for the sake of discussion, let's be objective and not emotional. i would like WP to win more seats, but sadly, not to be.
we can blame the entire thing on "national swing", but let's face it. there was a "national swing" during the last GE as well, with the oppo parties (namely WP) being the ones who benefited. when it benefited WP, we didnt complain. we cannot complain now that it is benefiting PAP.
what has caused this national swing? people concerned that there will be too many oppo voted in? possible, but not very likely imo. there are other deeper reasons (eg. the fact that WP hasnt exactly strengthen their lineup) that resulted in this poor outing in 2015.
If really have to blame opp, then it ish not just one party but all of them lah.
Base on the result can see the die-hard hardcore opp supporter base of 20+% ish still there, the one that swing are maybe the more neutral voters that could have really disappointed with opp.
Seriously you can see the war already lose before the battle even began when some opp are making themselves looking really bad and self-destruct, in-fighting, anyhow change team, anyhow change area of contest, while some also making a fool by saying or propose thing that make average sinkie raise eyebrow. So not surprise if this will drive the neutral voters away.
Think only SDP and WP are the more organized and better one liao, that why still can maintain around 30% in the area they lose in view of the swing.
Maybe moi ish being too naive last time to think multi-party system can work for Sinkapore, Maybe it ish really better to see only 2 or 3 parties in tiny Sinkapore.