned from a recent trip to Hanoi and Ha Long Bay (what a wonderful experience!). :)

Knowing that many first-time visitors may have read negative (and sometimes scary) stories about scams, unfriendly locals, terrifying traffic etc, we decided to compile a list of Hanoi Tips and Experiences to help them:

Link: Hanoi Tips and Experiences - Travel.Snap.Stories

We have also started writing our experiences during our 8-day stay in Vietnam. You may check them out at our travel blog (Travel.Snap.Stories - Family Travel Blog With Travel Stories).

Hope these will be helpful to you! :)

thanks for the wonderful post.

zijie1990

I have decided to go on a solo trip to Hanoi in late december this year. Trip will be about 5 and a half days and will be staying at the old quarter.

ANy advice as to what i should do for that 5.5 days?? is a trip to halong bay advisable?

audiovideo

likely going dalat coming mid Dec, what are the must do must visit over there? thanks

critical888

i will be travelling from HCM to Hanoi for about 11 days. Will the SIM cards i get from HCM work in Hanoi? or Nha trang?

About SIM card. U can try hardwarezone travel bazzar. Get it locally in singapore before you fly. So u can get your Vietnam number in advance and give to your friends or hotel etc. Vietnam SIM card works in whole of Vietnam.

Ask me anything about mobifone Vietnam. Try my best to help you

slandtravel

I have decided to go on a solo trip to Hanoi in late december this year. Trip will be about 5 and a half days and will be staying at the old quarter.

ANy advice as to what i should do for that 5.5 days?? is a trip to halong bay advisable?
5.5 days is enough time for you to visit both Sapa - Halong Bay

Day 1: Hanoi arrival - Take a night train to Sapa
Day 2: Y Linh Ho - Lao Chai - Ta Van Village - Overnight hotel/homestay
Day 3: Cat Cat Village - Night Train return Hanoi
Day 4: Hanoi - Halong Bay
Day 5: Shopping - Hanoi Departure

Duno about estimated time for your flight due to above itinerary migh be adjusted..hope tat's useful information for you :)

ktzw718

About SIM card. U can try hardwarezone travel bazzar. Get it locally in singapore before you fly. So u can get your Vietnam number in advance and give to your friends or hotel etc. Vietnam SIM card works in whole of Vietnam.

Ask me anything about mobifone Vietnam. Try my best to help you

Thanks for the info, will sort things out with my friends as i am travelling in a big group!

Bishio

any money changer at Hanoi airport? or gd places to change sgd to dong?

tml flying le :(

cobragold

I am currently in dalat, really love the cool weather and no haze. All things are quite cheap, food is really cheap, just had a vegetarian lunch of rice and 3vege, plus free soup and Chinese tea, cost is 15k dong, about 90c . Bun mi can cost as cheap as 6k dong. Pho is around 35k dong, comes with a vege platter, soup and tea.
At night it cools down to around 61 f, and during the day it's about 76 f. I am free so will be here till the 18.
A lot of attractions in and around dalat to see but it's not for the shopping center types, go and google dalat and see for yourself what they are. Good thing to buy is deer jerky, cost in dalat market is 100k for 250 g. Don't buy the chillie type as it burns your throat . A lot of Ang mo tourist as well as Asian tourist, hotels are dirt cheap. I walked twice around the large lake here without breaking into any sweat.
So far seen only one fast food joint,like mcd. Ice cream cone cost 20 c. And full burger meal is 35 k. $10 is 165 k dong so you do the Maths.
This place is not for everyone but good enought for around 5 days if you pack in all the sights, this includes the surrounding hills.

dorabee

Is it a good time to visit Halong Bay during Xmas week? Will it be too cloudy/foggy to see anything since its winter time?

Any bros can advise?

Thank you.

dleodleo

any money changer at Hanoi airport? or gd places to change sgd to dong?

tml flying le :(

perhaps you want to read this blog. He mentioned something on the money changer.

Hanoi Tips and Experiences - Travel.Snap.Stories

When you reach Hanoi, can you check for me roughly how much much is the price of Fantasea cruise halong bay 2D1N in Hanoi itself? If it is not convenient then don;t check. Thanks.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.