What do you learn after pap's landslide win?

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

dry_county

For me, i learn that people don't care about influx, fairness, representation in parliament.
They don't care about nric saga, income-allianz saga, bully using cantonese to mock opponent.
They don't care about useless mayors, negative politics, ncm being a sellout.

They just care about... cdc vouchers.

Edmw and reddit are just echo chambers..

How about you? What relegation, how ever disappointing, do you realise?

Pls discuss civilly.
Agree completely. Wasted my time caring about these people. :(

mewmew

gst 9% ish peanuts, daft sinkie like running on the rat mill with elites spectating in joy

dambio

For me, i learn that people don't care about influx, fairness, representation in parliament.
They don't care about nric saga, income-allianz saga, bully using cantonese to mock opponent.

Pls discuss civilly.
They dun care abt their jobs being taken by foreigners, dun care abt being oppressed n bullied n lord over by foreigners in their own country too.

TheITGuy

I learn that sinkies is suicidal, and they never learn. I hope MIW will continue to screw with sinkies life forecer and ever more.

Godeau

All the large crowds from videos and pictures during campaigning means nothing when the silent majority is way, way larger than any of the crowds combined

focus1974

Pls discuss civilly.

Since 2011, I have learnt sinkies are willing employees in the company.
So, I set out to enrich myself and go along with the flow.
I am proud to say .. I have succeeded! :)

We can rant and feel injust for how policies are treating the poor. .. or how it could have been better.
but never forget we owe a living to ourselves and family.
Dont make this who rules thing suck the energy and positivity out of our lives.

Everyone voted for it. We have to respect democracy. even if we feel the changing of boudaries and wat nots are unfair.'

But I am glad ..can still come EDMW rant and bi.tch about it. hehe
胜者王侯败者寇
The full meaning signifies that those who emerge victorious are elevated to positions of power and legitimacy, their actions are justified, and their narrative becomes the accepted history. Conversely, the vanquished areEpithet卑称为 thieves, bandits, or criminals, their perspectives are disregarded, and they are often relegated to obscurity or remembered negatively.

This saying strongly reflects the concept that history, and indeed the immediate aftermath of any conflict or competition, is largely shaped and told by those who win, effectively erasing or discrediting the contributions and perspectives of those who lose.

fulaien

if you compare pap votes directly to wp votes....it is not landslide at all.....you can blame all the mosquito parties but at least you get to vote because of them
Actually if no mosquitos, there will be like multiple walkovers.

Maybe less than 10 grc/smc can vote.

And I'm sure people will feel more dutied to vote for opposition since they are the minority who can change the course of our future.

Eliwood

Sinkies generally have comfortable lives and PAP is a responsive govt, so no surprise that they win..

But sinkies also know better to have chk and balance by credible oppo, hence gd quality oppo generally had decent showing.

VEF888

They only care about themselves.
As long as they are rich, they don't want shift in power to rock the boat.
Maintain status quo. They continue to enjoy life. They don't care about the fellow men.

Only if pap screw up badly (think major depression, or hyper inflation or gov leeched reserves until dry dry ) then they will join u.

Else forget it

lol, isn't that the basis everyone should vote on? if majority having the good life, isn't that reason enough to
stay status quo?

else how in the world do you know whether your neighbour's level of success is due to luck, hard work or shady hustle?

Cereal_Time

The old tactics of how gahmen can hold on to power still applies to new generation.
No. They won't.

More tech savvy and usage of social media will show the history of candidates. Just need more veterans to bring awareness and clear the fog/wool over eyes.

Fire Phoenix

I think sgreans r very materialistic n politically disinterested. As long as they r living ok they don really care about the poor ppl or probs around them or even a traitor in our country. It’s a sad fact tat SG has evolved into SG Inc cum ostrich society over these years. It will only b an international hub rather than a country in the future liao. Only the rich can stay n the poor will rot n die like rats in their house.

KcSpider

I'll actually say there's progress, even if it's only a little, for WP at least.

Means SG want diversity in parliament but not clowns in parliament. ... Really lose face when independent also do better than you.

I actually think it's encouraging.
Ppl will vote for credible opposition. I think SG is only big enough for max 3 parties to exist.

Is true, WP consolidated their areas although never gain anything new. And when independent do better than some parties, the parties really need to see how come they lost credibility. Some of their candidates are joke candidates.

WP and SDP are both old parties and they did well. But moi think Dr Chee from SDP cannot make it. Last time Chiam See Tong left SDP because of him. After CST left, SDP stopped winning. Dr Chee need to step down and let someone else take over the leadership.

And SDP need to show it can keep getting more young and respectable candidates like WP.

Oppo rallies crowd does not represent anything

Suggest next election WP supporters should not gate crash rallies held outside their area.

All the large crowds from videos and pictures during campaigning means nothing when the silent majority is way, way larger than any of the crowds combined

WP holds only 1 rally a night, and then all their candidates go to all the rallies. So all the supporters also go to all WP rallies. Like that their crowds look big and exciting. But their vote share stay the same, because it's always the same voter base.

PAP can hold many rallies a night around the island, so all their supporters spread out throughout the island. Look like smaller crowd lor.

krikering

Pls discuss civilly.
If you firsthand see their grassroots at play at the different nomination centres, you know how scary their entire machinery is. At Kong Hwa school, they had like a 100+ battalion with PAP Flags and wearing white shirts, etc.
They had Walkie-talkies and vehicles were parked outside of the school waiting to transport their candidates.

PAP Grassroots, Data available to them but withheld to opposition + Main Stream Media with all the different political bodies just ensures the PAP's visibility is much higher than the opposition counterparts and that the fearmongering tactics work. Don't forget all the chicken wing gestures, etc.

WP not stupid, there was a reason why they played so conservatively this GE.
Everybody was shocked at them not contesting MP-BH and PS/SL not venturing out.

Now we know the reason(s) why.

jimboyboy

WP needs to have a superstar in next election, so that the mainstream media are forced to give him or her some good coverage. That's the fastest way to reach out to the silent majority.

yokine3a

I think GST too low for them to care. It needs to reach 20% to feel the punch.
Dun think too high of sheep.

I saw someone asked another pap supporter online, he used 15% gst, that guy replied he would also support becos pap can use this money to improve infrastructure to help poor ppl.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.