what to do with $500k

Hymnody

fixed deposits of 50k each with 9 different banks. fdic insured. left 50k cash for emergency

newjersey

fixed deposits of 50k each with 9 different banks. fdic insured. left 50k cash for emergency
ok, this is worse than paying for the condo in full...

probably the worst advice of how to invest the 500k...

Shiny Things

With half a million bucks, there's no reason not to invest it in the usual ES3/IWDA/A35 mix; you could splash in some of the slightly more exotic bond ETFs (QL2/QL3) if there's a need for some extra yield.

antonpoh

If i have 500k i would put it all in SYF (70%) and Visa (30%).

If you ask this question last year i would have suggested all 500k in SYF at US$23. Yesterday Synchrony Financial (SYF) close at $31.09.

Both are credit card stocks.

Genosis

With half a million bucks, there's no reason not to invest it in the usual ES3/IWDA/A35 mix; you could splash in some of the slightly more exotic bond ETFs (QL2/QL3) if there's a need for some extra yield.

Yup. Then kick back and relax at the pub. ;)

aerosmiths

wah seh, many things you all mention too chim, i don't even know how to translate to her sia. when you all say bonds, is buy from whom?

Genosis

wah seh, many things you all mention too chim, i don't even know how to translate to her sia. when you all say bonds, is buy from whom?

Buy from Singapore govt.

Singapore Savings Bond

Press at the atm

But there is a limit

henrylbh

Safe and sound with almost no risk, put into CPF. But sadly there is a annual limit. Even if she is conned of her whole life savings, there will still be something left.

Perisher

Most bonds can buy on the market like any stocks.

hogrider88

My advice is learn all the skills here frm the masters already tell her to bao u then teach her

doody_

Ask her invest in her staff aka you - fat bonuses and increments for all!

aerosmiths

i think i maybe getting a 50% cut on any profits... but don't want to do risky investments.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.