What Do I Do?

soneat

1. Quit your smoking - Must.
2 . Switch to HDB public rental - Asap.
3. Cut down unnecessary expenses (e.g. mobile plan, choose the most appropriate/cheapest).
4. Try not to take any more loans. Manage your expenses within your means.

Next step is really to fix your major expense (rental). Don't drag. Do it asap.

chuanz

Have your dad tried to approach Tzu Chi (http://www.tzuchi.org.sg/eng/index.php)? I am not affiliated with them but I do have a colleague who volunteer with them doing house visits and aid assessment. I am not sure if they are able to help out in your dad's situation but it's another avenue if haven't tried before.

All the best.

01asdf

If he's paying credit loans and card debts still have you considered contacting credit counseling singapore?

They may be able to help work out a more reasonable repayment schedule.

mccmmm

Kneels down n cry is the only way through cos you guys talk with prides with the angle

bibu00

Kneels down n cry is the only way through cos you guys talk with prides with the angle

Hey this isnt edmw. Gtfo.
I respect ts for putting in effort to alleviate his financial situation. Unlike most singaporean whos in debt but prefer to save face. http://blog.moneysmart.sg/opinion/why-are-singaporeans-who-are-heavily-in-debt-refusing-to-seek-help/
You and happygirl should really go back to edmw for your dose of "happy hormones", because you add no value to the conversation.

StragenKreuss

TS, your first problem should be to cut expenses. Anyway both you and your dad can share one rental room instead of each paying your own? Think it will be cheaper if shared. Next, any reasons why you are earning low income? You may have to juggle multiple jobs to handle money issue. As much as I would like to think gov agencies can help, I'll say do your utmost first to settle things on your end. It's going to take a lot of sacrifice on your part. I've been through something similar.

RetRace

This is uncalled for

That aside TS, I agreed with what most said. Quit your smoking as I think it can save a substantial amount of money. Also you mentioned you're learning coding? Good!
Spend a bit more time, pick up python, java, swift and then do some freelance projects. Don't be surprised they can give you a few hundreds to a few thousands a month if you're good and fast.

Cheers

Sent from Singapore using GAGT

nemo88

Not to defend the OP's smoking habit - but smoking is also an appetite suppressant. Sometimes it's double comfort as it gives a person something to 'do', plus keeps them from feeling hungry. That said at the price of cigarettes in SG - something the OP should consider at least cutting back.

chuanz

Not to defend the OP's smoking habit - but smoking is also an appetite suppressant. Sometimes it's double comfort as it gives a person something to 'do', plus keeps them from feeling hungry. That said at the price of cigarettes in SG - something the OP should consider at least cutting back.

One pack is like.. $10-15? dunno coz I dun smoke... A loaf of bread $2.40-$3
If need something to "do", just stuff white bread... confirm keep from feeling hungry too :s13::s13:

soneat

One pack is like.. $10-15? dunno coz I dun smoke... A loaf of bread $2.40-$3
If need something to "do", just stuff white bread... confirm keep from feeling hungry too :s13::s13:
Eat wholemeal bread...can last longer. =)

TS can and should do many things to improve his and his dad's situation.
The most pressing need is to rationalize his expenses (esp rental and smoking).

kyteo79

Happygirlzz

maybe they are young kids... and abit insensitive..

forgive them ..

i have realised theres a better place to post my posts and comments... eat drink man woman.. as for money mind posts, need to be serious abit.. okay ..

i suggest TS to really clear up credit card debts, cuz tt one interest really very high..
quit smoking and do gym, sports etc.. live a healthier life and dont burn money on cigg..

StragenKreuss

i have realised theres a better place to post my posts and comments... eat drink man woman.. as for money mind posts, need to be serious abit.. okay ..

i suggest TS to really clear up credit card debts, cuz tt one interest really very high..
quit smoking and do gym, sports etc.. live a healthier life and dont burn money on cigg..

Your credibility is kinda poor in giving advice to clear credit card debts...

Perisher

I have already given her a warning, let's not go off topic. Thank.

alexchia01

Exercise is a better alternative than smoking. In fact, I think you'll feel much better after exercising than smoking and give you clearer mind.

It's better to eat something than using smoking to suppress hunger. In the long-term bad for health.

I think cutting back on a pack of cigarette can compensate for 3 meals of chicken rice.

makav31i

Actually why did TS not stay with his father previously? Does your father have enough money in his CPF? Is he under the minimum sum or cpf life scheme?Does TS have any other siblings?

silencedmemories

Hi guys, just to update you guys. So far its been a rollercoaster of a night for me, today, schedule kinda tight abit. But so far things are looking very bright. Manage to secure a 2nd job. And about rental issue so far so good, will take the advice about cutting back on smoking, about the coding part i'll try find something online for a part time job. I'll update you guys again when things are abit calm. As i have to rush back and forth to help my dad out. You guys are like the hero's of the net. Thank you so much all. Your help goes a long way

Mecisteus

I presume you don't have any other siblings. Both of you have to look after each other and I think you have to take the bigger responsibilities as you are younger and stronger. Just cut down on the unnecessary expenses.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.