Who is using stock red/back speaker cables for their mid/high end MM speakers

Philip

Hairyworm said:
Wad cables r u using and $$$?

Hes using Belden 1860A terminated with Canare F9 for speaker cable & Belden 1800F terminated with Canare F12 for interconnect. Price.. PM me to discuss.

Phil

Philip

Got another request to make e breakout cable for EMU-0404

0404ic1.jpg

The above is the solution from Fid-Audio

42266988.jpg

& look what I found!

42251498.jpg

Still tuned.. this might be e 1st RFI/EMI shielded 404 breakout cable available in e local market. Entire assembly will be shielded from e D-Sub, cable to RCA plugs.

Phil

Slayer1

Philip said:
Got another request to make e breakout cable for EMU-0404

0404ic1.jpg

The above is the solution from Fid-Audio

42266988.jpg

& look what I found!

42251498.jpg

Still tuned.. this might be e 1st RFI/EMI shielded 404 breakout cable available in e local market. Entire assembly will be shielded from e D-Sub, cable to RCA plugs.

Phil

Just what I am also looking for my 0404 but with diff interconnects . Keep me updated Phil. Thanks :)

S1

Philip

Slayer1 said:
Just what I am also looking for my 0404 but with diff interconnects . Keep me updated Phil. Thanks :)

S1

Dude... e pin out pic u shown me earlier is not available anymore... can u find an alternative 1.. need that to need e cable.

Oh oh.. based on your old post. U r usign PM2.1. I did a check & its using stereo miniplug for input not RCA leh.. So should e other end be 2 x RCA or just 1 x miniplug?

Phil

Slayer1

Philip said:
Dude... e pin out pic u shown me earlier is not available anymore... can u find an alternative 1.. need that to need e cable.

Oh oh.. based on your old post. U r usign PM2.1. I did a check & its using stereo miniplug for input not RCA leh.. So should e other end be 2 x RCA or just 1 x miniplug?

Phil

http://umel.gmxhome.de/emu/

Damn that was a good pic but its gone now. Anyway check out the above, I got it from BrokenEnglish in Head-Fi forum.
As for mine, I will talk to you when I collect my stuff next week. Got some plans.:) :D

S1

Philip

Slayer1 said:
http://umel.gmxhome.de/emu/

Damn that was a good pic but its gone now. Anyway check out the above, I got it from BrokenEnglish in Head-Fi forum.
As for mine, I will talk to you when I collect my stuff next week. Got some plans.:) :D

S1

Collection of ya stuff is following week dude..

Make a calculation of e cost.. its not going to be cheap man.. Its definitely over $35 version which 1 think another guy is selling. But mine is full metal shell & fully shielded.

PM me if u r interested in getting too.. because I'm getting some parts from Farnell & they charge shipping if order is below $50.

Phil

leslens

hey phil

do u do interconnects for promedia 4.1?

im not sure how i can do that
since the wires come from the control pod and are connected to the jacks on my aud2zs
i think the wires are not detachable

possible?

Philip

leslens said:
hey phil

do u do interconnects for promedia 4.1?

im not sure how i can do that
since the wires come from the control pod and are connected to the jacks on my aud2zs
i think the wires are not detachable

possible?

If e wires are fixed.. I will have to cut it then.. but thats considered a mod job! Nothing is impossible.. can fix a female socket or use better cable.

Take a shot of e control pod & e cable & show me.

Phil

leslens

hmmm
if u were to cut the wires and join them to superior ones
ultimately sound will still pass thru the inferior wires aint it?
so technically, sound quality would be still the same or even worse with the added connection

excuse me if im wrong
im just using the layman's logic to this situation
do u get wat i mean?

Philip

leslens said:
hmmm
if u were to cut the wires and join them to superior ones
ultimately sound will still pass thru the inferior wires aint it?
so technically, sound quality would be still the same or even worse with the added connection

excuse me if im wrong
im just using the layman's logic to this situation
do u get wat i mean?

1 way is to cut.. but e longer run of superior cable is better. BTW, do u know e speaker cable used in e interial of those hifi speakers r mostly FU type?

Another way is to open up e speaker..

Phil

bencheongcm

Philip said:
Alamak I remember liao.. he went to Malaysia liao!

