What do you learn after pap's landslide win?

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Yuripa

Empty vessels makes the loudest noise

No amount of hoo haa opposition party makes during rallies

Regardless of rally size the oppo has

We still have alot more voters who silent vote for ppap

Anyway, change won't be so soon

I think need another 30 years or more before we can see a shift in power

Until then ppap 就 ppap mybfd

More good years ahead

jq75

I'll actually say there's progress, even if it's only a little, for WP at least.

They fought good fights in Punggol and Tampines. Can really felt the desperation from the Pappies the last week. Gave them a hell of a scare.

But it was not enough. I hope WP can continue to consolidate and develop further.

As for the rest of the parties, convert to social clubs lah. Don't waste your deposit like this, and dun waste us Sinkies time. I could have taken a Friday leave and had a long weekend at JB. o_O :LOL:
100% agree with u

Can Or Not

If you listen to what oppositions says, people do vote for quality opposition.

Those who not serious and talk nonsense, you can see nobody wants to vote for them.

PAP still have good reasons to do their thing. Despite the missteps.

forests_gump

Ts missed out 1 very major pt: they care about if their property huat big (despite the expense of their next gen children endup with expensive public housing).

Checkyrmed

The election result was entirely predictable, returning us to the political climate of ten to fifteen years ago, especially since many have forgotten that the previous election was the last one to truly represent the will of Singaporeans.

SCHNOTTZ

I already learned this in GE2015, that rally size does not translate to votes, and to never ever underestimate the power of silent majority. I'm surprised that people here are surprised. Did some of you not follow GE2015?!

I already made my prediction even before parliament dissolved (then I deleted the post to avoid getting into trouble during campaign period), I said PSP will lose bigger this time, and their NCMP seats. PAP will win big big, and if WP can hold onto their existing seats, can arm chio already, and WP did exactly that, but with bigger margin of victory in Sengkang GRC and Hougang SMC, while Aljunied GRC dropped a bit.

Kudos to WP for a hard fought campaign, despite the national swing towards the PAP, they withstood it, unlike in GE2015 where WP got screwed hard by the PAP swing. Hope WP will be encouraged by the results and keep on fighting. This GE is just not theirs to win as it is a pro-incumbent year thanks to the man in my profile pic.

campoix

There are many many political apathetic people in the world, not just Singapore. They don't give a damn about politics, they are more concerned about when to go to Japan for holidays and what Netflix shows available.

standarture

Why people keep using such negative words. No wonder lose la. WP result is damn damn good already. My predictions were quite accurate. No flipping but tight fight.

Nickypigu

Means SG want diversity in parliament but not clowns in parliament. If you contest you should aim to win and not to just participate to give people a choice. Thank you. NSP, PAR, PPP and SUP for donating $364500 in election deposit. I think this is the largest donation in history. Main stream media should interview them on donation on election deposits. Really lose face when independent also do better than you.

jadedRomeo

I actually think it's encouraging.
Ppl will vote for credible opposition. I think SG is only big enough for max 3 parties to exist.

I'm heartened that the newer gen Z are taking more interest. In fact, I think more newer citizens will actually favour the opposition.

tqx

For me, i learn that people don't care about influx, fairness, representation in parliament.
They don't care about nric saga, income-allianz saga, bully using cantonese to mock opponent.
They don't care about useless mayors, negative politics, ncm being a sellout.

They just care about... cdc vouchers.

Edmw and reddit are just echo chambers..

How about you? What relegation, how ever disappointing, do you realise?

Pls discuss civilly.

It shows the fact that Singaporeans are getting more highly educated and will not vote opposition just for the sake of opposing.

This is why you see joker parties like SDA , PAR, PPP , RDU, NSP , SPP etc get LOL level of votes pulling up the national vote average.

If you just look at WP , they actually did quite well. Even Chee also did quite well , although I personally don't like him ever since he backstab CST.

OddEye

I learn
1. West side of Singapore don welcome opposition
2. Chee soon Juan image has improved to an extent that he could get a good margin in an area he hardly walked the ground
3. New citizens break the election rules is ok
4. It is okay to be not accountable as long as you are pap
5. Singaporeans still do not dare to lose ministers in grc generally
6. Ppp and nsp has almost zero support

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.