What to do with inheritance

JuniorLion

It is often more than just making great returns on your money.

It is also about buying a piece of mind.

Cheers.

BBCWatcher

I put in $400/mth hence at that amount POSB was the more reasonable option.
OK, I’m getting the picture now. So you have roughly $2,500 in the STI via POSB Invest Saver.

So I think I’d do something like this:

1. $50,000 in SSBs (or maybe $40,000 since you’d keep about $10,000 in ordinary bank accounts chasing the best interest rate you can find — FastSaver is pretty good). You’d park that money in a CIMB FastSaver account (1% up to $50K) right away, then use a $500/month minimum balance POSB Everyday Savings Account (and FAST transfers between CIMB and POSB) to make your Singapore Savings Bonds purchase attempts. Try for $20,000 per purchase on the last day of sales each month. It’ll take you 3 to 5 months to place $50,000 in SSBs, but you’ll get there. (You can also open a CIMB StarSaver account at the same time, and apply for CIMB’s lovely StarSaver debit/ATM card which is most probably Singapore’s best ATM card for overseas cash withdrawals.)

This is your solid emergency reserve fund. $50K is terrific — should last you 12+ months in an emergency plus give you some flexibility on things like a wedding ring, etc.

2. $100,000 in stocks, split as $20,000 (or less) in the STI and $80,000 (or more) in global stocks. For the STI part you could shift over to Standard Chartered if the costs are better there, and the STI part is not obligatory in my view. For the global portion I’d divide that into 9/10ths IWDA and 1/10th EIMI. I’d make those IWDA and EIMI buys over 6 monthly installments. When you make the 6th purchase, leave a tiny bit of cash in the account left over (US$250 let’s say).

Tangent314 is quite correct that a US$100,000 or higher account at Interactive Brokers avoids the monthly minimum commission. However, it’s only US$3/month at your age, and even US$10/month isn’t much to worry about. As you accumulate wealth this minor problem will probably take care of itself, and any month when you’re buying (dollar cost averaging) this minor problem won’t be a problem at all since your currency conversion and stock purchase commissions are charged against the minimum first.

You don’t need a margin account at IB. Just stick to a cash account basis — simpler, easier, less risk.

3. If you want to upgrade to a public hospital A1 ward coverage Integrated Shield plan, great. That’ll be $3/year more or something like that.

4. If you venture outside Singapore, then get some excellent travel emergency medical insurance. Per trip insurance is probably fine if it’s about one or two short trips outside Singapore. Bupa Global’s “Basic” annual policy is great if it’s more than that, and I’ve mentioned that one a few times in other threads.

5. While you’re stopping by CIMB, see if you can get approved for their Platinum Mastercard. It’s annual fee free for life, it’s a genuine credit card that’ll build a credit history, and it’s a rather good card for overseas use (~0.8% total net markup on foreign curerncy spending). Set it up for automatic full balance GIRO payment from your regular bank account. They might require you to place a $10,000 fixed deposit (for example), but they have some good fixed deposit rates right now and that could count as part of the ~$50,000 I’m suggesting (so then ~$40,000 in SSBs). Then see if you can close that fixed deposit at the end of the term and keep your (responsibly used) card.

6. Regarding CPF, I don’t think you really mess with that until you get into a positive (non-zero) tax bracket and can enjoy some tax reliefs. The 5% interest (the bonus interest rate) is tempting, though — I see the point. If you do find it tempting, consider putting a little money into Medisave specifically, and depending on your current Medisave balance. Your Integrated Shield base plan premiums are deducted from Medisave anyway. If you’re not working (no other CPF contributions) then you can put up to $37,740/year into Medisave voluntarily. I’d don’t think I’d put that much yet, but if you want to put $10,000 in there, or something like that, that could be a reasonable thing to do. Medisave can be useful at any age, and it’s more difficult to put money into Medisave with tax relief once you start earning a substantial amount, so I think that’s the first place to go for voluntary top-ups, if you wish.

tangent314

Haha oh just some extra context, I only started to “invest” at the start of this year hence I don’t have much in the NIKKO AM STI ETF. I put in $400/mth hence at that amount POSB was the more reasonable option.

I have no other assets... other than some singtel shares that was received as part of the inheritance (quite little).

What other mediums to invest in ETFs do you propose :)?

DCA through POSB Invest Saver doesn't really make sense in your case because what you have is a lump sum. DCA is more appropriate if you are investing a percentage of your monthly wages when you start working.

Investing in ETFs requires a brokerage account. Generally if you follow the advise of this forum, you will want to go with 2 brokers - one for LSE and one for SGX. If you really want one broker that can handle both with reasonable fees, you can go with SC. Note however that SC does not link with CDP.

