'Wake up, stop dreaming, live with the reality': Asian parents on daughter's choice to major in arts

Tsoukalos

asian-parents-art-major.jpg

A Vietnamese woman, who goes by Kaitlynn on TikTok and appears to live in the U.S., shared an emotional conversation she had with her parents over her choice to major in the arts at university.

The video, which showed the woman getting emotional when confronted by her parents, has attracted more than six million views, along with thousands of encouraging comments praising her for pursuing her dreams despite her parents' objections.

Questioned on how she plans to support herself after graduation​

The video starts with an already teary-eyed Kaitlynn sharing a meal with her parents, an indication that the uncomfortable conversation had been going on for some time before she decided to hit record.
In Vietnamese, her mother questioned her on how she intends to support herself after graduating.
"I'm going to find a rich husband," she replied, adding in the video subtitles that she was "obviously joking".
Her mother, however, took her reply seriously and retorted with: "You're short and small, you can't do anything, you're nothing in comparison to others. Talk about marrying rich."
Her father interjects, and asked: "Why did you choose this major?"
"I'm in the post production track, I sit in a room and edit sh*t," Kaitlynn replied.
Crying some more, she added: "Leave me alone, I'll figure it out."
asian-parents-art-major-2.jpg

Her mother continued, and said it would be difficult for her to "survive" with this career.
Her father chimed in again, and told her: "Sit and think this through. Wake up, stop dreaming, live with the reality."
Kaitlynn's TikTok description indicates she is from Orange County, Los Angeles in the U.S.

Many empathise with her situation of dealing with Asian parents​

Kaitlynn's video seemed to strike a chord with many, with some sharing that they were able to relate to her situation.
art-major-comments-4.jpg

art-major-comments-5.jpg

Others encouraged her to keep pushing on with her choice in major, and said that what made her "happy" was more important.
art-major-comments-1.jpg

Some also pointed out that her parents may have had a narrower understanding on what would make a successful career, or that they are unable to communicate their worries to their daughter tactfully.
art-major-comments-2.jpg

art-major-comments-3.jpg

art-major-comments-6.jpg

Another Vietnamese woman in the arts industry also reached out to Kaitlynn to offer her "support" in her career if she needed it.
art-major-comments-7.jpg

art-major-comments-8.jpg

https://mothership.sg/2022/04/arts-major-asian-parents/
Wake up! Char siew at least can eat!

HumJiBeng

You can study law and accounting to make $ but still pursue ur hobbies one what.

Got to side her parents but would prefer to gently convince her than to use such aggressive tone.

I like basketball too. Can't aim to become nba player right? I still play basketball 5 days a week as hobby

x1243x

Art in us more viable than in sg or asia
us.. because can become activist and earn a lot of money like those BLM activist.. or become diversity coach.. especially since she's a minority.. those things are really big in America now.

_eMuu_

they are just worried la. instead of posting it online. why not make them not worry.

begintoend

In us still possible To chase dReam
In sg... Better listen to your parents or reality. :s13:

gnoes85

Plus seeking comfort online by putting the video with her parents face with the intent of 'shaming' them. This type of ultimate char siew disown better

mazatsushi

Ownself want to do arts degree? Can.
Later on in life just don't KPKB and JJWW that there are no good jobs in the market.

There is a reason why STEM, law and medical degrees usually lead to high paying jobs.

x1243x

they are just worried la. instead of posting it online. why not make them not worry.
the younger generation likes to post everything online.. need to get that affirmation and likes. so even though the decision is not sound, sure can find some ppl who will support because.. "do what makes you feel good".. except when it goes south then these ppl will all disappear..

croc1977

asian-parents-art-major.jpg

A Vietnamese woman, who goes by Kaitlynn on TikTok and appears to live in the U.S., shared an emotional conversation she had with her parents over her choice to major in the arts at university.

The video, which showed the woman getting emotional when confronted by her parents, has attracted more than six million views, along with thousands of encouraging comments praising her for pursuing her dreams despite her parents' objections.

Questioned on how she plans to support herself after graduation​

The video starts with an already teary-eyed Kaitlynn sharing a meal with her parents, an indication that the uncomfortable conversation had been going on for some time before she decided to hit record.
In Vietnamese, her mother questioned her on how she intends to support herself after graduating.
"I'm going to find a rich husband," she replied, adding in the video subtitles that she was "obviously joking".
Her mother, however, took her reply seriously and retorted with: "You're short and small, you can't do anything, you're nothing in comparison to others. Talk about marrying rich."
Her father interjects, and asked: "Why did you choose this major?"
"I'm in the post production track, I sit in a room and edit sh*t," Kaitlynn replied.
Crying some more, she added: "Leave me alone, I'll figure it out."
asian-parents-art-major-2.jpg

Her mother continued, and said it would be difficult for her to "survive" with this career.
Her father chimed in again, and told her: "Sit and think this through. Wake up, stop dreaming, live with the reality."
Kaitlynn's TikTok description indicates she is from Orange County, Los Angeles in the U.S.

Many empathise with her situation of dealing with Asian parents​

Kaitlynn's video seemed to strike a chord with many, with some sharing that they were able to relate to her situation.
art-major-comments-4.jpg

art-major-comments-5.jpg

Others encouraged her to keep pushing on with her choice in major, and said that what made her "happy" was more important.
art-major-comments-1.jpg

Some also pointed out that her parents may have had a narrower understanding on what would make a successful career, or that they are unable to communicate their worries to their daughter tactfully.
art-major-comments-2.jpg

art-major-comments-3.jpg

art-major-comments-6.jpg

Another Vietnamese woman in the arts industry also reached out to Kaitlynn to offer her "support" in her career if she needed it.
art-major-comments-7.jpg

art-major-comments-8.jpg

https://mothership.sg/2022/04/arts-major-asian-parents/
i always rem my time....i want to join computer club in my sch ...cos i love 386/486 sx with rtk2 ....that make me love with coms....also nes , 16bit sega....etc...

but my mom always say go there you sure learn to play games...go do ncc /scots which can help you in the future when you grow up.. or becum engineer

in the end i sign on with rsn but 6 year later i use the bonus to study dip m adv dip in it ....pt time ...

but those in com club ? some are way ahead of me earning big bucks....

so i always suan my mom....see if you let mi join com club then ...things may be diff.....and i can afford 3 trays of 30 eggs without a issue .....

x1243x

Plus seeking comfort online by putting the video with her parents face with the intent of 'shaming' them. This type of ultimate char siew disown better
that's the power of social media.. black can become white and white can become white. who knows how often this topic comes up..

very much a one sided affair.. what if her parents had to work hard to save and provide for her education and they are concerned that she's going to end up in bigger debt. remember that Asian parents are generally more fiscally conservative..

Roughice

US college is how much ah? Why so many say sibei expensive
Think in the range of 40-60k + lodgings and living expenses on top of if. All in USD which is a lot stronger than the Vietnamese Dong.

The saying that need to sell HDB flat to fund a overseas university study is real and no joke.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.