Which is higher SES, landed in Seletar or Kembangan?

joshua182

i stay in seletar. seletar needed to be non-ses.
meaning cheaper and good for value, if you can tolerate being a little bit far from everything.
no longer liao. the prices have more than doubled psf land in barely a decade. last i rmb was 600-800 can buy land liao. now is 1k?

-nyox-

kembangan/telok kurau/siglap is becoming lower and lower ses. lesser landed and more condo/apartments
That's the problem with mixed used land. Look at telok kurau, lanes are so small already and all these boutique condos are popping up, making the area even more congested.

Wanna get landed must buy at landed exclusive areas to retain the exclusivity.

-nyox-

What are some examples of this?
Can refer to ura website on landed zoning. Tanah merah is classified a 2-3 story mixed landed use land.

Kembangan from Lorong Mydin westwards is not classified a landed zoning, thus mixed use. However eastwards of Lengkong Tiga is classified 3 story mixed landed zone.

Wwiiii

NONE. these are low SES landed. one is near Geylang, another is in the middle of nowhere. how much budget do you have to buy a landed in sink1eland.
bugis also near geylang means stay bugis is low ses

Wwiiii

it will be dumb to expose myself in EDMW correct? all I can share is my burn rate. what's yours?

2.jpg
can spend 1k means high ses?

means bankrupt people all high ses

dpsk3000

bugis also near geylang means stay bugis is low ses
you have to ask the TS what low SES means?
my definition of low SES is crowd, noise and privacy. the lesser and more privacy you have, the higher the SES area.

GreatPumpkin

I think the most atas area in east side is along frankel avenue. Got that rich man enclave vibes. Really feel like you are in another country.

Wwiiii

Kembangan landed estate area I went visit once, also has some have industrial estate just beside it. The unit I went to faces the back of some small industrial business or something.

Feels abit lapsup. But if u go inwards to the center it's ok.
i stay nearby. the ones facing the factory. think got some bao factory, then will have steamed bao smell come out quite often. i dunno how the residents there tahan.

That's the problem with mixed used land. Look at telok kurau, lanes are so small already and all these boutique condos are popping up, making the area even more congested.

This is one example. Owner of an old landed house on a big land plot who bought it in the 1950s, sells to developer. The regular land plot has a site area of 21,046 sq ft. Developer buys over and builds low rise apartments, degrading the SES of the estate.
https://www.edgeprop.sg/property-news/999-year-leasehold-residential-site-kovan-going-18-mil
@menthol28 This house on this plot in Kovan has been sold, looking at the dilapidated state of the house it must be at least 60 years old. The plot belongs to the owner (one owner or owners), and the plot size is 21,046 sq ft. Usually an average landed plot is about 2800 to 3000 sq feet so this guy's land plot is 7 times the average plot size. Means you can build 7 landed homes on his plot, which he just built one house on. Unfortunately most money minded developers will maximize profits by building apartments instead of houses to sell, diminishing the SES of the neighbourhood.

Another sale that will lower the SES of the area. https://www.citicommercial.com.sg/n...ys-another-10-shophouses-at-teck-chye-terrace

This row of shophouses housed all restaurants, and the distinct shophouse with restaurant or shop (usually butcher store, meat cellar, wine shop or preschool) on the ground floor in the middle of a landed enclave is one of the most distinctive hallmarks of landed lifestyle of SG. This urban feature is not really found in western countries where the stores are either strip malls separate from where the suburban houses are (USA) or in Europe you find some small shops/bars/deli on the ground floor of cobbled stone roads and upstairs are cramped ancient apartments where people live. The distinctive two story private shophouse with restaurants and shops on the ground floor is a distinct feature of landed estates in Singapore. You also won't find them in HDB estates.

A developer has acquired this row of shophouse restaurants and will build serviced apartments there, lowering the SES and increasing the population density, and decreasing the number of food choices for residents of the landed estate.

BlackStar00

This aint good; usually will drive the prices down, Hillview and Macpherson also got industrial areas that give it lupsup feel.
Wah MacPherson garden estate is horrible. There are owners of businesses there that use these landed for their workers to stay and put their construction stuff.

There alot of lupsup low ses kumpung feeling. There is quite cheap landed in Singapore

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.