Why are Singaporeans so entitled and self-centered?

identity_1991

Just like my dad. When he doesn’t get what he wants from the airport staff or the polyclinic staff, he will shout at the staff with full confidence as though it’s a valid point and say “I am Singaporean you know?!”

And to me: Singapore big fug ah?

kuma-mon

Just like my dad. When he doesn’t get what he wants from the airport staff or the polyclinic, he will say shout at the staff and say “I am Singaporean you know?!”
Lol then the airport staff not singaporean?

hctawsgs

Why Singaporeans like to complain and kpkb about other Singaporeans ah?

KPKB that commuters blocking the train doors when non-singaporeans also do the same

KPKB drivers anyhow drive when non-singaporeans also do the same

KPKB about being rude to service staff when non-singaporeans also do the same

KPKB being too competitive and always comparing when non-singaporeans also do the same

KPKB KPKB KPKB KPKB..... :s8:

goodluckchuck3

totally agree , but why? i dont know, self induced ATAS mindset being one of the richest society in asia

yukirin92

Take public transport must chiong to be the first to board and disregard others along the way. During peak periods always crowd near exits instead of moving in to let more people board. All must chiong for the empty seats,

Old boomers always like to do this, standing in front of the sliding doors then chiong right for the reserved seat once the doors open.

We are only about 3 generations removed from the coolie era, can't expect much I guess.

Mochazzz

Lol then the airport staff not singaporean?

Last year, when boarding flight from Osaka to SG, one Singaporean couple in their late 40s/ early 50s disregarded the boarding order as the plane was boarding those seated at the back first. When the Japanese staff refused to board them and ask them to wait till their row is called, they shouted at the Japanese staff for a good 10 minutes and the staff ended up apologizing and letting them go through.

I was so embarrassed to be a Singaporean at that point in time.

AuraKUPO

Because my time is more precious than yours. So you should let me go first

Purplestars

All learn from the top which is PAP capitalism behaviour.

How many times have LHL encouraged Sinkies to steal lunches?

You look at Shan's behaviour and you think that is what you should aspire to.

Until our role models change, Sinkies will remain like that.

orpisia

We got kiasu gian png character

Everything must have

Must have upper hand over others

AuraKUPO

Last year, when boarding flight from Osaka to SG, one Singaporean couple in their late 40s/ early 50s disregarded the boarding order as the plane was boarding those seated at the back first. When the Japanese staff refused to board them and ask them to wait till their row is called, they shouted at the Japanese staff for a good 10 minutes and the staff ended up apologizing and letting them go through.

I was so embarrassed to be a Singaporean at that point in time.
Japanese can be hypocrite one. They in front of you say sorry and let you board the plane, but behind you they put you in blacklist

KosmoKramer

Take public transport must chiong to be the first to board and disregard others along the way. During peak periods always crowd near exits instead of moving in to let more people board. All must chiong for the empty seats,

On the roads always chionging and overtaking like rushing to someone's funeral, even if there's a red light in front and there's no point to drive so recklessly. When someone signals to move into their lane, many would accelerate even faster to not allow this. If someone makes a minor mistake on the road, horn until like no tomorrow, but if ownself make mistake, then it's just an honest mistake ma.

Came across too many cases of Singaporeans being rude and demanding to service staff, speaking to them in a very condescending tone when their expectations or special requests are not met. Be it in F&B, retail, transport or elsewhere, and sadly not just within Singapore but when they are overseas too. Even for things beyond control of service staff.

Comparing and competing with one another in all aspects of life, always preaching to other people on having to make the best or right decisions from their own perspective else be looked down upon.

Everything can also complain until no tomorrow.

How come like that?
Errant smokers think that they are entitled to smoke everywhere

yukirin92

All learn from the top which is PAP capitalism behaviour.

How many times have LHL encouraged Sinkies to steal lunches?

You look at Shan's behaviour and you think that is what you should aspire to.

Until our role models change, Sinkies will remain like that.

PAP may have many flaws and snafus but does anyone really look up to them as role models :spin:

yukirin92

Errant smokers think that they are entitled to smoke everywhere

This really grinds my gears, especially now during rainy season where you will see them smoking under shelter and/or within 1m of bus stops.

Want to smoke but can't even be bothered to bring along an umbrella.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.