Why are shopping malls in Singapore so boring? | Singapore Explained

OddEye

Katong mall no crowd is because of location for most parts. If you look at beauty world which is probably strata mall. The crowd is alot more due to proximity to mrt

Joe Mahmood

I'm still in the Philippines. While in Manila I visited ROBINSON MALL in Ermita and MALL OF ASIA (MOA) in Pasay. Both are very huge shopping malls but MOA is the largest, plenty of crowds but still plenty of space too. I didn't take any video while I'm there on 1/9/23. Anyway, today I visited the SM MALL in Dasmarinas City, Cavite. I managed to take some videos.

The only difference between shopping malls in the Philippines and in SG, the people are different, the price tags are cheap compare to SG and in every malls there are many Armed Security Officers deployed at the Entrance/Exits, departmental stores/retails shops/F&B, patrolling within the premises and car parks.

SM MALL in Dasmarinas City, Cavite, Philippines videos appended below...

Donkey Kong

Go mall blow Aircon.. walk walk exercise.. utility bill now expensive so go blow free Aircon in the mall

TheSilentBang

As long it serve the purposes of a neighbourhood mall can alrdy lar. I don't see how unique a shopping mall can be. That 1 just Leave it to the town area

terriblee

Question should be why sg so crazy about malls. Things like nature park and outdoor they don’t go much unlike in the west

GoldenMile

Sg is an expensive place to set up business so only the chain stores owned by conglomerates operate here that’s why you see all same same everywhere

-Hera-

Nothing to do in Sg except makan and shop. Sg really boring place no wonder so many sinkies every weekend chiong JB

VIPHUAT888

Malaysia mall better.
Malaysia everything better. My wife did her aesthetic beauty in Malaysia because Singapore did not widely approve. Below the shop is a clothing shop. Wide array leh.

standarture

Sg is an expensive place to set up business so only the chain stores owned by conglomerates operate here that’s why you see all same same everywhere
Actually the opposite is mostly worse. Small brands dont work in malls. I see some malls are basically dead towns because nobody is interested in niche or small brands. Niche or small brands should belong in some small shopping street or mini mall.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.