Virgin trip to Bangkok

Luffy Pirate King

Going Bangkok for a 5d4n short trip on early Oct18. Got old and got young tagging. A few qns hopefully some lao jiao can assist, pardon in advance if being too lohsoh :)

Hotel or Airbnb? Any 3-4 star hotel recommendations? "Central" or City area prefered for ease of walking to train stations for elders.

DM airport to city area, by cab or bus if reaching around 11am bkk time. Roughly how much per head for bus or per cab of 4.

Going zoo and aquarium, Dusit zoo or Safari world, which one to chose?

Night markets, which one more worth it to visit?

Any other worthy mention places of interest to visit?

PS : Comb thru the bangkok thread, but a bit lost because totally no idea where is where and what is what :)

Many thanks

dede1217

Going Bangkok for a 5d4n short trip on early Oct18. Got old and got young tagging. A few qns hopefully some lao jiao can assist, pardon in advance if being too lohsoh :)

Hotel or Airbnb? Any 3-4 star hotel recommendations? "Central" or City area prefered for ease of walking to train stations for elders.

DM airport to city area, by cab or bus if reaching around 11am bkk time. Roughly how much per head for bus or per cab of 4.

PS : Comb thru the bangkok thread, but a bit lost because totally no idea where is where and what is what :)

Many thanks

Personally prefer hotel, have room service, easy to locate the hotel.
Can consider using agoda, expedia to check the exact pricing ...

Siam Paragon: Novotel Siam Square
MBK: Ibis siam, mercure siam, Pathuwan Princess
Centralworld: Arnoma, centara grand centralworld
Platinum Mall: grand diamond, novotel platinum, berkeley pratunam, amari watergate, etc
Pratunam Area: Many 3* hotel ranges from 40+ to 60+ per nite for two
Chong nonsi bts: heritage, trinity silom, i-residence silom, furama xclusiveSathorn, etc

Since you going with elderly and young kids, can consider taking a cab. should be 400+ to town normally. grab is usually 400+ onwards, excluding tolls charges ...

dede1217

In terms of shopping, can consider:
Platinum Mall, Centralworld, Big C Supercenter, Pratunam
They are within walking distance to each another
Good to stay at Arnoma Hotel

Other shopping places:
Terminal 21, Siam Paragon, MBK, Emporium, emquartier, Chatuchak weekends market

If you are interested in temple or places of interest, can consider wat pho, wat arun, grand palace, etc ...

Andrew833

Many thanks

"Going zoo and aquarium, Dusit zoo or Safari world, which one to chose?"
Dusit zoo don't go. Safari World good for 1st timer. Book a tour or driver easier.

Beno777

Many thanks

First time and with old with young, Arnoma Hotel the best liao. :D

From Airport, Taxi lah since u got 4 pax. Again got old got young very lek chek to change bus then BTS then gotta walk to hotel. In the end also wont save a lot.

Talad Rot Fai Ratchada and Talad Neon (walkable from hotel, if nothing to do) are recommended.

Beno777

Dusit zoo don't go. Safari World good for 1st timer. Book a tour or driver easier.

If either or then straight answer is Safari World, cos Dusit Zoo Closed for good =:p

Luffy Pirate King

Personally prefer hotel, have room service, easy to locate the hotel.
Can consider using agoda, expedia to check the exact pricing ...

Siam Paragon: Novotel Siam Square
MBK: Ibis siam, mercure siam, Pathuwan Princess
Centralworld: Arnoma, centara grand centralworld
Platinum Mall: grand diamond, novotel platinum, berkeley pratunam, amari watergate, etc
Pratunam Area: Many 3* hotel ranges from 40+ to 60+ per nite for two
Chong nonsi bts: heritage, trinity silom, i-residence silom, furama xclusiveSathorn, etc

Since you going with elderly and young kids, can consider taking a cab. should be 400+ to town normally. grab is usually 400+ onwards, excluding tolls charges ...

Thank you very much for the list of hotels to chose from :) total 7 pax, will heed your advise to get a cab instead.

Erm, one qns thou, where to find cab ah? Want to avoid those 霸王 cab if possible. And can check price to nego if they start with 4 digits baht? Or dont bother to nego because these drivers usually carrots ang mo and naive tourist?

In terms of shopping, can consider:
Platinum Mall, Centralworld, Big C Supercenter, Pratunam
They are within walking distance to each another
Good to stay at Arnoma Hotel

Other shopping places:
Terminal 21, Siam Paragon, MBK, Emporium, emquartier, Chatuchak weekends market

If you are interested in temple or places of interest, can consider wat pho, wat arun, grand palace, etc ...

