Which shield plan has overseas coverage? For working overseas

Kinetic

Hi

Just saw GE has this rider. Not sure other companies got?

And not sure worth it anot, in general?

Any comments?

Tks

Shiny Things

Hi

Just saw GE has this rider. Not sure other companies got?

And not sure worth it anot, in general?

Any comments?

Tks

Very few of them would. And in almost all cases, it's better to get the healthcare coverage from an insurer in the country where you're headed; in most cases (USA, Australia, UK) it'll be a lot cheaper and the coverage will be easier for your doctor or your specialist to handle. Especially over here in the USA, a lot of doctors and specialists will be like "who the hell is Great Eastern? We've never heard of them. Sorry, you have to pay cash".

MaoZeDuo

Very few of them would. And in almost all cases, it's better to get the healthcare coverage from an insurer in the country where you're headed; in most cases (USA, Australia, UK) it'll be a lot cheaper and the coverage will be easier for your doctor or your specialist to handle. Especially over here in the USA, a lot of doctors and specialists will be like "who the hell is Great Eastern? We've never heard of them. Sorry, you have to pay cash".

For Aviva... It does provide overseas coverage, of cos there are terms and conditions. Main thing to take note ur coverage for inpatient treatment will still be "as charged" but only in Sg context which also means the insurer will decide the amount to reimburse u based on how it's charged here regardless of the bill in USA. And yes reimbursement means that u have to pay cash upfront and make the claim later. If possible u can checkout the local insurers in USA premiums should be affordable than buying global health plans here. Unless u are staying in USA for good, u should get a shield plan here so that when u are back u are still covered. Not sure about the other insurers but I believe it's pretty much the same. Tbh nvr done such a claim b4 so u shld clarify with ur ge agent of the procedures for shield claims overseas.

MaoZeDuo

Very good thread btw hope more agents experienced in this area can lip lai share info

bigmice

to cover hospitalization over seas, shield plan Only GE have this rider.
and many insurance have globle health plan ,but it 3~5 time expensive than GE SHP+TS plus rider.
so you are not long time to work oversea, this is beat choice.
if you will stay for years, better choose a local plan.

Lewis.T

It's time to wake up and smell the roses. Most if not all companies doing integrated shield plans have the overseas coverage up to the lower of the cost of a similar treatment in SG versus what you would have paid overseas.

iamryan

A new portal

There will be a new portal which plans are being presented in a clear and simple way for you to compare.

Shiny Things

For Aviva... It does provide overseas coverage, of cos there are terms and conditions. Main thing to take note ur coverage for inpatient treatment will still be "as charged" but only in Sg context which also means the insurer will decide the amount to reimburse u based on how it's charged here regardless of the bill in USA. And yes reimbursement means that u have to pay cash upfront and make the claim later.

Oh, this is REALLY REALLY BAD. Inpatient costs in the USA are absolutely stratospheric - we're talking five to ten times the cost in Singapore. If you have to pay cash for a five- or six-figure emergency procedure, and then you only get reimbursed the Singaporean cost, you might as well not have insurance at all.

If that's all the Aviva plan does, then it's worse than useless.

MaoZeDuo

Oh, this is REALLY REALLY BAD. Inpatient costs in the USA are absolutely stratospheric - we're talking five to ten times the cost in Singapore. If you have to pay cash for a five- or six-figure emergency procedure, and then you only get reimbursed the Singaporean cost, you might as well not have insurance at all.

If that's all the Aviva plan does, then it's worse than useless.

chill... i apologized if my ang moh not so satki as urs... but if u missed my point, the private integrated shield plan becomes a complement instead of a priority, in TS case...

MaoZeDuo

It's time to wake up and smell the roses. Most if not all companies doing integrated shield plans have the overseas coverage up to the lower of the cost of a similar treatment in SG versus what you would have paid overseas.

good summary. u rox

chopra

What I did is i bought native insurance when I worked overseas. Logically shld be more relevant

Kinetic

Dun have leh, I'm currently NTUC enhanced. Only covered emergency treatment overseas. I called them up, dun even have a rider to cover regular overseas

Lewis.T

Yup, you are quite right. Except their non-emergency coverage extends to Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

I was referring to the emergency medical treatment. Apologies if you misunderstood. Also, as others have said, perhaps you may want to look into that country's medical insurance, it's the safest bet.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.