Vietnam

juuzbe

most of the angmoh review said better reserve 8hrs for the travel.
the distance is something like from SG to KL yet time taken can be double :s22:
a highway can really help to speed things up :D

Alternatively can look at plane, Vietjet Air, which seems quite good to save the time. However the return Dalat to HCMC only 1 timing at 9am, which means you need be at airport as early as 7am? wow...

cobragold

I took the 9 PM bus, including a half hour supper stop, I arrived in dalat bus station at 3.30 am. Lucky they transfer you to the hotel for free, pick up to go back also free.

juuzbe

I took the 9 PM bus, including a half hour supper stop, I arrived in dalat bus station at 3.30 am. Lucky they transfer you to the hotel for free, pick up to go back also free.

Wow bro... 3am also got free shuttle bus ah? Hotel allow so early check in ah. Hahah by the way which hotel you booked ya? Dis you travel from dalat to hcmc then?

myshoes

Is it a good time to visit Halong Bay during Xmas week? Will it be too cloudy/foggy to see anything since its winter time?

Any bros can advise?

Thank you.

Not sure if its monsoon season or not during December but be careful if the weather is bad, the junk boat cruises can be cancel due to safety and your 4h ride there might be wasted.

audiovideo

Alternatively can look at plane, Vietjet Air, which seems quite good to save the time. However the return Dalat to HCMC only 1 timing at 9am, which means you need be at airport as early as 7am? wow...

return is 9.55am... and for domestic flight the check-in part is a bit "loose", my experience at Danang and judging from the viet hotel receptionist "advise" :s13: ... so maybe can eat 30mins.... reach by 8.30am should be safe. Reach hcm at 10.55am can have brunch at my favorite Tim Sum restaurant at Q5 before check in to hotel at hcm.

juuzbe

May i check with people here regarding the taxi from HCMC TSL airport to town. Do we go out of airport and turn left whereby there is a taxi stand and hope on to the cab that comes by (like our changi airport) or we hunt for the Malinh taxi counter in the airport and book a taxi? Having 5 people in the group, wonder their taxi can take that.

Actually been to HCMC many many years back cannot really recall their taxi system or whether there are changes to it through these years or not. Thank you very much for advice.

cobragold

Wow bro... 3am also got free shuttle bus ah? Hotel allow so early check in ah. Hahah by the way which hotel you booked ya? Dis you travel from dalat to hcmc then?

Yes, the shuttle bus works as long as there is busses coming in to dalat. Hotel allowed me in, staying at my dreams hotel, very cheap and basic hotel, lots of food around the place. Room comes with breakfast. Will be here till 18 nov. Today went for cable car ride to a big lake and a Buddhist temple . Very cheap, return ticket cost 70 k dong.

juuzbe

Yes, the shuttle bus works as long as there is busses coming in to dalat. Hotel allowed me in, staying at my dreams hotel, very cheap and basic hotel, lots of food around the place. Room comes with breakfast. Will be here till 18 nov. Today went for cable car ride to a big lake and a Buddhist temple . Very cheap, return ticket cost 70 k dong.

Taiwan cable car also cheap. Only Spore cable cars cost alot alot....

dorabee

Would like to ask all bros on this quote that I got from Vega Travel.

Total is 280 USD per person based on the following. Is it a good deal?

For the tour below:
Tour Itinerary

Day 01:

Hanoi – Lao Cai by night train
- 19:30 our tour guide will transfer you to Hanoi station for the 21h15 train to Lao Cai
- 8 hours sleep on the train
Inclusive services: Transfer and train ticket

Day 02:

Sa Pa Trekking to 4 villages: Ylinh Ho - Lao Chai - Ta Van – Giang Ta Chai village
6-7 hrs trekking throughout 4 hamlets - visit 2 different kinds of minority.
- 05h15 you will arrive at the last arrival station – Lao Cai station. Picked up and drive up to Sapa. First of all, get shower, luggage store and then enjoy breakfast
- Trek down to YlinhHo and Lao Chai village of the black H’mong people.
- After a picnic lunch, keep on alongside Muong Hoa stream, over suspension bridges to Ta Van village of the Dzay people.
- Keep trekking to Cau May (Rattan Suspension bridge) - Giang Ta Chai I. Visit and stay overnight with a local family of the Dzay minority
- With your tour guide and the house owners, we will set up a temporary cooking class to learn how to cook Vietnamese food for dinner.
- Enjoying your dinner and getting to know local typical traditional customs, cultural….
Inclusive services: Transfer, tour guide, home-stay permit and meals
(B + L + D)

