Warhammer 40,000 Modelling Thread

Spindoc

BTW doc, how do u colour the boney part of the nids and their talons?

Boney part is

Black then White primer. Gryphonne Sephia Wash and Bleach Bone highlight
Talons is Red Gore, Blood Red and Blazing Orange.

What type of base are you going to give it? Mud? Jungle? Desert?

Most probably ruins. Jungle is too complicated to do and desert feels a bit weird to me. Sometimes less is better. My bases wont be too complicated so the focus is on the nids.

Anyway i didn't realise the Trygon is on a special base so i have to make one to go with the rest. I ordered close to 100+ resin bases for all my nids heehee

I have another Trygon/Mawloc kit to do ...most probably going for a Trygon Prime although for gaming purposes 2 x Mawlocs sounds good.

More to come...i repainted my Genestealers and 15 of my Termagants...also added new Devourer gaunts...but ran out of white spray..:(

halocast

wha cow cool sia!!!

anyway! happy new year 2010 to this thread!

xinng7

Here's some concept pics of my IG squad.

Pig Iron heads were used while the rest are Cadians parts and Forgeworld Brass. Still need to work on the highlights and stuff. Comments and Critics are most welcome!!

P1060612.jpg

P1060642.jpg

P1060618.jpg

P1060619.jpg

halocast

Here's some concept pics of my IG squad.

Pig Iron heads were used while the rest are Cadians parts and Forgeworld Brass. Still need to work on the highlights and stuff. Comments and Critics are most welcome!!

P1060612.jpg

P1060642.jpg

P1060618.jpg

P1060619.jpg

they look nice.. but... abit dark imo.. maybe abit more highlight.. to bring out the figures.. not sure whether it helps though :o

close313

Those are some nice minis! How the hell u highlighted the back part of the palm(last pic):eek:!! Where did u get your brushes one? all my brushes now are spoilt leh, cant continue painting my Nids.

continue the great work guys!

xinng7

I agree the lack of highlighting makes the minis dark and dull... :D

For the leather gloves, i apply GW Scorched Brown as base coat, highlight with GW Bestial Brown and a final highlight with GW Bubonic Brown.

I get my brushes from Art Friend. Usually Ashley, size 000 to 1.

My idea was to have a trench specailists Infantry Regiment with gas masks and close combat weapons like Flamers, chainswords, grenades, etc.

Basically a cheap version of DKOK. :s13:

halocast

now that darksiders game is done.. i hope vigil games continue with the 40k mmo..!

:D

Spindoc

More Nids stuff

Zooanthropes
LeviZo.jpg

Hive Tyrant
LeviHT.jpg

Biovores
LeviBio.jpg

Gaunts, gaunts and more gaunts!
Levigaunts.jpg

Btw xinng7, i love those helmets, they remind me of Killzone Liberation!!

lapislazuli

wow LOL that swarm of 30 gaunts is just freakin AMAZING.

also, mind telling where you get the transparent rods to suspend the zooanthropes? i am thinking of doing something like that for my assault marines.

xinng7

Wah... so many nids. Nice nids too!!

Are those GW Flying stands which you used?

Spindoc

Hey Lapislazuli,

The rods are GW flying stand bases which comes with some of the flying miniatures. I guess plastic rods will suffice. Actually i prefer not to use rods when i can because they tend to break at the places where they are glued.

Finished a Trygon Prime

TrygonPrime1.jpg

My pair of "Snakes"

TrygonMawloc.jpg

Also converted a Tervigon.

Tervigon1.jpg

Posed according to the Codex artwork!

Tervigon2.jpg

Tervigon3.jpg

Spindoc

Tried out the Cosmos/Nebular scheme on my Wave Serpent. Gives the Eldar a "starry" look.

Waveserpent1.jpg

Waveserpent2.jpg

Waveserpent3.jpg

Waveserpent4.jpg

Quite pleased with the effect.

Spindoc

Re-based all my ELDAR aspect warriors

FIRE DRAGON
DMfiredragon.jpg

HOWLING BANSHEES
DMHowlingbanshee.jpg

WARP SPIDERS
DMWarpspider.jpg

DIRE AVENGERS
DMdireavenger.jpg

DARK REAPERS
DMdarkreaper.jpg

xinng7

Your wave serpent is damn solid lah!!!

Really nice blend of colors. Its damn cool. :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.