why do people still use NETS when they can use paywave?

addict951

I still use nets leh. because it has some history, it is convenient, everywhere can use, everywhere got the portable nets pos machine in every retail shop.
paywave not everywhere can use. especially heartland traditional shops.

There are still merchants who doesn't accept pay wave. At most NETs

Some shops don't have paywave

I still use nets, even can tap and pay I still prefer the card insertion then key password method.
The whole point of contactless payment is cos of convenience & you dun need to touch any equipment so you won’t risk picking up nasty stuff. More so in this pandemic/covid era.
Still got kampong ppl purposely wanna touch touch there and press the keypad??? 🤦🏻‍♂️🤦🏻‍♂️🤦🏻‍♂️

standarture

The whole point of contactless payment is cos of convenience & you dun need to touch any equipment so you won’t risk picking up nasty stuff. More so in this pandemic/covid era.
Still got kampong ppl purposely wanna touch touch there and press the keypad??? 🤦🏻‍♂️🤦🏻‍♂️🤦🏻‍♂️

Actually, spreading through lift buttons or keypads or handrails or whatever is almost non-existent lol. Restaurants and F&Bs are the real killers.

tokong

Yes, you got it right, paywave is a term coined by VISA originally

and yes, you are right again. A lot of edmwers do not quali for cc actually. That day got 1 edmwer claimed he use cc to pay telco bill nia. Everything else use cash. Like wtf 🤦🏻‍♂️🤷‍♂️

Why must you discriminate people like that. It is people's choice. You are not the one paying for the edmwer, not using your money you huanlo. I also sometimes pay my phone bills at 7 eleven because it is convenient. i pay my PUB bills using GIRO because utility this kind of thing is permanent and won't likely change, so can use GIRO. I have a mastercard but I don't really use it, kept in my cupboard. In my wallet I have only my nets and my phone's paylah. that is quite enough what. don't understand nowadays young people, everything credit card? siao boh. credit card information is the most easy to get stolen, that is why nowadays you see some edmwers from time to time complain about non-existent transaction or other foreign people buying things overseas using their credit card info.

There is a reason for all types of payments to exist. To make it convenient for people, both locals and foreigners, young and old.

standarture

Why must you discriminate people like that. It is people's choice. You are not the one paying for the edmwer, not using your money you huanlo. I also sometimes pay my phone bills at 7 eleven because it is convenient. i pay my PUB bills using GIRO because utility this kind of thing is permanent and won't likely change, so can use GIRO. I have a mastercard but I don't really use it, kept in my cupboard. In my wallet I have only my nets and my phone's paylah. that is quite enough what. don't understand nowadays young people, everything credit card? siao boh. credit card information is the most easy to get stolen, that is why nowadays you see some edmwers from time to time complain about non-existent transaction or other foreign people buying things overseas using their credit card info.

There is a reason for all types of payments to exist. To make it convenient for people, both locals and foreigners, young and old.

Haha but the cashback is too good to give up. 2-4% cashback for spending is kind of no brainer. I don't save any card details on websites so is ok. Imagine every month, you get back $40-$60, add up is a lot.

addict951

Actually I was leeferring to glariel.
I din know you r so kampong too. :crazy:
Has it never occur to you, rike you go shop pay their cctv capture your card lumbers liao, you press pin, alamak, the cctv on top or nearby all capture your keystrokes liao :look:
At home use the mobile AXS app to pay, you dun have to show kard or need to press pin :look:

Wukong99

Paywave, nets or other contactless are fine for me. But what's wrong paying with cash. Got so difficult just to pull wallet out from back pocket? draw few hundred keep in wallet so difficult?

Must everything also need to keep up with so call "trend".

Don't understand why people 呱里呱叫 over such trivial matter?

mubz96

Not just you, Visa really spent quite a bit to promote its paywave brand.
:D
Now just say paywave at payment counter is assumed contactless (NFC) payment, doesn't matter visa or mastercard or even what payment app since the the terminal reader will detect it.

but a few reataurants and fastfoods i went to ask me whether the "paywave" card is visa or masters. Wonder what could be the reason behind the cashiers asking if the payment terminal is universal?

addict951

i use paywave also use physical card leh
But Huai still use physical kard? Cos scare got RFID fraud also.
Add to phone can use everywhere mah
If you scare then switch off the NFC mah :look:

tokong

Haha but the cashback is too good to give up. 2-4% cashback for spending is kind of no brainer. I don't save any card details on websites so is ok. Imagine every month, you get back $40-$60, add up is a lot.

Of course everyone pays differently la. I only use my mastercard while traveling. even while i am traveling i still use cash as far as possible. My company gave me a corporate mastercard, so basically I use my corporate card more than my own card.

Don't understand why go NTUC or Sheng Siong need to use mastercard to pay, nets can liao mah, anyway they will have points credited to your membership what. at the end of the year chinese new year time very good to use.

addict951

but a few reataurants and fastfoods i went to ask me whether the "paywave" card is visa or masters. Wonder what could be the reason behind the cashiers asking if the payment terminal is universal?
They also start asking whick bank now, for some merchants:look:

fluid_motion

Likely never upgrade their ancient POS. If you do self-service at checkout terminal at fairprice, when you make payment there is credit/debit card option, no such thing as visa or mastercard.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.