will eplanetworld.com replace sls?

Ark Law

I don't think TS is trying to promote the stated websites, if you've seen his posting nature from the past....

wwenze

Why u guys still bother to humor threadstarter

+1 b4 rock+band

MoneyFace =p

this new eplanetworld.com like got all the DIY parts and local warranty and free shipping

finally somebody figure that going to sls have to walk around so many shops asking price and after buying have to take taxi bring home so many things

now that 2nd chance selling its sls strata units to reit, prices of diy components is likely to go up up up

why not sit at home, click and deliver home free shipping?

think distro find it hard to start as they cannot ask competitors to display their products in the same estore hence while they have their own e-store not much people buy due to lack of variety

now got independent party set up local e-store ahead of newegg malaysia who have closed down and even the us store while cheaper have no local warranty

why didn't hwz start an e-store when it has the media and distro behind it?

even challenger, harvey norman and courts didn't catch the e-store train while they have an online portal, it is hard to buy things especially DIY parts

while the margin is low for an e-store, it doesn't have the overhead or rental of a physical shop, once the volume builds up, we could be looking at an electronic redmart in the making

the missing piece is the assembly service in sls which can be easily resolved once the portal add free assembly if you buy more than S$1,000

change is cuming

will funan, sls and it shows disappear once online shopping for it products starts to rise due to the rise of local portal with warranty?

keekeekee :s22:

I bet u owns that web store portal. :s8:

micheloving

That kind of prices how to attract singaporeans?Sure end up like potterhouse one in the long run.

ykgoh

Not vested in any stores.

Honestly, eplanetworld bky lah, at this stage.

Product variety lose to Bizgram, Video Pro and MyNextCom already.

Price-wise, a quick browse tells me they're the same or higher than those SLS shops with online shopping portal above. So not competitive.

If eplanetworld wants to snatch customers from these traditional SLS shops, be prepared to offer better prices than SLS and customer service like customer protection, price matching or accept easy no-question asked returns to build up reputation.

If cannot do it, then no point. The cost savings from not having a physical shop must translate to your price.

ykgoh

Actually I also dunno how Cyberactive can survive so long. Price not competitive compared to SLS. But their outlets in neighbourhood shopping malls make them more readily accessible for small items and people who stay far away from SLS.

But then I rather get from Challenger in this case and they're everywhere.

Hailgod

Actually I also dunno how Cyberactive can survive so long. Price not competitive compared to SLS. But their outlets in neighbourhood shopping malls make them more readily accessible for small items and people who stay far away from SLS.

There are people who doesn't know SLS exist lol. Mynextcom is the best choice if you don't want to travel to SLS in my opinion.

shadow84

Cyberactive is for lazy ppl who dun wan go SLS, or their house too far frm SLS. So pay extra to get same thing lor.

shadow84

Or if you're not careful, more ex than Challenger :s13:

Challenger price shld be the benchmark for high price le... Those that sell higher, already prepare chopping board and chopper le... Just waiting for customers to willingly put their head there nia.

MichaelTan

Hi guys. The owner of epw messaged me who is this uncle168 actually I don't know.

But since this thread is about epw, let me just clarify that Convergent is one of the distributor who supply to this Web store customer. Epw is one of our customers. He buy same price from us like the SLS dealers, but he offer free delivery.

We believe that eplanetworld.com is a retail channel which supplements SLS. They are a large large company, bigger than most companies in Singapore, traditionally selling handphones and handling e-store and edelivery for handphones bought from Singapore mobile phone portals, they have expanded to IT now.

The guy who runs most of this is a geek and his dream is to make Singapore IT retail more efficient. I personally hope greedy landlords who are killing IT retail and most other Singapore businesses in Singapore today get the message and start charging lower rent.

I think eplanetworld.com does represent a good step to Singapore being more of an e-commerce nation. They can handle inventory size very big, and their special system which they develop for many years to deliver handphones fast, they can deliver within 24 to 48 hours I think.

I like advancement, so I am willing to give eplanetworld.com a try and every chance at success. They have the resources to make it happen, more than most. If you guys want a Newegg in Singapore, this is probably the best bet.

In the meantime, SLS is my love of my life since I was young, and SLS shops also change so much in the past 2 years, we are brainstorming all ways to make SLS greater.

For us, the more variety of our products we can offer to you, we are happy.

shadow84

But, the fact that it is selling at a higher price than mynextcom already give your shop -1 point le.

To most of us here, price comes first. Before all other things like his personal goals for the IT scene in SG, etc...

A shop selling at RRP is just another shop. But, a shop selling below RRP will be well noted of.

ykgoh

Thanks MichaelTan for the clarification. I believe you're a representative from distro Convergent speaking on behalf of your retailer.

I also believe uncle168 is not astroturfing or an EPW IB, but more of trying to discuss whether E-Commerce would replace brick-and-mortar retail shops. This concept has been discussed till death since year 2000 about the potentials and limitations of e-commerce.

uncle168 himself is a patron of Challenger for his PC peripherals and gadgets, and so he's a consumer like many of us. However, I'm not sure if he was aware of existing online portals like Bizgram, Video Pro and MyNextCom Online when he suggested ePlanetWorld.

MichaelTan

So the boss read or not? Good feedback from the forummers who taught me everything I know about this retail scape.

MichaelTan

I uncle 168 mentioned eplanetworld.com in terms of resources. I was told that eplanetworld.com is actually formed by a rebellious anti establishment kind of maverick, who couldn't fit into Singapore technologies culture and he requested to his bosses to make a Newegg for Singapore. He picked outside people and kids to make the site instead of government people from inside government, everybody is maverick type. Because this is not controlled by the usual government ******** I guess that's why it grew fast.

I guess he would fine tune these things like prices. But he got balls and resources, I and also he don't have a retail store, he got more freedom with prices.

This is a good discussion.

ykgoh

I uncle 168 mentioned eplanetworld.com in terms of resources. I was told that eplanetworld.com is actually formed by a rebellious anti establishment kind of maverick, who couldn't fit into Singapore technologies culture and he requested to his bosses to make a Newegg for Singapore. He picked outside people and kids to make the site instead of government people from inside government, everybody is maverick type. Because this is not controlled by the usual government ******** I guess that's why it grew fast.

I guess he would fine tune these things like prices. But he got balls and resources, I and also he don't have a retail store, he got more freedom with prices.

This is a good discussion.

Nice to hear this. I hope EPW boss declares a cutthroat price war in IT retail against the established ones. :D

Imo, I think the spurs are not stuck on the retailers' hinds. They are part of the herd, why-price-lower? But when you’re lagging behind, you must price lower to catch up with the herd. I’m quite sure that there are rebellious anti establishment kind of maverick who strive arduously. ;)

Mystyque

I think it's a good idea to buy from EPW than SLS.

Think about it, in order to get parts from SLS, most of us would need to spend maybe additional $5 so the price difference will be bigger especially if you are buying a $10 mouse.

The 2 hours or so that it takes will be major loss of productivity, imagine if your keyboard/mouse/router kaput or your HDD got bad sectors and still need to wait 2 hours before you can set it up and replace it.

It's better to order from EPW, take leave/off and wait at home the next day or maybe the day (or maybe ask your wife/parents to wait instead) after since deliveries often cock up. Maybe whole family can stay home and have quality family time together :o

Plus since EPW is local, if the wrong item is delivered or DOA, you don't have to spend 2 hours going back to SLS to get a replacement, just contact them and can enjoy taking leave again the next day :D

MichaelTan

OMG mystyque, my old bro, how are you? I still think of you every time.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.