Oh,yes yes, very interested in temple visiting and praying. Will also visit one of the temple that allows coffin donations, not sure if you know what i mean.

Thought of getting my tickets thru klook for Safari world, and maybe pay for transport also, not sure if their package include transport. Haven see see yet. And thanks :)

First time and with old with young, Arnoma Hotel the best liao. :D

From Airport, Taxi lah since u got 4 pax. Again got old got young very lek chek to change bus then BTS then gotta walk to hotel. In the end also wont save a lot.

Talad Rot Fai Ratchada and Talad Neon (walkable from hotel, if nothing to do) are recommended.

Night market ah? :) Will put it in my to-do list also :)

If either or then straight answer is Safari World, cos Dusit Zoo Closed for good =:p

Closed? LOL, okok, then confirm Safari world liao..Have you been there? 6 hrs can complete the whole zoo including shows and lunch? Want to plan my timing so old n young can eat on time..haha

dede1217

For 7 person, you can consider taking 2x normal cab
if u get taxi from airport by meter should be 400+
if u take grab also 400+ , excluding tolls etc

Toyota innova, bigger cab, perhaps cant take in 7 person
or you can book a van instead?
should be about 1000b+

on tripadvisor, there are many drivers options, you can email or whatsapp them ...

dede1217

For coffin donations, you can read up those links:
Location at Hua Lamphong
https://noobguidance.blogspot.com/2015/11/ruamkatanyu-foundation-bangkok.html
http://123travelguide.blogspot.com/2013/01/guide-to-bangkok-must-read-coffin.html
https://www.iamwannee.com/wat-hua-lamphong-known-for-coffin-donation/

Grand Palace, admission ticket is 500b
Wat Pho is 100b
From pratunam area, take a cab there should be less than 100b by meter
Good to go in the morning. Best to dress up, covering your shoulder and knees

Beno777

4 digits baht for taxi? :eek: think nowadays not so hiong liao lah. For example if by meter says 80Baht and taxi driver quoting 200 Baht the ppl already kp like no tomolo already :s13:

alternatively is take Grab.

Another best solution, given you have 7 pax can consider to bao a van for whole day

Andrew833

Thought of getting my tickets thru klook for Safari world, and maybe pay for transport also, not sure if their package include transport. Haven see see yet. And thanks :)

Closed? LOL, okok, then confirm Safari world liao..Have you been there? 6 hrs can complete the whole zoo including shows and lunch? Want to plan my timing so old n young can eat on time..haha

http://img.hulutrip.com/2015/0917/20150917053454250.jpg

This is the show time table for Safari world.
It's a whole day thing.
klook and hotels2thailand.com both offer transport. Get one with buffet, although there are other food stalls but expensive.
You can also book a driver, buy entrance ticket (include buffet) to Safari world.

dede1217

For places such as Centralworld, Big C Supercenter.
went there 2 weeks back ..
around 8+ pm in the evening ...

cab all asking for 200b to go to silom area ...
grab is 140b, however used for 20minutes, no response ...
in the end bargained with taxi driver 150b ...

going with elderly, hence not advisable to take bts.
since our hotel is 10min walk from bts ...

Few bkk trips this year, especially big c supercenter and centralworld, hard to get a taxi which would go by meter. normally they would quote u 200 to 300b ...

addict951

For coffin donation, take MRT to Hua lumpong stn, come up immediately got one temple, this is the temple to make coffin donations.

addict951

ts, I tell you ar I seriously seriously discourage you from going to big c Super centre. It has been "taken over" by Chinese tour groups liao. Hordes of mainlanders who dun queue and dun say excuse me one. You got 老人家& 小孩子you better dun go, wait your 老人家tio push till fall down. You go Tesco lotus at the outskirts for better experience.

rrr2015

i believe the 2nd smaller temple. the first will be wat
For coffin donation, take MRT to Hua lumpong stn, come up immediately got one temple, this is the temple to make coffin donations.

dede1217

ts, I tell you ar I seriously seriously discourage you from going to big c Super centre. It has been "taken over" by Chinese tour groups liao. Hordes of mainlanders who dun queue and dun say excuse me one. You got 老人家& 小孩子you better dun go, wait your 老人家tio push till fall down. You go Tesco lotus at the outskirts for better experience.

yup agree ... normally would go to other Big C ...
Big c extra 4, Big C Extra Ratchadaphisek

not only china mainland tourists ...
singaporeans, Malaysians, hong kong, taiwan tourists
the snacks corner would be congested ... queue would be super long ...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.