Phil
yap yap... just came back.... :D

tested the Belden 1860A with Canare F9 connecters .... First of all ... I plug the wire in... and turn the volume to min as told by you... after I start to increase the volume and this is where it started to sound so good... tried so CD and DVD... sound came out cery clear and clean... bass also had and extra boost... for what I see the bass is not the only thing that got a volume boost .. the speakers also ...

humans are gready... :D was wondering if you also do the 3 pin plug cable for the sound card to the sub :p

million thanks for the great work of art :)

Philip

bencheongcm said:
yap yap... just came back.... :D

tested the Belden 1860A with Canare F9 connecters .... First of all ... I plug the wire in... and turn the volume to min as told by you... after I start to increase the volume and this is where it started to sound so good... tried so CD and DVD... sound came out cery clear and clean... bass also had and extra boost... for what I see the bass is not the only thing that got a volume boost .. the speakers also ...

humans are gready... :D was wondering if you also do the 3 pin plug cable for the sound card to the sub :p

million thanks for the great work of art :)

Interesting isn't it?? First of all.. u didn't upgrade e interconnect but ya bass got better extension. I got e same experience when I tried e 1860A on my own MW550. E new bass is actually from e satellite. Probably in e 80 to 100hz++ range.

Give it some time to run-in & it will sound even better.

U mean e stereo miniplugs? Sure can do.. but relax lar. Suggest u try this set of speaker cables for a month then c whether there is still a need to upgrade ya interconnects.

Anyway, still got time.. I might not be providing this service after july.. depend on my schedule.

Phil

Philip

MoOmUzik said:
the pink green black connectors onsound card to pink green black on the subs?

miniplug.jpg

Hes referring to this I think... e interconnect for e soundcard & sub.

Phil

AZE

Philip said:
Interesting isn't it?? First of all.. u didn't update e interconnect but ya bass got better extension. I got e same experience when I tried e 1860A on my own MW550. E new bass is actually from e satellite. Probably in e 80 to 100hz++ range.

U mean e stereo miniplugs? Sure can do.. but relax lar. Suggest u try this set of speaker cables for a month then c whether there is still a need to upgrade ya interconnects.

Anyway, still got time.. I might not be providing this service after july.. depend on my schedule.

Phil

The sats of the MC550 is flat to 150Hz only, and thereafter it is affected by crossover and natural rolloffs ~ 18-24db/octave.

Probably the better bass is due to cleaner and tigher reponse with better signal, and also a relieve of stress from the amps and PSUs as the power drawn is used more efficiently.
And thus cleaner and more reserves of power for the subwoofer.

Philip

AZE said:
The sats of the MC550 is flat to 150Hz only, and thereafter it is affected by crossover and natural rolloffs ~ 18-24db/octave.

Probably the better bass is due to cleaner and tigher reponse with better signal, and also a relieve of stress from the amps and PSUs as the power drawn is used more efficiently.
And thus cleaner and more reserves of power for the subwoofer.

Ok.. technicality again... yes.. on paper that is...

I got e chance to experience real time analysis of speaker with pro-audio setup & it shows e real world performance of my speaker.. Heres some observations..

1. The roll off is very gradual regardless of e spec. Definitely not as steep as we perceive. Hence.. e sat might go pretty low depending on e actual volume.
2. Room mode will alter e real world performance of each speaker. Freq can be boast or cancelled depending on e actual environment. This is not relevant in our discuss here.

BengChong.. very simple test u can try... play a bassy music with ya sub on.. then power down & remove e sub interconnect & try again.. see whether u can still hear some bass from e Sat this time round.

Phil

bencheongcm

Philip said:
Interesting isn't it?? First of all.. u didn't upgrade e interconnect but ya bass got better extension. I got e same experience when I tried e 1860A on my own MW550. E new bass is actually from e satellite. Probably in e 80 to 100hz++ range.

Phil
very happy with it... oh well... I will hear it for a month and see how things go... :D

Philip

550-speaker-0-30.png

Freq response of MW550 sat with stock cable. Observe e 100hz @ -15dB. Now if we are blasting at 75dB, there is still around 60dB which is audible. What good speaker cable does is to improve both ends extension. In another word, instead of -15dB.. it could be -10dB & etc making it even more obvious to e ears.

Source = http://www.digit-life.com/articles2/creative-thx-550/

Phil

bencheongcm

Philip said:
miniplug.jpg

Hes referring to this I think... e interconnect for e soundcard & sub.

Phil
wow .... look at the size of that.... wonder how will it sound =:p

Philip

MoOmUzik said:
Swweeet....any review from owner of this interconnector

Ask Magz1986 lor.. hes my 1st customer for miniplug interconnect.

Phil

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.