Vietnam

rrr2015

I also can't stand some viet ham which has strong taste and smell. So I usually pass it to my wife...hee hee. I would say I am less adventurous when come to food.
i guess you are referring to cha lua, it contains fish sauce so if you can't handle pungent vietnamese fish sauce probably you won't like that kind of ham as well

koala2004

Just came back from hcm...
Ban thenh quote me 16000. Near saigon zoom hotel goldsmith quote me at 16100

Hcm really change a lot. Been 2 yrs nvr go there liao. Haha now still got grabtaxi liao...

Why hcm suddenly got so many traffic light liao arh?

This is called progressing of a country...vn changes really fast. High rise apartments and buildings are coming up everywhere.

Estados

Ya lah why bother, bring enough cash better. It's quite safe there as long as you keep your money properly and don't display in public. I have brought more than SGD40K there before also no problem. Dun worry to much. Bring 1K there really consider little lah.

aiseh 40k :o

i take out 1k also got problem liao :o

Thoma5

This is called progressing of a country...vn changes really fast. High rise apartments and buildings are coming up everywhere.

yes...it changed a lot.i saw a lot of bmw on the road compare to2 years ago...haha i now started to miss there liao...:(

The adding of traffic light is like making the traffic worse like that...almost like sg...a bit a bit traffic light liao...frm airport on cab to district 1 made my backside pain haha...

koala2004

ben thanh goldsmith shop can change SGD40K?

Prior to trip, we already settled with Ha Tam gold shop to have the cash delivered to my new house (bought for my ILs) at specific time so we can handover straight to the developer. The staff go bank, withdraw and hang on bike and come to my house in 2 bags....still hot...lol. I sweat, why they not scared kanna rob. Special service for big amount. It's bag full of 500K and 100K VND notes.

One thing I find vn very interesting, their bike damn multipurpose, anything also can carry one, very resourceful and really optimise to the fullest. You will be shocked they actually delivered king size bed (thick mattress and frame) to my new house on just a normal 2-wheel bike...wonder how they do it and how they travel on road.

koala2004

$40k can buy house Liao?

It's VND720m (~S$43.5K based on VND16,500 then), new 2-storey 82sqm clustered semi-d type house. My ILs moved in Jan 2015. Heard now it goes up to VND1.2b already. It's cheap bcos it's outskirts of D7, prices more for local people. Unlike high end apartments and condos more for foreigners.

koala2004

yes...it changed a lot.i saw a lot of bmw on the road compare to2 years ago...haha i now started to miss there liao...:(

The adding of traffic light is like making the traffic worse like that...almost like sg...a bit a bit traffic light liao...frm airport on cab to district 1 made my backside pain haha...

Ya without traffic lights, traffic seems smoother...lol.

Estados

It's VND720m (~S$43.5K based on VND16,500 then), new 2-storey 82sqm clustered semi-d type house. My ILs moved in Jan 2015. Heard now it goes up to VND1.2b already. It's cheap bcos it's outskirts of D7, prices more for local people. Unlike high end apartments and condos more for foreigners.

wah value almost went up 2 times :eek:

anyway i taking the advice from everyone here and bring sgd instead of withdrawing there :)

rrr2015

Prior to trip, we already settled with Ha Tam gold shop to have the cash delivered to my new house (bought for my ILs) at specific time so we can handover straight to the developer. The staff go bank, withdraw and hang on bike and come to my house in 2 bags....still hot...lol. I sweat, why they not scared kanna rob. Special service for big amount. It's bag full of 500K and 100K VND notes.
waaaa ... you sure have their good trust or do you know them well?

Probably business people have some connections with those in power? so those committing petty crimes won't dare to touch them

One thing I find vn very interesting, their bike damn multipurpose, anything also can carry one, very resourceful and really optimise to the fullest. You will be shocked they actually delivered king size bed (thick mattress and frame) to my new house on just a normal 2-wheel bike...wonder how they do it and how they travel on road.
i'm already so in awe when i saw someone delivering fridge on 2 wheel bike! and now you say king size bed with mattress as well! ... really no horse run :s22:

rrr2015

moi几够力一下;98808602 said:
I want go hcm n dalat again.

go go go ... i may go next year. can share your trip report?
what mode of transport you will use from HCM to dalat?

invisible999

Hoi An

@ Hoi An now. Place is flooded with tourists, even it is not a high season. Due to this exchange rate is way worse comparing to other places in Vietnam. Keep this in mind

koala2004

waaaa ... you sure have their good trust or do you know them well?

Probably business people have some connections with those in power? so those committing petty crimes won't dare to touch them

i'm already so in awe when i saw someone delivering fridge on 2 wheel bike! and now you say king size bed with mattress as well! ... really no horse run :s22:

My wife is a Vietnamese, and all comm with Ha Tam is thru her. Maybe own people easier to chum shiong.

Ya, really pei fu how they did it! Must see to believe.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.