Will getting a master’s boost your pay?

BuZhiDaoLeh

Tbh its not worth it if you are paying for the Masters' yourself. A degree is more than sufficient.

Rather put the $$ for Masters' into stocks.

unless its sponsored

Yuen123

2 scenarios I observed:
1. You pay for your own master degree - unlikely it will help.
2. Your employer sponsor your master degree - likely it will help. They only pick those they want to promote and most likely there will be a bond too.

nasfieldjohn

ft towkay wants to hire cheaper faster better ft
wai he need to pay maor for masters sinkies to lessen his profit

5adisticD3vil

depending on your job type loh

might not have any effect on your current job but you can up your asking package for future job.

unless you're doing some really niche program/study, normal degree should suffice bah
you have master degree, there are 10000 other same as you.
you prolly should use the money for better use
unless money is peanuts to you then by all means go ahead.

Cokacola

i got one friend very funny take masters then become property agent, la kopi with O level ah beng ah sengs agents who earns more than him since they started much earlier..

blue666

unless company pays setting a role

Master in general won;t get anywhere. The requirement in job market is able to create extra ordinary value which AI can't

keewee0415

Follow the right master will let you go a long way.

Follow the wrong 主公 and you might lose everything.

camoguysg

If take master in a different field can get the job?
I think it helps if u are planning to switch careers. For example I have Bsc degree. Last time when I applied to corporate or business related positions, the interviewers will ask why I want to work in corporate industry when my degree is science or engineering related, even though i already had work experience. It was kinda annoying because I already started working in corporate roles since graduation. Hence I went on to do a masters in marketing. It didn't help me with job promotion, but it does help to land me where I am now...same.job for more than 10 years haha

Laguna123

I think it helps if u are planning to switch careers. For example I have Bsc degree. Last time when I applied to corporate or business related positions, the interviewers will ask why I want to work in corporate industry when my degree is science or engineering related, even though i already had work experience. It was kinda annoying because I already started working in corporate roles since graduation. Hence I went on to do a masters in marketing instead. It didn't help me with job promotion, but it does help to land me where I am now...same.job for more than 10 years haha
So you are in a marketing role now? Actually master got teach the basic of the industry if you starting as a fresh?

dereth

During the 90s, I remember the buzzword was MBA.

"Everybody was MBA studying.... Hooo Haaa!"

I remember having aspirations like that, until I got disillusioned and was kicked out of JC.

shodan99

I took it when I just graduated cos I wanted to experience overseas studies. As I progressed in my career, it helped somewhat as I'm in a related industry.

Bachelor in engineering then a master in bio engineering

camoguysg

So you are in a marketing role now? Actually master got teach the basic of the industry if you starting as a fresh?
Yes it does. Even though I studied some finance, business related modules when I was in Nus, but they still see the degree as science. So I think the masters help to reinforce my interest and "knowledge " to apply for their position. Yes my work now entails marketing responsibilities, but also includes project management and processes.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.