Will AMD completely cut off support for older processors?

Phen8210

As you all know, the bios for 4000 if you update to it means older cpu will no longer be supported. Will 1000, 2000 and 3000 all cut off and leave support only for 4000 after the bios update?

Will this happen or some still will stay? I am very curious on the approach they are planning to only allow selected users download the one way bios.

watzup_ken

I don't believe upgrading to the new BIOS will cut everything out. It may depends on which gen you are upgrading from. I suspect if you need to upgrade from Ryzen 1 to 4 series, you may have support for these 2 generations since you will need the old chip to flash the board to support gen 4 in the first place before you swap the CPU out.

I agree that it likely depends on how motherboard makers will manage. If they can save sufficient space to store as many gens as possible, why not.

As you all know, the bios for 4000 if you update to it means older cpu will no longer be supported. Will 1000, 2000 and 3000 all cut off and leave support only for 4000 after the bios update?

Will this happen or some still will stay? I am very curious on the approach they are planning to only allow selected users download the one way bios.

You can roll back to previous bios version.
No matter how still better than knn Intel, who force people to change mobo.

watzup_ken

Its a win win for Intel. First they get revenue for sale of "new" motherboard chipset, and they don't have to worry about managing issues like EEPROM with insufficient space.

hafiz116

The news is still up in the air as there is talk about loosing the ability to downgrade and that they are looking to validate that the user does have a 4000 series CPU before allowing the software to be downloaded. Also there was talk about NOT all 400 series motherboards being able to upgrade to 4000 series CPU's - this seems to have a direct relation to the the BIOS storage capacity.

I guess only time will tell as to how much of the latest news becomes reality.

hellspawn_one

The news is still up in the air as there is talk about loosing the ability to downgrade and that they are looking to validate that the user does have a 4000 series CPU before allowing the software to be downloaded. Also there was talk about NOT all 400 series motherboards being able to upgrade to 4000 series CPU's - this seems to have a direct relation to the the BIOS storage capacity.

I guess only time will tell as to how much of the latest news becomes reality.

most likely not all 400 series mobo can support 4000 series.
Then will be a very messy landscape, imagine Asus ROG B450 can support, but Asus TUF B450 cannot and MSI X470 also cannot. Then MSI and Asus will come out a version 2 of the same X470 and B450 name series that CAN support.

hafiz116

most likely not all 400 series mobo can support 4000 series.
Then will be a very messy landscape, imagine Asus ROG B450 can support, but Asus TUF B450 cannot and MSI X470 also cannot. Then MSI and Asus will come out a version 2 of the same X470 and B450 name series that CAN support.

Agreed - AMD need to think carefully before making the next move because whats been talked about sounds way too messy.

NightRaven49

go and read their announcement again, they say once u upgrade to the bios that support zen 3, cannot downgrade bios to older version.

anyway I haven't heard of the specifics of this move, dropped cpus should depend on the motherboard's bios size and thus is model specific.

go and read their announcement again, they say once u upgrade to the bios that support zen 3, cannot downgrade bios to older version.

anyway I haven't heard of the specifics of this move, dropped cpus should depend on the motherboard's bios size and thus is model specific.

What the heck.
Update bios liao cannot downgrade.
Really lack of storage space for bios until so jialat?

Phen8210

What the heck.

because board manufacturer all think every generation people need to change board, therefore put small size rom inside :/

xonix

I seem to recall AMD mentioned it will be non-reversable once BIOS is upgraded.

Rashkae

because board manufacturer all think every generation people need to change board, therefore put small size rom inside :/

No. The cost between the mass market 16 ROM and the MAX 32 is quite big actually.

It's just that ehe Ryzen first launched, Motherboard makers did not expect much from AMD and so did not invest into high quality components etc. It's only with the 4xx series where we started seeing premium boards and now the x570 ones are quite good (except for the s#it MSI ones)

Phen8210

I seem to recall AMD mentioned it will be non-reversable once BIOS is upgraded.

yes they mentioned that, this is why i made this thread. Suspect the new bios really need that much space?

NightRaven49

What the heck.

i think is more due to amd wanting to ensure that b450 out of the box support 1st to 3rd gen ryzen, then only upgrade to 4th gen only if the user wants to and is sure of it so not as to create confusion.

hellspawn_one

Agreed - AMD need to think carefully before making the next move because whats been talked about sounds way too messy.

on one hand, it is easier to cut off support and redefine the requirement for 4000 series to the board manufacturers. Like what Intel is doing every 2 gen. It make things easier for consumer to choose which board support which gen of CPU.

On the other hand, AMD is afraid of what the consumer will think of them. They have been underdog for so long, now that it is their time to shine, they are afraid of angering the enthusiast crowd and running risk of causing a tonne of mess on what board can support what CPU.

Phen8210

on one hand, it is easier to cut off support and redefine the requirement for 4000 series to the board manufacturers. Like what Intel is doing every 2 gen. It make things easier for consumer to choose which board support which gen of CPU.

On the other hand, AMD is afraid of what the consumer will think of them. They have been underdog for so long, now that it is their time to shine, they are afraid of angering the enthusiast crowd and running risk of causing a tonne of mess on what board can support what CPU.

by them continuing suppor, it also makes sure ppl wont go back to intel, because if need change board means they are open to other platforms as well.

Rashkae

yes they mentioned that, this is why i made this thread. Suspect the new bios really need that much space?

It's because of the file structure. Rling back has a high failure/RMA chance.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.