Why boomers so particular about festivals?

hawthorne

Things like Dongzhi, which is totally irrelevant to SG as we got no 4 seasons.

Other stuffs like mooncake festival, or dragonboat festival. It's becomes so commercialized until mooncakes and dumplings prices all jacked up

Me4myself

It some occasions where parent hope to gather the family for unity.

But now, family members gather to dog eat dog bone.

hawthorne

Singapore has no winter too but

Why in your analogy, are people particular

About Xmas?
The sole reason for Dongzhi is becos of the 4 seasons. Xmas just happened to fall during the winter. So not apple apple comparison

Full_Cream_Milk

The sole reason for Dongzhi is becos of the 4 seasons. Xmas just happened to fall during the winter. So not apple apple comparison
The Chinese New Year celebrates the herald of Spring.

Do you dislike people being particular about

It too?

Dilemma6

Other stuffs like mooncake festival, or dragonboat festival. It's becomes so commercialized until mooncakes and dumplings prices all jacked up

They grew up celebrating it, its part of their culture and life experience
This kind of things need to ask one meh? common sense what

Quala98

cos before our ancestor came here, they practice Dong Zhi back in Qing Dynasty.. so they brought it here despite there is no winter, which they dun understand why

their descendants then continue and until our gen, it becomes yet another day that we gorge ourselves with food

Lareina

In those days they can only afford to look forward to holidays for treats.
Now all sorts of food available anytime of the year and cheaper liao. Actually nothing to look forward to.
For them, probably is a habit already. Since they like to keep thinking about the past.

mfbatzap

When you get older, and have kids, maybe you would also?

Partly I guess they want the culture to be preserved by the next generations, be it Chinese or Malay.

One thing they worry is that the younger generations will bring them shame for not even knowing some of the ethnic practices of your own culture (esp. when the kids gonna get married). I mean, 'saving face' and asian values go quite closely ma, right?

Also, as parents I think they find such things easier to 'celebrate' with their kids, other than bdays la.

I'm a Millennial and as I grow older, I do start to appreciate the different festivities. Unfortunately, the recipes are long gone with my grandparents. My parents tried to replicate but different man. All these good stuff lost as the generations progress.

Yvaine

Dongzhi not just about the season la, it's about family reunion too

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.