What and how to wear to fight the Korea Winter

hi guys. am going to korea this year end till early jan and read about the harsh winter condition after booking ( only wanted to see snow nv thought much)

I've nv been to cold winter countries that's gonna be sub zero minus degrees so am abit worried of what type of winter wear I should buy cos I don't wanna fall sick.

saw uniqlo heat tech and extra warm. also saw universal traveller got thermal wear 3 layer for different degrees but abit ex ah.
heard need snow cap and gloves also ah? winter boots also?

feeling overwhelmed by the stuffs needed. or should I just go seoul and buy? but I read many advise to at least wear basic set first then go there buy. but I don't really wanna spend alot of money on winter wear as well.

sorry for ranting but would appreciate the advises given! TIA!

shorty_monkey

hi guys. am going to korea this year end till early jan and read about the harsh winter condition after booking ( only wanted to see snow nv thought much)

I've nv been to cold winter countries that's gonna be sub zero minus degrees so am abit worried of what type of winter wear I should buy cos I don't wanna fall sick.

saw uniqlo heat tech and extra warm. also saw universal traveller got thermal wear 3 layer for different degrees but abit ex ah.

feeling overwhelmed by the stuffs needed. or should I just go seoul and buy? but I read many advise to at least wear basic set first then go there buy. but I don't really wanna spend alot of money on winter wear as well.

Uniqlo now coming out with ultra warm heat tech~ But not sure when SG will have it... in Dec I'm planning to wear extra warmth heat tech plus a sweater plus a winter jacket and normal Adidas shoes. Some people say need gloves and neck scarf... but I plan to buy it there.. should be nicer and cheaper than SG!

In January you might need boots and heat pads.

what88

Uniqlo now coming out with ultra warm heat tech~ But not sure when SG will have it... in Dec I'm planning to wear extra warmth heat tech plus a sweater plus a winter jacket and normal Adidas shoes. Some people say need gloves and neck scarf... but I plan to buy it there.. should be nicer and cheaper than SG!

In January you might need boots and heat pads.

The Ultra Warm heat tech is available in Singapore; S$29.90 per piece. ;)

dede1217

Went to hong kong during mid jan
the weather is minus 5 degree ...

wore 1 clothes, 2 jackets, 2 pants ...
was super cold ...

went to some pasar malam stores, bought thick jacket for about 40sgd each .

God Of Pcc

Well,i do not know which part of korea u going but u can always tried those tax free shops from various airports

registeredname

It's gonna be a very harsh winter this year. 1st Nov already subzero, freezing my ass off.

Personally the uniqlo heatech innerwear doesn't help me much. My legs and feet are pretty immune to cold so I just wear a normal pair of pants (slim fit). Neck is my weakest spot so I tend to wrap it up with a thick layer of scarf. I also don't like the puffy jackets so I layer my clothes, but the puffy jackets are actually the best for winter as it traps your body heat inside.

For peak winter I wear:

top: long sleeves tshirt, long sleeves shirt, cardigan, coat, scarf around neck
bottom: normal slim fit pants
feet: normal leather shoes
no gloves as I don't like the inconvenience

If it's your first winter, I'd suggest you go with the puffy jacket. Korea winter is very harsh and once the wind blows no matter how many layers you have you'll tremble. The puffy jacket will at least have some wind resistance. For shoes, good to have boots with winter soles to prevent slipping. The "black ice" is very slippery and it's common to see people slipping during winter.

what88

It's gonna be a very harsh winter this year. 1st Nov already subzero, freezing my ass off.

Personally the uniqlo heatech innerwear doesn't help me much. My legs and feet are pretty immune to cold so I just wear a normal pair of pants (slim fit). Neck is my weakest spot so I tend to wrap it up with a thick layer of scarf. I also don't like the puffy jackets so I layer my clothes, but the puffy jackets are actually the best for winter as it traps your body heat inside.

For peak winter I wear:

top: long sleeves tshirt, long sleeves shirt, cardigan, coat, scarf around neck
bottom: normal slim fit pants
feet: normal leather shoes
no gloves as I don't like the inconvenience

If it's your first winter, I'd suggest you go with the puffy jacket. Korea winter is very harsh and once the wind blows no matter how many layers you have you'll tremble. The puffy jacket will at least have some wind resistance. For shoes, good to have boots with winter soles to prevent slipping. The "black ice" is very slippery and it's common to see people slipping during winter.