Day 03:
Giang Ta Chai - Su Pan - Sa Pa
- 5 - 6hrs trekking with surprises at what you have never seen before
In the early morning you will be sure to be woken up by the households but lucky to see how is their daily life for a new day coming!
- Enjoy some pancakes made by your tour guide’s skillful hands.
- Start a new trek into Hoan Lien Son National Park by more stunning landscapes and other ethnic minority villages dotted further your eyes sigh. Visit Giang Ta Chai village of the Red Dao minority and then continue that trail to Su Pan village for lunch
- Enjoy magnificent view of Ba Ho valley or visit some local houses of the Tay and then a car to Sapa
- Check in hotel, free and easy in Sapa.
Inclusive services: Transfer, tour guide, Panorama hotel*** (Deluxe room) and meals (B + L)

Day 04:
Sa Pa sightseeing and Cat Cat village - Lao Cai - Hanoi
- In the morning: Visit Sapa market on way down to Cat Cat village, visit Cat Cat beautiful waterfall and the water power station built by the French in early 20th century.
- In the afternoon: Free and easy until 18h00 transfer down to Lao Cai station for the night train back to Hanoi – 8 hours sleeping on the train again.
Inclusive services: Tour guide, transfer, entrance fee, train ticket (same type) and meal (B)

Day 05:
Arrival Hanoi - Ha Noi – Bai Tu Long Bay - Ha Long bay - Overnight on Vega Cruise
- 05h00 the train arrives back Hanoi – you have to take your own way to Vega Travel where you can put down your luggage and take a bath in the meantime
AM
- Approximately 08:00 our professional tour guide and driver will pick you up the 3,5 hour drive through the Red River Delta to the wharf of Halong Bay
PM
- 12:00 – 12:15 Welcome aboard to cruise out to the Bay
- Sit back on the boat restaurant or the sundeck to relax as we cruise past the hundreds of islands and islets of Bai Tu Long Bay area that is lesser traveled by tourist and well-known for its magnificent seascapes
- Cruising and enjoying the first fresh lunch served by Vega’s boat staffs
- Turn right to reach the centre of Halong Bay for a visit to its largest cave called Hang Sung Sot (Surprising cave) for more or less 40 minutes
- Paddle in our 2-person kayak through a limestone Tunnel Grotto called (Hang Luon) into a lovely lagoon. You may even see wild monkeys playing on the mountain cliffs. Paddle along and through narrow passages to visit the Man head island, Butterfly cave and Horse Neck stone
- Spend more time in swimming from the boat or from your kayak in the emerald waters…
- Anchor in a tranquil lagoon among Bai Tu Long Bay, Ha Long Bay and Lan Ha Bay for dinner and a peaceful night on the boat.
Inclusive services:
Sharing transfer in a minivan 16 seats and en-suite room on Vega Cruise, full-time English speaking tour guide, kayak, entrance fees into Halong Bay, meals (L+ D)

Day 06:
Halong Bay – Bai Tu Long Bay - Hanoi
AM
- 07h00 Wake up for a new day by Walking up 340 constructed terraced steps to the top of Titop Mountain to watch the sunrise over the bay. The 360 degree view is breath-taking from this peak with views of Halong Bay - Bai Tu Long Bay - Lan Ha Bay and Cat Ba Island National Park.
- Walk down to Titop beach, a naturally formed sand beach, for a refreshing dip in the bay.
- Afterwards enjoy breakfast on the boat while we cruise towards Lan Ha Bay, passing by the Pearl farming to listen to our tour guide explaining how the local people here raise and harvest pearls.
- Following this inner route will lead you through the most beautiful zone of Halong Bay including the Dog stone, the Fighting Cock islet, the couple islet, the 3 -tunnel grotto and the floating fishing villages and fish farms.
- If time and tide permit, we will stop for a while in a peaceful place for relaxation on the boat deck
- Enjoying our last lunch on the boat en-route heading up to Halong wharf
PM
- 11h45 -12:00 pack up and disembark then we continue our land driving trip to Hanoi
- Estimated to arrive in Hanoi between 16h30 – 17h00.
- We will drop you back to your hotels in the old quarter of Hanoi or Drop to Vega Travel office

ngandtk89

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie and i'm from Vietnam, live in HCMC. If you want to go to Vietnam travel in this month. Don't. Because it's rainning all time. Maybe next month, the weather is cold and sun is warm. And one more things you need to know, the restaurent in Vietnam don't always best. You need to try street food.

You can find some where for eat in here : foody[dot]vn or here : lozi[dot]vn. They have english version for you.

But local people always use this page : diadiemanuong[dot]com. They review any food they used, street food... Very good. I use it when i want to hangout with my friends.

Oh, if you want i help anything, when you stay in Vietnam now, pls call me anytime you want me help : 0938. 846. 510. I'll help you just like friend. No money or any fee. I swear.

And, welcome to Vietnam. If i have a chance, i'll show you another face of Vietnam. Very beautiful and very happiness.

Thank you so much.

