Wax for leather products?

Questin

Are there any waxes that can help to water proof and protect leather products?

Can recommend any?

Toby88

u can come down to 310 woodlands @ heeren. selling a small range of leather care products. plus, u can gain some knowledge of taking care of leather and maintaining leather. also, know which what products are suitable for different types of leather.
hope this helps. :)

centauri61

depends on the kind of leather or even the colour of the leather...

if kiwi is not good enough then you might want to try those that come in cream form...

mink oil might change the colour of the leather, so use with care on non-prominent areas first to test... note that mink oil serves to moisten and soften the leather, it won't make it shine in my opinion... seems to do the exact opposite...

please avoid those instant shoe polish that comes in liquid form... steer clear of those!

who has tried using shoe cream and then clear polish? or is that a bad thing to do?

some links below for an interesting read...
http://www.lucyandlolita.com/content/how-waterproof-leather-garments-footwear

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shoe_polish

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mink_oil

"Use the formulas that are free from wax and silicon. These ingredients work against the natural oil that leather has of it’s own. "
http://vintagedesignerhandbagsonline.com/blog/can-kiwi-shoe-polish-protect-vintage-designer-leather-jackets-coats/

kazuki666

kiwi is definitely a nono if u want to protect the leather. Its only gd for no4 boots, that help to cover blemishes and to shine, but it really doesnt do good to the boots...

--Lipsu--

Depending on wat type of leather, you can browse thru 'The Leather Thread' for more infos. I have posted some pics and info previously.

u can come down to 310 woodlands @ heeren. selling a small range of leather care products. plus, u can gain some knowledge of taking care of leather and maintaining leather. also, know which what products are suitable for different types of leather.
hope this helps. :)

2nd on Toby's comment.
Of cos, if you are from local, head down to 310 Woodland, The Heeren. Get there are a group of craftmen there to help you on this :)

centauri61

ok, TS, as i'm also learning, i've posted some questions in the leather thread...

perhaps you can join in...

Questin

Why is the instant shine shoe polish bad? Im using Kiwi instant shoe polish in liquid form...seems to work nicely. I thought kiwi was the best for shoe polish?

I was actually thinking of waterproofing my watch's leather strap...

Heeren? Which shop in there?

centauri61

Why is the instant shine shoe polish bad? Im using Kiwi instant shoe polish in liquid form...seems to work nicely. I thought kiwi was the best for shoe polish?

I was actually thinking of waterproofing my watch's leather strap...

Heeren? Which shop in there?

kiwi instant liquid just puts a layer on top and will just flake off after a while...

normal kiwi paste doesn't do that...

depending on the colour of the strap, maybe try clear polish or mink oil...

but mink oil will darken the colour, i.e. light brown might become a darker shade after applying...

skye..

leather watch strap just use mink oil
can buy from bata about 8/9 bucks
used that for my red leather wallet

Questin

Mink oil will waterproof meh?

The strap is actually light blue in color...

I have used the kiwi paste before but it also has to be re-applied on a constant basis and doesnt look as good as the liquid shine IMHO.

kazuki666

Mink oil will waterproof meh?

The strap is actually light blue in color...

I have used the kiwi paste before but it also has to be re-applied on a constant basis and doesnt look as good as the liquid shine IMHO.

i think it will give some form of waterproofing, coz its a layer of oil after all mah.
But i read that its main function is to soften and "moisturise" the leather

Questin

Hmm but will it really darken the leather...?

Mink oil, what brand should i look at?

centauri61

Hmm but will it really darken the leather...?

Mink oil, what brand should i look at?

just imagine what oil will do to paper... it soaks up n becomes different in colour... similar to what will happen if it's not already black or of a very dark shade...

but if you test it on a non-prominent area and it's ok... then it's ok...

just for strap... bata can already lah...

teraboi

I support the bata mink oil. Used it on my coach bag its squeaky clean now. :S13:

Questin

Tried mink oil, cannot make it leh, doesnt water proof at all, i was washing hand and the strap still got soaked...also cannot feel any difference(strap was already soft and supple anyway...).

sillyb0y

Any reference guide to maintain the leather boot? Anyone can share the product name and brand?

Cos some said need to buy conditioner, wax and cream.. Anyone have the procedures to apply?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.