Welcome to Tainan

genie47

Yesterday for business went to Tainan. If you have not been to Tainan, I highly suggest it. I think Tainan is rather "forgotten" in a lot of itineraries.

I'm on business of course get to be taken around to jiak ho liao. Took HSR from Taoyuan to Tainan. Pretty fast but I must warn you, Tainan HSR is very far from Tainan itself. My business associates got car to bring us into Tainan. Apart from Fort Zeelandia among other things, Tainan's food is much better than Taipei. SERIOUS!

For lunch, went to 度小月擔仔麵(中正旗艦店) Tu Hsiao Yueh(Zhong Zhen). Very nice noodles.

http://4sq.com/aTbdh2

BsLnAlil.jpg

Outside the store which is near the city centre roundabout.

OnJjerll.jpg

The noodles. 100+ years history. Rather small bowl which is good. Means can eat more of other stuff!

ub8BKVFl.jpg

Forgot what is this but is it very good fried stuff.

oGTfvL8.jpg

Their orh luak. Different. Come individually fried instead of a whole mass of starch and eggs.

LCMbetPl.jpg

Famous bean curd store.

http://4sq.com/g18hdC

KJKHt09l.jpg

Red bean and bean curd. Got the handmade texture. Not smooth like pudding.

genie47

They Taiwan's first ever department store and it is the Hayashi Dept Store. They restored the building and now a lot of atas looking stuff inside. Buy if you want but there is a lot of history for this building.

http://4sq.com/eOnrGO

15iKw8ll.jpg

Statement outside. My local business associate says when he was growing up this place was very disused and in a bad state. They didn't know its history until it was spruced up to have this atas look. Check the Foursquare pics for out the outside look. Grand looking building worth the visit for the history if not for some atas souvenirs.

n3hWts7l.jpg

Replica of the original and first elevator in Taiwan. This building was built during the Japanese colonial period. They even got the insides of the original elevator displayed inside. The replica is a modern lift.

S0G4CtTl.jpg

From the top. They really did a lot of work to reproduce the original look. At least the restoration is good.

EfOe29Cl.jpg

The department store reproduced the soft drink that the Taiwanese bought when they were younger. The bottle cap is some kind of puncture device. It is a carbonated gassy soft drink. The shape of the bottle is like that because a glass bead/ball sits on the constricted part of the bottle and the puncture device pushes it down releasing the bottle. Need to drink with straw. You turn it upside down the bead stops the drink from coming out. My associate says last time the drink is cheap when you bring back the bottle to recycle. The cost of the glass bottle is 2/3 of the whole thing. So really worth it. They didn't keep their bottles for memories. I bought one, drank the stuff and bringing it back as a souvenir.

72Wpj9Hl.jpg

The bottle opened. Can see the glass bead/ball.

MFUMdEhl.jpg

2nd floor of the Hayashi Department Store. This window faces the junction. Great photo op!

If you like steamboat this is the place. Very Tainan style. 泰發沙茶爐.

http://4sq.com/LHv5PS

Freshest stuff available. The pork liver is sibeh fresh. Ours from market you see is very dark red. Theirs is bright red! Really different. Taste very good.

ZNPeSVul.jpg

Making sauce Tainan style. Egg yolk goes into the sauce. Add scallions and chillies. The egg white throw into the soup. Have to break the egg and separate the egg. BTW, the eggs are damn fresh!

Et7HKKcl.jpg

Meats haven't go in yet. Just starting. The black and white stuff is the blood cube with the rice. This is dinner before I was driven back to Tainan HSR station.

fireworks79

Tainan is always famous for food.
ya the hsr is rather far from Tainan city. but u can take train back into the city

fireworks79

Taiwan got many fun places to enjoy....

it a pity most ppl only knows Taipei n Taipei n more taipei

calkel20

Wa!
Business suit to jiak lunch.
Serious business.
度小月quite famous one.

genie47

Wa!
Business suit to jiak lunch.
Serious business.
度小月quite famous one.

Was 18° in Tainan. Got chance to wear blazer better wear. Taoyuan is pretty cold these few days. Night plunged to 12-13.

dilphinus

That's the 弹珠汽水. First saw it in Taiwan 21 years ago.

Interestingly, I've been making my hotpot sauce this way (with egg yolk) since ages ago. Don't think it's Tainan or Taiwanese style though!

kitkat2

ub8BKVFl.jpg

Forgot what is this but is it very good fried stuff.

they look like shrimp rolls to me. chou's shrimp roll restaurant is a popular place for these.

i find food in the south tends to be lighter and more seafood based whereas in the north it is more meat heavy and with strong taste.

kaysee

Tainan is always famous for food.
ya the hsr is rather far from Tainan city. but u can take train back into the city

Just bought air tix to kaohsiung, will probably be visiting tainan as I have 7 nights to spare. Will you all recommend a stay over at tainan to explore and also makan or just a day trip? Since the train station back to khh is far from the city, not sure if we can catch the later train back in time.

fireworks79

Just bought air tix to kaohsiung, will probably be visiting tainan as I have 7 nights to spare. Will you all recommend a stay over at tainan to explore and also makan or just a day trip? Since the train station back to khh is far from the city, not sure if we can catch the later train back in time.
the train from khh to Tainan is ard 30min++
if u stay near khh train stn, even u take the last train back, it still ok(but up to u to decide)

