Whats your expected or target return for 2015?

Shion

Senior Mentor
Got some feels for that. US consumers reluctant to spend. Mainland side may be overheating. Interest rate movements will probably spook some people.

If mini one, means mini buffet (...?)

China's growth slowing down already, just that their stocks seems to be easily manipulated

If played well, it will be a continous hotel buffet

But I will be contented with mini buffet :)

felixleong

China cannot be trusted one... their GDP growth so high over the last 20 years... they never had a recession before in 2-3 decades liao.... the numbers are not all real for sure

Perisher

Scammers everywhere, even in Atas places.
http://www.bloomberg.com/news/artic...-boardrooms-as-scammers-invade-city-of-london

Cold-calling con artists promising outsized returns are jumping on a surge in the availability of serviced offices at prestigious locations to give their operations an air of respectability, investigators in London’s main financial district say. These “boiler rooms” dupe investors out of about 1.25 million pounds ($2 million) on average before they “rip and tear” and disappear with little trace, they say.

felixleong

China's growth slowing down already, just that their stocks seems to be easily manipulated

If played well, it will be a continous hotel buffet

But I will be contented with mini buffet :)

2mgqidl.png

china GDP graph over last 20 years

lowest they have is 6% GDP growth that year, 20 years no reccession (no negative GDP year before)... LOL

even a 10 year old also wouldn't believe its real

Shion

Senior Mentor
I agree with you, felix...

My guess is that in the long term wise, the truth (if any) will be too much to be contained...The world will be in a standstill.

I am also not too confident when companies venture into China's market. Their cheap labour is decreasing every year...

felixleong

I agree with you, felix...

My guess is that in the long term wise, the truth (if any) will be too much to be contained...The world will be in a standstill.

I am also not too confident when companies venture into China's market. Their cheap labour is decreasing every year...

ya lor very hard to say

i biggest worry is china triggering the next global financial crisis...

over the last 12 months, their market nearly doubled already... sibei scary..... can u imagine STI double to 6,000

dunno to be happy or scared, LOL

Shion

Senior Mentor
ya lor very hard to say

i biggest worry is china triggering the next global financial crisis...

over the last 12 months, their market nearly doubled already... sibei scary..... can u imagine STI double to 6,000

dunno to be happy or scared, LOL

Must be scared when people are buying stocks like going to the market and buy vegetables...:(

Expect the unexpected...

I doubt their "growth" can carry on.

tiny

UOB LayHian scrip dividend letter come liao. Very swee swee done. Tell you clearly and exactly on how much cash dividend you will get v.s. how many shares you will get if you opt in for scrip dividend.

Other companies better learn from UOB LayHian. Don't waste shareholders' time to guesstimate on rounding up or rounding down of how many shares to get for scrip dividends lah.

Maeda_Toshiie

2mgqidl.png

china GDP graph over last 20 years

lowest they have is 6% GDP growth that year, 20 years no reccession (no negative GDP year before)... LOL

even a 10 year old also wouldn't believe its real

From what I heard, some of the PRC economic data fit the damn models too well. Makes one wonder how heavily massaged the data is.

Maeda_Toshiie

Must be scared when people are buying stocks like going to the market and buy vegetables...:(

Expect the unexpected...

I doubt their "growth" can carry on.

Supposedly PRC housewives are playing with the stock market at HK. Hard to say how long the game of musical chairs will last...

Shion

Senior Mentor
Supposedly PRC housewives are playing with the stock market at HK. Hard to say how long the game of musical chairs will last...

As they say, if the normal commoners are quitting their jobs, and housewives taking their grocery money to buy stocks...

A crash is imminent.

Even Taiwan stocks also manipulated until very hot.

felixleong

As they say, if the normal commoners are quitting their jobs, and housewives taking their grocery money to buy stocks...

A crash is imminent.

Even Taiwan stocks also manipulated until very hot.

young fresh grads in china are not looking for jobs

they rather borrow $$ from parents and double it in the stock market LOL

Raynon

Genting, Olam , Starhub, Sembcorp, golden agri, noble, 6 blue chips posted bad qtr results, crash is imminent?

Magica

Genting, Olam , Starhub, Sembcorp, golden agri, noble, 6 blue chips posted bad qtr results, crash is imminent?

i wouldn't say that a crash is imminent because the reason for the drop in performance of these companies have no relation.

for example, genting and starhub's result was more of their poor sales/operation planning.

for olam and golden agri, they are after all primary industries and are very much affected by weather conditions.

for sembcorp and noble, they provide services to clients. oversupply in oil = lesser oil rig building etc. and lesser supply chain activities, and also not forgetting the latter was involved in the muddy water and iceberg saga

i would say it just so happen that during this period, luck was not on their side or due to poor decisions made. :o

itedino

adjustment going down is normal. U dun buy later BB go in liao. U see ali baba Jack wu still buying up company.

Maeda_Toshiie

2007 the China market plunged...

Wait for it to repeat again

How much would this affect the region and SG? It may trigger a flash crash but that does not automatically mean a downturn that last a few years.

i wouldn't say that a crash is imminent because the reason for the drop in performance of these companies have no relation.

for example, genting and starhub's result was more of their poor sales/operation planning.

for olam and golden agri, they are after all primary industries and are very much affected by weather conditions.

for sembcorp and noble, they provide services to clients. oversupply in oil = lesser oil rig building etc. and lesser supply chain activities, and also not forgetting the latter was involved in the muddy water and iceberg saga

i would say it just so happen that during this period, luck was not on their side or due to poor decisions made. :o

It can be what some people call "a perfect storm", ie a bunch of relatively small factors coming together to create a much bigger effect.

No doubt all we can do is simply speculate, since we are not capable of prognostication. Everyone has different philosophies wrt the stock market, and different risk appetite. YMMV.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.