Your Uniqlo heatech is normal or extra warm type?

ilovetoeat

I'm in Korea. Sub 3 degrees, I'm wearing a shirt with sweater and a down jacket. Shoe is just normal running shoes.

What you need be afraid of is the wind. Cover your face (buy a mask), ears and hands and you'll be fine.

The winter jackets here though are dirt cheap compared to SG. If you do not have a down jacket, layer 3 layers then faster run to outlet to buy, the down jackets here are dirt cheap! I recommend the gasan digital complex station outlets.

In between malls won't die one the temp. 3 degrees I'm still wearing shorts in my own room lol

hi everyone! thanks for all the advises! hard to quote and reply by one by one but I read them!

I am only going seoul, and intend to go everland or namI island too.

I got one down jacket but my bf say too thin I sure cannot tahan. I don't really wanna spend alot on winter clothes in sg.

I saw uniqlo extra warm heat tech 24.90 each. intend to buy and layer with shirt and sweater and jacket. then like some fellow hwz peep say, tahan den go there buy should be cheap ah. but i staying myeondong dunno how cheap also.

winter boots for black ice? wah I thinking wear high cut shoes can anot sia.

will the snowfall in seoul be very high? anw went there in previous yrs?

I heard now seoul alr single digit deg omg.

ilovetoeat

hi everyone! thanks for all the advises! hard to quote and reply by one by one but I read them!

I got one down jacket but my bf say too thin I sure cannot tahan. I don't really wanna spend alot on winter clothes in sg.

I saw uniqlo extra warm heat tech 24.90 each. intend to buy and layer with shirt and sweater and jacket. then like some fellow hwz peep say, tahan den go there buy should be cheap ah. but i staying myeondong dunno how cheap also.

Yes I'm in seoul, yesterday was negative 3. But there is no snow. Don't worry, snow is kind of rare in Seoul unless you are heading to the mountains. Go to the outlets to look for cheap winter jackets. Gasan digital complex station Mario outlet or w mall is a good location. Jackets go for like 59k krw or even lower.

Even branded like adidas etc go for 120k krw only.

Man v.1

La vie n’est pas juste;104522011 said:

I'm also going to Seoul in early Jan but staying at DDM. I've already bought some winter wear from sg and also planning to buy some over in Seoul. Don't buy at Myeongdong. Probably try to buy at Dongdaemun better and cheaper.
I already bought heat tech and puffy jacket for my wife from Decathlon. Much cheaper than Uniqlo. Bought highcut winter boots from Lazada.

dleodleo

This is what we wear (2 adults and 2 children)- uniqlo heat tech top + thermo wear (top & bottom) from Qoo10 + sweater, long pants + scarves and cheap down jacket. Daiso winter socks and gloves, sports shoes or boots during our December trip in 2015. We survived our 13 days Korea trip with that.

Of course we feel cold especially the first few days, but most of the time we are in indoor thus not so bad, only at Gyeongbokgung and Everland theme park which are outdoor we felt very cold. There are heater indoor and in public transport.

I went myeongdong and bought a winter tights in a shop opp H&M at 5000 won or 10000won (i forget liao should be 10000won), To me Myeongdong nothing much to shop mostly skincare products but alot of food.

After a few days, your body will get immune to the cold. The most when you feel cold, run into any shop for the heater.

By the way, it snowed on 21 and 26 December during our trip. My friend experience snow in Seoul in late November and early december too.

dleodleo

La vie n’est pas juste;104504437 said:

I bought winter hat, gloves, socks and ear muffs from Daiso wahhahaahahaha.

I also bought the heat pads from Daiso too. I find them not very warm. End up we seldom use. Buy from those winter wear shop better, their heat pads are much warmer.

My uniqlo heat tech top dun work for us. Perhaps your extra warm heat tech might work for you.

Tassel

Beside the clothing....

1) Scarf is a must.... to protect your neck and face and maybe ears.
2) Ear muff.... if your scarf or hat/cap/Beanies cant cover your ears... better to it it. Ur ears will b exposed to the wind... which is the killer
3) Cap/hat/Beanies - good to have....esp if your clothes does not come with hood else you might headache fr the cold....

Clescur

Think U***** brand too expensive, I saw a few brand like Top10 in Korea that sells Real Goose down feather jacket ( ight jacket ) at 69,000 won and rather fashionable. Long to knee is a bit more ex but i thought not bad. The store I saw was at Myeondong. Another brand is 8second. They have some sales on going so worth to buy.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.