I'd recommend reading up a bit more about SGX brokers here: https://blog.moneysmart.sg/invest/h...tment-brokerage-in-singapore-is-best-for-you/

Many of the brokers have additional deals and offers that are not listed in the chart above, for example Vickers has a free first 3 trades, and the min commission is reduced to $10 if you use cash upfront settlement.

BBCWatcher

You’d park that money in a CIMB FastSaver account (1% up to $50K) right away, then use a $500/month minimum balance POSB Everyday Savings Account (and FAST transfers between CIMB and POSB) to make your Singapore Savings Bonds purchase attempts.
Following up on this, to elaborate:

1. You need an ordinary Singapore dollar savings or current account with DBS, POSB, UOB, or OCBC in order to buy SSBs. You may already have one such account and, if so, great, you're all set. If you don't, and if you have never opened an account with DBS or POSB, then you can open one new account online (not in a branch) and enjoy no fall below fee on that first account, for life. The DBS Multiplier account is a good one for these purposes. Otherwise, the best you can do in that respect is a POSB Everyday Savings Account ($500 minimum balance to avoid a fall below fee, with some waivers).

Since you're already putting money via POSB into a STI ETF, you probably already have a DBS or POSB bank account. I assume you started putting money into that STI ETF before you received a bequest, so that dollar cost averaging is something unrelated to the current issue at hand. Except that now you can revisit whether POSB Invest Saver is an appropriate investment account in your new circumstances. (Probably not.)

2. CIMB FastSaver and/or StarSaver are very good accounts for parking money temporarily, and there are no fall below fees there. As mentioned, the ATM card issued with a StarSaver account is very good, and CIMB's Platinum Mastercard is also very good if you can get one. And they have some good fixed deposit promotions right now if you have to place a fixed deposit to score a Platinum Mastercard.

3. I see somebody else mentioned Citi's MaxiGain Savings Account (which is technically a current account). That's also very good if you can follow certain rules, but it does require keeping at least $15,000 across all your accounts at Citibank ("total relationship") since that's their minimum to avoid a monthly fall below fee. And that steep minimum requirement is not attractive at all, so I've soured a bit on Citi. (I also like their Tap and Save account, though -- which comes with an excellent EZ-Link/Mastercard debit card.)

Toni90

U should buy a car then get a few of your uni friends to drive grab together. When graduate, sell the car, should already double the money. Can use it to buy a bro. Debt free for life.

BBCWatcher

U should buy a car then get a few of your uni friends to drive grab together. When graduate, sell the car, should already double the money. Can use it to buy a bro. Debt free for life.
I think we'll just politely file this idea in the same category as these ideas and politely move along, OK?

Toni90

Sorry, typo. Buy a BTO. I used to take Uber from these students. Quite a good way to make income.

goldsilvercity

depends on the risk level of TS ba.
can go buy bonds or fixed deposits if adverse to risk.
mid level risk, probably global ETF.

higher risk, outright buy some stocks for the long run. or alternate investments.

Aaron_soh80

I've received an inheritance of approx 150k.

I'm looking for advice on how I can invest this sum of money. As of now, I've approx 12k in the SSB. Looking at the UOB one account as it can reap a decent interest rate without salary. (I'm a uni student hence no salary) However that can only save up to 50k..

Uni is fully funded with scholarship hence no worries about financing it.

Looking forward to hear your inputs :)

lucky gina, only student aso gt 150k inside bank liao..,

Prof. Utonium

I disagree. The original poster has no dependents in evidence, and you didn’t even ask!

Wouldn't it better to get earlier since the premiums is lower due to age and health conditions? In case of marriage in the future?

---

Sorry OP for hijacking this thread.

What about someone with $300K? Mid 20s.

I was thinking of $50K - $100K in SSB. The rest in ETF. Was looking at US markets but there would be tax on capital and divedends. Would it still be worth it?

I'm still saving at least $1k per month and had recently transferred excess of $20k in OA to SA. Not sure if I should transfer all as I would need some $ for HDB downpayment if I do buy BTO.

Been lurking here for the past few weeks looking at tips and guides.

iamveryguailan

Wouldn't it better to get earlier since the premiums is lower due to age and health conditions? In case of marriage in the future?

---

Sorry OP for hijacking this thread.

I was thinking of $50K - $100K in SSB. The rest in ETF. Was looking at US markets but there would be tax on capital and divedends. Would it still be worth it?

I'm still saving at least $1k per month and had recently transferred excess of $20k in OA to SA. Not sure if I should transfer all as I would need some $ for HDB downpayment if I do buy BTO.

Wow how did you amass 300k by mid 20s? And I suppose your total is higher cause that excludes your cpf and current savings/investments?

