What is the trigger point to leave your job?

Computeron

say this, donno u all believe anot...
I worked in this co. till buei tahan, I go temple pray for a new job..
next day my ex colleague called me, ask me want come back, I took a slight pay cut n joined them... n work for 5 yrs with them

articland05

Team Lead. There is a strange culture in my organization where head of dept does not talk directly to the working group, only to Team Lead (aka Manager)

we are all in the same office, same floor & etc.
because the head want to shield himself from the lower ses guys...this grp make the most noise so using the lead to shield himself is the best

peterlim95

next day my ex colleague called me, ask me want come back, I took a slight pay cut n joined them... n work for 5 yrs with them
Wow god really answered ur prayers 🙏

peterlim95

If you are doing a job that you do not hve much passion ? Got a friend who quit 6 months into his job as it doesn’t meet his requirements and passion .

tomsss

If you are doing a job that you do not hve much passion ? Got a friend who quit 6 months into his job as it doesn’t meet his requirements and passion .
quit because not challenging enough?

I hear stories of ppl jump ship, citing reasons such as "to expand skills and knowledge" or "take up new roles and responsibilities / new challenges"

sure bo? not because of salary and toxic environment/people meh

jeffprobst

Team Lead. There is a strange culture in my organization where head of dept does not talk directly to the working group, only to Team Lead (aka Manager)

we are all in the same office, same floor & etc.
Same company I mentioned earlier. The Head of Department was completely disconnected from the working level. She barely spoke to the actual working group, choosing instead to communicate only through her direct reports and those she clearly favoured. On the rare occasion she did speak to the rest of us, it was always in a condescending tone, like she was doing us a favour just by acknowledging our existence, nose pointed high like we were beneath her.

The only time she made an effort to “engage” the team was during the annual employee survey period, just to boost the department's ESS score and make herself look good. Honestly, she was a complete failure as a leader. And the irony? She came from a government agency and yet, you'd think someone from that background would at least know how to manage people or play internal politics better. But even that she couldn’t get right.

At events with senior management, she acted like a court eunuch, running around, fawning, carrying the senior leaders’ metaphorical balls. Zero integrity, just full-on bootlicking.

ninjaghost

suddenly my head shake gently left and right, then dance around a coconut tree 🕺🌴💃

apple459721

Toxic colleague

msia, india & myanmar colleagues shouting arguments

but they don’t really shout at local singaporean 😂

jeffprobst

wah. i do the same but think the deities gave up on me. :crazy:

V-FORTY

company have two boss
two boss macam no communication with each other
small boss small heart eye

jeffprobst

Toxic colleague

msia, india & myanmar colleagues shouting arguments
In the same company I mentioned earlier, it was almost a weekly occurrence, or at least whenever I had to attend meetings with them. This was especially true among the higher-ups, mostly from Singapore. Imagine being just a small fry and having to sit through working group meetings where these senior folks would speak over one another in condescending tones. I honestly couldn’t believe how unprofessional it all was, and this was supposed to be one of the major local companies that i thought I could work until i retire from there. Talking down to others and being outright rude seemed baked into the culture, almost like it was a prerequisite for being considered “senior” there.

tfkmueh

because the head want to shield himself from the lower ses guys...this grp make the most noise so using the lead to shield himself is the best
Best part is set unrealistic target of completion when there are other fires need to put out urgently.

But because TL cannot say no or paint the whole ops issue, the working pple need to swallow and accept the deadline.

Sauron

quit because not challenging enough?

I hear stories of ppl jump ship, citing reasons such as "to expand skills and knowledge" or "take up new roles and responsibilities / new challenges"

sure bo? not because of salary and toxic environment/people meh
People n employers dontr like to hear hard truths de

tfkmueh

Same company I mentioned earlier. The Head of Department was completely disconnected from the working level. She barely spoke to the actual working group, choosing instead to communicate only through her direct reports and those she clearly favoured. On the rare occasion she did speak to the rest of us, it was always in a condescending tone, like she was doing us a favour just by acknowledging our existence, nose pointed high like we were beneath her.

The only time she made an effort to “engage” the team was during the annual employee survey period, just to boost the department's ESS score and make herself look good. Honestly, she was a complete failure as a leader. And the irony? She came from a government agency and yet, you'd think someone from that background would at least know how to manage people or play internal politics better. But even that she couldn’t get right.

At events with senior management, she acted like a court eunuch, running around, fawning, carrying the senior leaders’ metaphorical balls. Zero integrity, just full-on bootlicking.
Lol, the organization I am in is a govt stat board.

It seem this is a common characteristic of older govt public officer. Their mindset really like "I am the emperor of my domain", they say one, no one can say it is two.

jeffprobst

all those co. I worked very long one.. is I got went prayed de..
those didnt pray n join ones, knn toxic like ****....
Arg. I was always told the only time I do well is with good female boss, but they will also be the one that cost my job. So the most sucky job I ever had, all with female bosses.

Been going temple to pray b it was only told the time will come soon.

carey

Red flag #1 - she came from the public sector

That's how the "game" there is played - more politicking and balls licking than any real work done

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.