What is the ideal length to stead before merrying?

• More than 1 year

Votes: 9 23.7%
  • More than 3 years

Votes: 13 34.2%
  • More than 5 years

Votes: 4 10.5%
  • More than 8 years

Votes: 1 2.6%
  • Jitao meet, jitao merry, tomoro pika. Semo weeks, month, years?!

Votes: 11 28.9%

• Total voters

MoeLanYong

9 years tgt then married.
Coz we were students when we met.
Wait until graduated, earn money and paid off tuition fees, settled housing problem, then merry.

Steady. Moi also partorlogy 9 years then merried. Will you agree such marriages tend to last because you know so much about your other half nothing surprises you?

XiaoChilli

Steady. Moi also partorlogy 9 years then merried. Will you agree such marriages tend to last because you know so much about your other half nothing surprises you?
If been thru thick n thin then most likely will last cz already seen u at your worst..

人造人16 号

my last gf, we stead less then 1 week already start merrying liao whenever her parents are at work

that time she was a poly XMM, so on days when her lessons starts in the afternoon, i will sneak into her house in the mornings lol

Nuclear Boy

Ideal length:
Go on a 2-week overseas trip together, see each other's worst ugly sides appear, then decide if you can accept them after the end of the trip.

Strong bonds is forged in adversity. Likewise, bad traits will break untested ones in the same adversity.

PhantomOpera

I knew my husband for 7 years (in school) before starting dating for 3 years, then got married. Happily married for 20 years now.

Nuclear Boy

Wait until graduated, earn money and paid off tuition fees, settled housing problem, then merry.

My parents... they "dated" for more than 10 years, being lukewarm and kinda hated each other the whole time, yet still get married and give birth to me. I feel like a war victim sometimes (oftentimes) being stuck with their incessant and childish arguments daily. My presence is the pinnacle of their mistakes, so much so that I wonder if they brought me into the world to inflict mental suffering on me.

Mum still can grumble repeatedly (like she lost her memory of having talked to me about it) on the bad points of my father. My forever answer to her:
images

I swear never to marry, after seeing such a trainwreck that are my parents. Time really does not help when stupidity is involved, as I learnt.

XiaoChilli

My parents... they "dated" for more than 10 years, being lukewarm and kinda hated each other the whole time, yet still get married and give birth to me. I feel like a war victim sometimes (oftentimes) being stuck with their incessant and childish arguments daily. My presence is the pinnacle of their mistakes, so much so that I wonder if they brought me into the world to inflict mental suffering on me.

Mum still can grumble repeatedly (like she lost her memory of having talked to me about it) on the bad points of my father. My forever answer to her:
images

I swear never to marry, after seeing such a trainwreck that are my parents. Time really does not help when stupidity is involved, as I learnt.

My parents also quarrel everytime (in front of my sibling n me) esp when my hubby not around. Sometimes even in front of him. Sometimes in the public also. I would feel embarassed in public if my dad had do so in public.
I take my dad as negative example to whom I would marry. As he is hot tempered I chose someone whos a gentleman and even tempered. Magnanimous, wont get worked up over petty issues. Loving, dont hold grudges towards ppl.
However I still love my dad and even though I dont really like his personality he and my mum has brought me up and financed my education. Otherwise how would I have met my other half and be tgt with him.

Wu-Han Clan

1-2 yrs still can wayang... 3rd yr you see true colours.... limpei speak from experience... 3rd yr i start scolding all my gfs dumb when they do stupid thing.... 1-2 yrs still can tong and say "dont do tt next time"... bt they dont learn anything when you nice... so by 3rd yr i buay tahan liaoo... sai happen must scold her upside down then they finally learn... nw you can oso see her true colours when fight like tt

MoeLanYong

My parents also quarrel everytime (in front of my sibling n me) esp when my hubby not around. Sometimes even in front of him. Sometimes in the public also. I would feel embarassed in public if my dad had do so in public.
I take my dad as negative example to whom I would marry. As he is hot tempered I chose someone whos a gentleman and even tempered. Magnanimous, wont get worked up over petty issues. Loving, dont hold grudges towards ppl.
However I still love my dad and even though I dont really like his personality he and my mum has brought me up and financed my education. Otherwise how would I have met my other half and be tgt with him.

Kudos 👏
I like what you wrote.
Negative example
I use my dad as a negative example of what NOT to do in life.
Where he failed, I purposely want to succeed in it.
He is hot tempered and violent
I conditioned myself to be calm and kind.
He failed as a parent.
I purposely must succeed as one.... etc
You and me have alot in common.

Godeau

Steady around 2 years to get past the puppy love duration, that's when you know your partner is the one; you can start planning to bto together and also allocate your financials for wedding and honey moon, so imo anytime between 2 to up to 6-7 years to settle down(just in time for bto keys).

MoeLanYong

Steady around 2 years to get past the puppy love duration, that's when you know your partner is the one; you can start planning to bto together and also allocate your financials for wedding and honey moon, so imo anytime between 2 to up to 6-7 years to settle down(just in time for bto keys).

You talkin from experience or from theory?

Funny. I neh talk to my gf about bto for 9 years of stead. Didnt let all these financial stuff get into the way. How you know she is the one?? Neither of us brought it up. When I finally decided she was the one, then I apply EC. Got it in like a few months.

Godeau

You talkin from experience or from theory?

Funny. I neh talk to my gf about bto for 9 years of stead. Didnt let all these financial stuff get into the way. How you know she is the one?? Neither of us brought it up. When I finally decided she was the one, then I apply EC. Got it in like a few months.
Experience lah. I dated almost 3 years before tying the knot. Now you expect youngsters to get a EC in a few months? Assuming from what you shared, your era don't even have bto right? Just fill up form and select flat only.

Now, the govt expects people to plan ahead, wayyyy ahead. Think about it, if a bto takes up to five years to be ready, that means the couple has already known each other(and steady) for at least the same duration; can't be two random strangers suddenly decide to get together to bto right? I mean not impossible, but still lol.

Notbbfa

I knew my husband for 7 years (in school) before starting dating for 3 years, then got married. Happily married for 20 years now.
how did you know he is the one for you?

PhantomOpera

how did you know he is the one for you?
Didn’t think so much when young. In love, dated then decided to marry. Marriage is often a leap of faith and a stroke of luck. You never know what future has in store for you. But overall, your partner has to be someone with right values, be responsible and willing to work with you to solve problems.

EJB

If you got use rubber, then can stead as long as you want, if never, then tummy got bump, then you LL liao, asap.

iCubes

I think time alone is not enough to make a decision. It depends on how often the couple meets and the activities they do. Ideally, activities should include meeting each other friends and family often (usually they can read the person better than you), cohabiting together, planning finances, going through big decisions together. These things can help you determine compatiability much better.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.