What to upgrade?

ExcuseRMJ

my old rig's MOBO went dead since march. I am looking to upgrade it. Any suggestion? My budget is $2k without any other peripherals. I opens a lot tabs when serving net. I am hoping to game on 1920x1080 in 144hz 24" monitor. I play mostly those AAA titles like SC2, GTA 5, Dishonored 2, wolfenstein 2:new colossus, witcher 3 etc. If budget allows, I would like to do some light video editing. If not, nvm then.

My old rig specs:
Superflower HX-600 Gold Modular (dont know can reuse?)
MSI B85-G43 Gaming (dead) + i5-4570
G.Skill RipjawsX 1600MHz 8GB(2x4GB)
Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium Grey (not reusing)
WD 1TB (Caviar Blue) (reuse?)
Plextor M5S 128GB SSD (reuse?)
MSI R9 280X
TP-Link WN851N 300Mbps Wireless N PCI Adapter (reuse?)

New rig:
Case: Meshify C ($145)

ZrE0_Cha0s

well your system is still pretty good, maybe can consider looking for a 2nd hand board for your haswell system?

but if u really want to upgrade, den do u still want to go with intel or take new AMD?
and if u upgrading, u also wish to take note that u might need to buy new DDR4 rams as well, and maybe can consider upgrade your GPU to GTX 1070 ti once GTX 11xx series out or get a new GTX 11xx.

ExcuseRMJ

well your system is still pretty good, maybe can consider looking for a 2nd hand board for your haswell system?

but if u really want to upgrade, den do u still want to go with intel or take new AMD?
and if u upgrading, u also wish to take note that u might need to buy new DDR4 rams as well, and maybe can consider upgrade your GPU to GTX 1070 ti once GTX 11xx series out or get a new GTX 11xx.

I dont think I want to get a 2nd hand board.
I dont really know the difference between the intel and AMD. I guess intel is the more efficient one?
I understand that I need to change to DDR4 ram for the upgrade. Haiz, dont know when 11xx series will be out. wait oso dunno how long.....:(

ralliart_ray

Get a new one (mobo) for ur Haswell, else very wasted if u abandoned it :(

From tabao or ebay, it’s about $60-120. Search B85-G43

Save ur remaining 1.4k$ up

singupingu

I'd suggest changing the mobo with a 2nd hand one for less than $70. Save up to 2K then major overhaul for a beast system.

1.5k not here not there. Not worth imo given the current ram price and new gpu coming in couple of months.

Sent from OnePlus ONEPLUS A3003 using GAGT

ExcuseRMJ

Now that new card is announced. Can advice what build to get? I can up my budget to around $2k :o

Just overhaul it lo, not worth to go second hand especially if you are on windows. Psu how old? Just reuse the last 4 first n get mobo, cpu, ram n casing. Graphic card just wait if u wanna get the 2000 series
my old rig's MOBO went dead months ago. I am looking to upgrade it. Any suggestion? My budget is $1.5k without any other peripherals. I opens a lot tabs when serving net. I am hoping to game on 1920x1080 in 144hz 24" monitor. I play mostly those AAA titles like SC2, GTA 5, Dishonored 2, wolfenstein 2:new colossus, witcher 3 etc. If budget allows, I would like to do some light video editing. If not, nvm then.

My old rig specs:
Superflower HX-600 Gold Modular (dont know can reuse?)
MSI B85-G43 Gaming (dead) + i5-4570
G.Skill RipjawsX 1600MHz 8GB(2x4GB)
Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium Grey (not reusing)
WD 1TB (Caviar Blue) (reuse?)
Plextor M5S 128GB SSD (reuse?)
MSI R9 280X
TP-Link WN851N 300Mbps Wireless N PCI Adapter (reuse?)

New rig:
Case: Meshify C ($145)

Sent from Sony H8166 using GAGT

ExcuseRMJ

Just overhaul it lo, not worth to go second hand especially if you are on windows. Psu how old? Just reuse the last 4 first n get mobo, cpu, ram n casing. Graphic card just wait if u wanna get the 2000 series

Sent from Sony H8166 using GAGT

My PSU bought in 2013. dun know can reuse or not? I dont mind getting the current Nvidia GPU series since the 2000 series not gonna be cheap....

singupingu

5 years old liao. Can is can lar. But your own risk though. What brand and wattage and which gpu you intend to pair with it?

ExcuseRMJ

5 years old liao. Can is can lar. But your own risk though. What brand and wattage and which gpu you intend to pair with it?

Sorry idk much about pc stuff. I dont mind changing the PSU. I guess 1070 or 1070ti if the budget allows?

singupingu

Sorry idk much about pc stuff. I dont mind changing the PSU. I guess 1070 or 1070ti if the budget allows?
Palit have promo. See the Palit Special Promo thread by Convergent.

1070 or ti, have 550W and up will do. Seasonic Focus FM or FX series, Superflower, and EVGA G Series are good choices that don't cost you a bomb.

Wataru

B85 or H87 board not that expensive on 2nd-hand. Less than $100

kamipify

if i was u i just buy a new mobo tong a few more yr if everything else is still rock solid if not just get a new set

ExcuseRMJ

Hi just piece together these parts. Are they ok? Do I need i7 when I do some light video editing once in a while using sony vegas? :s22:

Intel i7 8700k + MSI B360 GAMING ARCTIC ($678)
Corsair - Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-2666 ($249)
Palit GTX 1070Ti jetstream ($625)
SEASONIC FP FX-650W FULL GOLD ($159)
Meshify C ($145)
WD 1TB (Caviar Blue) (Reuse)
Plextor M5S 128GB SSD (Reuse)
TP-Link WN851N 300Mbps Wireless N PCI Adapter (Reuse)

Total:$1856

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.