Why boomers so particular about festivals?

kittyklysm

its just an excuse for the elders to gather everyone at their house la, if no festival no ang pow, you all will visit your elders or not? Old peopler are all lonely but they don't dare to say, cause they don't want to sound self important, they also scared that the younger gen don't care about them anymore.

benedium

Same reason for cpf. Not everyone will bother or know how otherwise. Traditions and institutions alike.

Goh Chai Fatt

i dont give a fug unless got holiday or free snowskin mooncake. dumpling price jacked up meh? means can bring and give to customers also?

keewee0415

Same reason as why some girls very particular about anniversaries ba.

Btw, since most edmwers are BBFAs, I reckon we encounter boomers more than girls, so no one ever opened a thread complaining about girls wanting to celebrate so many bo liao anniversaries throughout the year.

eggie011

It's a way to mark the passage of time. Otherwise, every day will look like every other day and become a long blur.

lazyclimb

Just like Halloween & St Patrick's Day, people just want a reason to get together and mingle

ramlee

Same reason as why some girls very particular about anniversaries ba.

Btw, since most edmwers are BBFAs, I reckon we encounter boomers more than girls, so no one ever opened a thread complaining about girls wanting to celebrate so many bo liao anniversaries throughout the year.
she wants to celebrate good. can make her drunk to piak piak afterwards :(

elmohootbigbird

aiya the latest gen all just caught up with different crap. what's the diff? what gender reveal.. simi hen night.. bachelor's party.. graduation trip.. pot calling the kettle black la.

keewee0415

she wants to celebrate good. can make her drunk to piak piak afterwards :(
Like boomers, girls like to celebrate these types of anniversaries in their own ways.
Can only talk about piak piak if you exceed her expectations and I mean just “talk” only.
If she doesn’t want to drink then her wish has to be expected.

Plow98

Things like Dongzhi, which is totally irrelevant to SG as we got no 4 seasons.

Other stuffs like mooncake festival, or dragonboat festival. It's becomes so commercialized until mooncakes and dumplings prices all jacked up
Boomers are right with their traditional practices.
Traditions help to remind us of what we are
Where came from and the events that became part of our lives.
Traditions are links connecting generations
Bond us as a people, a race that is unique and wonderful.
Ramadan, CNY, Deepavali, Dongzhi, Xmas,
For Chinese, over the past 5 millennia, we accumulated plenty of festivals
Dongzhi aka Winter Solstice is but one. (21st Dec 2021)

ramlee

Boomers are right with their traditional practices.
Traditions help to remind us of what we are
Where came from and the events that became part of our lives.
Traditions are links connecting generations
Bond us as a people, a race that is unique and wonderful.
Ramadan, CNY, Deepavali, Dongzhi, Xmas,
For Chinese, over the past 5 millennia, we accumulated plenty of festivals
Dongzhi aka Winter Solstice is but one. (21st Dec 2021)
立春 is another. remember to deposit marnee on that day :(

kimsix

different era experience loh

our era of edmwer ish like to stealth flex their 5C and holiday trips :o

younger era is IG, tiktok and cancel culture :o

Daty41

better than the so many days we have now...world/international ______ day (fill in the blank) almost every week for 1 "special" day

soon we will have World Pfizer day, World Mordena day (because inevitably they will take over Govs soon as everybody will need their shots every 6 months until the day they die....)

70niner

Same reason why EDMW automatically discuss academic stuff on Sundays....

It's a habit that became a culture

Deep fried

Other stuffs like mooncake festival, or dragonboat festival. It's becomes so commercialized until mooncakes and dumplings prices all jacked up
Most of our ancestors come from places with 4 seasons. To mark the end of a year of hard work before winter comes, they celebrate and make offerings to the Gods. They can't work on the farms during winter, so they live on their harvest until Spring comes when they can start to work again.

Festivals are our way of celebrating, renewing our faith and bonding as a community. This is what made us more human ... at least in the past.

jumping_pea

do u celebrate x'mas?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.