Kim Ngan.

ktzw718

Anyone been to nha trang? What are some of the things that must be done over there? Thanks!

genie47

Anyone been to nha trang? What are some of the things that must be done over there? Thanks!

Nha Trang is more like a beach vacation place. The Vietnamese love going there too so it is not just popular with the tourists.

The problem with Vietnamese beaches is the trash. For some strange reason after big storm, lots of trash will be washed up onto their beaches. Friends who have been to Phan Thiet province where Nha Trang and Mui Ne are experienced this. The beach hotels will clean up their section of the beaches but will not care about anything not in front of their property. :s22:

56mimosa

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie and i'm from Vietnam, live in HCMC. If you want to go to Vietnam travel in this month. Don't. Because it's rainning all time. Maybe next month, the weather is cold and sun is warm. And one more things you need to know, the restaurent in Vietnam don't always best. You need to try street food.

You can find some where for eat in here : foody[dot]vn or here : lozi[dot]vn. They have english version for you.

But local people always use this page : diadiemanuong[dot]com. They review any food they used, street food... Very good. I use it when i want to hangout with my friends.

Oh, if you want i help anything, when you stay in Vietnam now, pls call me anytime you want me help : 0938. 846. 510. I'll help you just like friend. No money or any fee. I swear.

And, welcome to Vietnam. If i have a chance, i'll show you another face of Vietnam. Very beautiful and very happiness.

Thank you so much.

Kim Ngan.

Hmm.... this is advertisement thread ! The moment I visited foody dot vn. My facebook is flooded with post from foody dot vn. I did not even click like fb or anything.

JinTaoKee

Nha trang is a small city nothing much to do.
There are only few hotel with private beaches the rest open for public.

Better to go Dalat with Nha trang.

ngandtk89

Hmm.... this is advertisement thread ! The moment I visited foody dot vn. My facebook is flooded with post from foody dot vn. I did not even click like fb or anything.

Oh, sr about that. Because almost all website build up in Vietnam for advertisement. You can't login, just view the website and search the address in this.

The local people don't use foody dot vn or lozi dot vn, because they have a lot advertaisement on website. Very annoying. I think you have a same feel. BUT they have English version. That's all !

So, i suggest you use diadiemanuong dot com. That's local website for street food, and this is a forum. You just register a ID and enjoy. But they just have Vietnamese version. Or if you find somewhere to go in Vietnam, you use phuot dot vn, you will be surprised by what it brings to you.

And the one thing you need to know : the website (dont have forum) it is only for promotional purposes. And, let's use google translate for local website :)

Anything you want me support. Just call me or chat with me via Skype : ngandtk89.

Welcome to Vietnam :s13:

ngandtk89

Nha trang is a small city nothing much to do.
There are only few hotel with private beaches the rest open for public.

Better to go Dalat with Nha trang.

No no. Nha Trang have a beautiful sea, beautiful beach, sea food is better in here. You want to go to this by motobike, amazing :s13:

Or, you need to going to Binh Ba island, beautiful and wild island.

Want more information, you use phuot dot vn, that's local website, maybe you find someone or group go to there in same time you want. It's very fun. And don't worry about money, it is cheaper, around 1mil5 - 2mil for 3 days 2 nights. Eat, stay and vehicles.

Have fun!

invisible999

Any recommended, non-scam artists tour guides for HCMC (Saigon)?

There are number of tour companies around the world who offer free local English speaking tour guides who usually are students for mutual cultural exchange. Any such kind of company for Saigon?

No not, any other recommendations? Tripadvisor's recommended tour companies charge US $40-$80 per person for 3-4 hour tours and I really think it is extortion - In Yogyakarta, Indonesia we paid $80 for three tours for me and my wife. I would like to get something this scale in Saigon as well.

Recommendations are welcome.

invisible999

Mekong Delta - does it worth to take it?

Hello everybody,

Contacted thesintourist regarding tours and got following reply:

For the payment, you can pay online by your credit card with the link I create through OnePAY system. And there is service charge for credit card payment:
· With Visa card/Master card: 3.08% + 6,000VND/transaction (3.5%)
· With other cards: 3.85% + 6,000VND/transaction (4.3%)
Please tell me which credit card you use for this payment online?
If you agree to book, please give me your information for payment link:
1. Full name on passport (name of card’s holder who will join the trip):
2. Nationality:
3. Phone number:
4. Address:
5. City:
6. Country:
I will create the link for you to pay and reconfirm after your payment

I am quite hesitant to use onepay in VN, any experience?

Also does mekong delta worth a day tour? What one should be aware of?

audiovideo

Hello everybody,

I am quite hesitant to use onepay in VN, any experience?

Also does mekong delta worth a day tour? What one should be aware of?

if you know their shop better go vietnam change $$ liao go pay cash
previously I go danang BANA hill tour also tour liao then pay ... not sure if this one can or not :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.