Waterbank & Dakota

satomoto

First time buyer, first time observer of Waterbank at Dakota and Dakota Residence. Here are my thoughts.

- River-facing side is great, and the HDB/old airport road side is bad. The latter is noisy and will get worse.

- More foreign expats at Waterbank, perhaps I am wrong but that's my impression.

- I was told that UOL the developer who did Waterbank has good reputation.

Feedback appreciated.

satomoto

For Dakota Residence, looks like during launch in 2008 is around ~1000psf, and now after 12 years about ~1600psf, so a ~60% increase, how would you see that in terms of investment returns? And also there is rent that is not included if not for homestay.

parchiao

You will have to tolerate planes flying overhead until Paya Lebar Airport is moved to Changi. Broadrick Secondary School isn’t that desirable, but Kong Hwa School and Dunman High are. The other thing I dislike about the place is that the bedrooms of opposite apartments face each other. This is what I recall when I visited their show flat. Other than that, the layout for the dining room, living room, balcony and master bedroom are really very nice. Layout of course depends on the unit you are looking at.

satomoto

You will have to tolerate planes flying overhead until Paya Lebar Airport is moved to Changi. Broadrick Secondary School isn’t that desirable, but Kong Hwa School and Dunman High are. The other thing I dislike about the place is that the bedrooms of opposite apartments face each other. This is what I recall when I visited their show flat. Other than that, the layout for the dining room, living room, balcony and master bedroom are really very nice. Layout of course depends on the unit you are looking at.

If you are refering to Dakota Residence (not Waterbank Dakota), then I only saw one unit and the bedroom facing is not desirable as the unit opposite me can see the room diagonally. That's why I am curious to see how the river facing side will be like.

satomoto

Hi again, just wondering if any others have any suggestions / advice for this two condos - Waterbank at Dakota and Dakota Residence?

Gymrat76

Waterbank@Dakota - Went there for viewing. LOTS of Ang moh tenants, rental yield was good. As we were buying for own stay, preferred something else as we felt the place was rather cramped and grounds not that well maintained. Looked at the dual key units which are not in the ideal stacks.. landed view partially blocked by the landed-facing block so you’re literally looking into the other block which is very close. The landed facing units looked much better as they’re unblocked. No bay windows also

satomoto

Waterbank@Dakota - Went there for viewing. LOTS of Ang moh tenants, rental yield was good. As we were buying for own stay, preferred something else as we felt the place was rather cramped and grounds not that well maintained. Looked at the dual key units which are not in the ideal stacks.. landed view partially blocked by the landed-facing block so you’re literally looking into the other block which is very close. The landed facing units looked much better as they’re unblocked. No bay windows also

Indeed when I was there several foreigners were chilling by the pool.

For me I think I will only really consider the river-facing side, the other side which faces Old Airport Road can get very noisy.

satomoto

A bit comparison for two rooms,

Dakota Residence: TOP 2010, 348 units, 1023 sqft, 1450 psf
Waterbank @ Dakota: TOP 2013, 616 units, 883 sqft, 1600 - 1700 psf

For my taste, seems like Dakota Residence is better, less units and better maintained too.

rootz

The place is good. As in it is well connected to all parts of Singapore.

As for the residences, alot of expats for such. But they usually just chilax with each other.

satomoto

The place is good. As in it is well connected to all parts of Singapore.

As for the residences, alot of expats for such. But they usually just chilax with each other.

Indeed, quite a bit of expats there. I think a good mix.

satomoto

I did a tour on a couple of places lately to get to know east side.

Meyerise is my pick to understand Mayer Road, it seems that most condos in Meyer Road is priced higher than its vicinity. Fancier neighbourhood with little public transport (less noise?)

One Amber is my Joo Chiat pick. The condo itself is quite nice, newish and within my range but the supply is large and increasing with upcoming development, I probably need to check out the other Amber condos to learn more.

spcs2020

Meyerise is my pick to understand Mayer Road, it seems that most condos in Meyer Road is priced higher than its vicinity. Fancier neighbourhood with little public transport (less noise?)

One Amber is my Joo Chiat pick. The condo itself is quite nice, newish and within my range but the supply is large and increasing with upcoming development, I probably need to check out the other Amber condos to learn more.

But with frequent upcoming developments, it will help to push up the existing and your condo.

It's like the district 3 Redhill and Queenstown condos - so many coming out very 2-3 years. The prices went up from 14xx psf to 19xx psf without short period of time.

satomoto

Pass by the again to makan at old airport road.

By now it's evident that Dakota Residence is the more atas of two, despite both looks similar. Waterbank @ Dakota is more crammed. I always mix up the two.

I slowly understood why someone said it's a HDB area, these two condos are the only ones among a big area of HDBs and building more, that might be why the desirability is not there for some that wants more prime living.

satomoto

While I don't agree but I can slowly understand that why people w extra $ choose Mayer Road. The whole stretch is more atas and I guess atas people want to live in a atas vibe neighbourhood.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.