Tainan(other than foods) they r famous for historical artefact (Tainan was previously the 1st capital of tw in the olden days

u can visit koxinga shrine, Confucius temple, lin mo niang park(beside anping river) eternal fort, anping fort(behind it there is a old st(jian shi square, chi kanlou(fort provintia)
These fews are within the city, u can tour within 1 day

others place like qigu salt mountain, Water and Fire Homogeny, (水火同源), guanziling hot spring. u need at least 2d1n for touring

kaysee

the train from khh to Tainan is ard 30min++
if u stay near khh train stn, even u take the last train back, it still ok(but up to u to decide)

Tainan(other than foods) they r famous for historical artefact (Tainan was previously the 1st capital of tw in the olden days

u can visit koxinga shrine, Confucius temple, lin mo niang park(beside anping river) eternal fort, anping fort(behind it there is a old st(jian shi square, chi kanlou(fort provintia)
These fews are within the city, u can tour within 1 day

others place like qigu salt mountain, Water and Fire Homogeny, (水火同源), guanziling hot spring. u need at least 2d1n for touring

Those historical buildings seems like my kind of thing. Haha! Hotspring sounds good, but I'm going end of Sept, I think the weather is hot enough. LOL. Looks like I need to stay 2 nights to explore tainan.

There will be trains from taitung right? Planning to do kaohsiung > kenting > taitung > tainan > kaohsiung. Or the other direction also can, depending on the weather. Not sure what's in taitung though. LOL

fireworks79

Those historical buildings seems like my kind of thing. Haha! Hotspring sounds good, but I'm going end of Sept, I think the weather is hot enough. LOL. Looks like I need to stay 2 nights to explore tainan.

There will be trains from taitung right? Planning to do kaohsiung > kenting > taitung > tainan > kaohsiung. Or the other direction also can, depending on the weather. Not sure what's in taitung though. LOL
the hot spring is mud spring....whole world think only jp, tw haf

Tainan khh kenting fangliao taitung(kenting got no train) the most south stn is at fangliao, so u can take train from fangliao to taitung OR

taitung fangliao kenting khh Tainan

taitung is very hot n backwards place but oso the best for natural
u can go duoliang train stn(need book cab cos the stn is out of nowhere, n u need to look out for the train timing)
taitung go the mr brown ave, chishang bento (
悟饕池上饭包)
best u book cab or own drive, drive along the Provincial Highway No.11(enjoy the coastal scenery)

alternatives, u can take ferry go green island or orchid island. green island ofter u the underwater seabed hot spring(whole world only jp, tw n Italy haf)
u can soak urself in the hot spring beside pacific ocean n enjoy the beautiful scenery

for orchid island, u can ask calkel, cos he went there b4. it is oso a very nice place with the aboriginal ppl. end sept I not sure if the flying fish festival had ended anot

kaysee

the hot spring is mud spring....whole world think only jp, tw haf

Tainan khh kenting fangliao taitung(kenting got no train) the most south stn is at fangliao, so u can take train from fangliao to taitung OR

taitung fangliao kenting khh Tainan

taitung is very hot n backwards place but oso the best for natural
u can go duoliang train stn(need book cab cos the stn is out of nowhere, n u need to look out for the train timing)
taitung go the mr brown ave, chishang bento (
悟饕池上饭包)
best u book cab or own drive, drive along the Provincial Highway No.11(enjoy the coastal scenery)

alternatives, u can take ferry go green island or orchid island. green island ofter u the underwater seabed hot spring(whole world only jp, tw n Italy haf)
u can soak urself in the hot spring beside pacific ocean n enjoy the beautiful scenery

for orchid island, u can ask calkel, cos he went there b4. it is oso a very nice place with the aboriginal ppl. end sept I not sure if the flying fish festival had ended anot

wah u seem like an expert in taiwan. LOL. no bro, what i meant was i will travel to taitung from kenting by bus (i think there is bus from kenting to taitung?). Like no point travelling back to KHH then train up to taitung, might as well bus if they have. Then after touring taitung (go either green island or orchird island) i will head to tainan by train.

calkel20

wah u seem like an expert in taiwan. LOL. no bro, what i meant was i will travel to taitung from kenting by bus (i think there is bus from kenting to taitung?). Like no point travelling back to KHH then train up to taitung, might as well bus if they have. Then after touring taitung (go either green island or orchird island) i will head to tainan by train.

No mattervhow you go also need to hit back to khh. Plan first then chat later.
Now only March.
Fish season over liao." By then.

fireworks79

iirc, there is no bus from kenting to taitung. (not too sure cos I many yrs didn't return to kenting liao)
n like wat I mentioned the nearest train stn is at fangliao(same as wat u mentioned, no point travel all the way up to khh den travel over to taitung)

I no expert la...I just spend more time travelling in Taiwan, exploring diff parts n intro to everyone only

kitkat2

don't think there is direct bus.

but, kingbus has 4 buses per day from kaohsiung to taitung that traverse highway 9. from kenting, you could go north to where highway 9 begin and wait for bus there.

check kingbus website for schedule, route and fare information. check google map for highway 9.

http://www.kingbus.com.tw/ticketPriceResult.php?sid=27

only 4 buses per day, the schedule might not be ideal to you.

calkel20

don't think there is direct bus.

but, kingbus has 4 buses per day from kaohsiung to taitung that traverse highway 9. from kenting, you could go north to where highway 9 begin and wait for bus there.

check kingbus website for schedule, route and fare information. check google map for highway 9.

http://www.kingbus.com.tw/ticketPriceResult.php?sid=27

only 4 buses per day, the schedule might not be ideal to you.

Goodness me 3:30h!
Better off taking trains.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.