BBCWatcher

First, let me point out that you have about $300K of life insurance already. It's called money, and money still works! [Add CPF assets as well. CPF assets go to your nominated heir(s).] Bill Gates and Jeff Bezos don't need any life insurance for their dependents, to pick a couple extreme examples.

So, do you need more life insurance, right now, and with no dependents yet?

Well, it's up to you of course, but if you start making those sorts of financial arguments and prioritize those insurance purchases ahead of other, much more pressing needs -- Disability Income Insurance (DII) I would certainly rank right at the front of the priority queue -- then the arguments will be endless. For example, why not purchase a funeral package while you're age 2X? The price will only go up at least with inflation, and you will die, for sure. (Unlike having dependents, which may or may not happen.) So why not prepay for that expense? Funeral costs are expensive, and surely you want your (future, unborn) loved ones not to have to worry. And if you don't buy funeral insurance NOW, then you just might not be able to buy it tomorrow because you could be close to death....

....The ad copy almost writes itself, doesn't it? ;)

tangent314

Yes, premiums go up when you grow older, but overall you pay more in premiums if you start paying earlier, so really there is no benefit to buying early to cover you when you don't need cover.

tangent314

Doesn't look like you've been lurking in the right threads :D

For the consumer there is no tax on capital, and dividend tax can be reduced from 30% to 15% if you buy an Irish-domiciled ETF. We generally recommend VWRD or a combination of IWDA+EIMI. With $300K, the obvious choice would be to open an IBKR account and transfer in at least US$100k to purchase VWRD / IWDA+EIMI and meet the minimum sum to avoid incurring minimum monthly charges.

The rest can go into SSB, STI ETF, and good interest saving accounts.

You don't have to use OA to pay for your house down payment. If you are able to afford it using cash, you can always pay cash, then let your CPF grow happily in SA/MA. Otherwise yes, you will need to calculate how much you will need for your down payment and keep the appropriate amount in OA.

JuniorLion

Yes, premiums go up when you grow older, but overall you pay more in premiums if you start paying earlier, so really there is no benefit to buying early to cover you when you don't need cover.

One can always wait till 50s before buying. But by then ineligible how?

Loofish

Following up on this, to elaborate:

1. You need an ordinary Singapore dollar savings or current account with DBS, POSB, UOB, or OCBC in order to buy SSBs. You may already have one such account and, if so, great, you're all set. If you don't, and if you have never opened an account with DBS or POSB, then you can open one new account online (not in a branch) and enjoy no fall below fee on that first account, for life. The DBS Multiplier account is a good one for these purposes. Otherwise, the best you can do in that respect is a POSB Everyday Savings Account ($500 minimum balance to avoid a fall below fee, with some waivers).

Since you're already putting money via POSB into a STI ETF, you probably already have a DBS or POSB bank account. I assume you started putting money into that STI ETF before you received a bequest, so that dollar cost averaging is something unrelated to the current issue at hand. Except that now you can revisit whether POSB Invest Saver is an appropriate investment account in your new circumstances. (Probably not.)

2. CIMB FastSaver and/or StarSaver are very good accounts for parking money temporarily, and there are no fall below fees there. As mentioned, the ATM card issued with a StarSaver account is very good, and CIMB's Platinum Mastercard is also very good if you can get one. And they have some good fixed deposit promotions right now if you have to place a fixed deposit to score a Platinum Mastercard.

3. I see somebody else mentioned Citi's MaxiGain Savings Account (which is technically a current account). That's also very good if you can follow certain rules, but it does require keeping at least $15,000 across all your accounts at Citibank ("total relationship") since that's their minimum to avoid a monthly fall below fee. And that steep minimum requirement is not attractive at all, so I've soured a bit on Citi. (I also like their Tap and Save account, though -- which comes with an excellent EZ-Link/Mastercard debit card.)

Thank you for such a detailed reply!!

I’ll most likely proceed w the SCB option and do some investing on global etfs...
Yup I do already have a POSB acc and CIMBFastsaver (it was what I used b4 I received the inheritance)
But I really gotta read up more before continuing w the global ETFs cause I know nuts lol.

I’m actually quite keen on the UOB one account (50k deposit w 2.xx% when the necessary req are met) what are your thoughts on this :)?

BBCWatcher

One can always wait till 50s before buying. But by then ineligible how?
Yes, you could wait until age 50+ if you start to have a genuinely needful dependent at that time. However, at age 50+ you will hopefully be relatively wealthy or more, and wealthy people don't need life insurance either because they can self-insure.

Life insurance is fundamentally a product for non-wealthy people who have genuinely needful dependents (one or more dependents who rely on the non-wealthy person's income). If you don't tick both those boxes (non-wealthy, with a dependent), then you don't need life insurance.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.