Will making

edwinttt1978

Brought my father to make a will. After questioning from the lawyer, the lawyer refused her service saying my father was not in a position to make a will :s13::s13::s13:

I asked my lawyer who applied LOA for me in 2009, whether can he make a will for my 90 yo aunty. He replied that he needs my aunt to have medical certification. Told him that's not convenient for my aunt. In the end he gave me the will (foc) to let my aunt find her own witnesses and sign the will.

Sometimes, it is better for lawyers not to do certain transactions that could return to haunt them.

qazamy

Beginning of this month, I applied for LOA. All-in charge $1350.

Sian...feel like I kenna chopped...googled around and most seem to be around $1200...then mine grant of probate and make a will already $1500...:(

What done is done bah...can't cry over spilled milk...:(

henrylbh

Sian...feel like I kenna chopped...googled around and most seem to be around $1200...then mine grant of probate and make a will already $1500...:(

What done is done bah...can't cry over spilled milk...:(

$1,500 includes court fee and lawyer disbursements?

In 2009, my LOA cost $1,500 excluding disbursements of $800.

bradybunch

ehhhhhhhhhh so i need to check if the flat is joint tenancy or under tenancy in common?
I think jointly held assets can be willed.

The principle of survivorship applies to jointly held assets, and therefore if you are not the last surviving owner on your death then it will not form part of your estate and therefore will not be given out according to your will. The courts will just use the principle of ademption and ignore the part that deals with the jointly held asset.

So can put in will, just that if you're not the surviving owner then it will not pass according to your will. But if you are the surviving owner then it will be considered yours, the survivorship won't apply and it'll pass according to your will.

If both joint owners don't put in will then go intestate, lagi jialat.

I think the new platform that got featured on zaobao - I think its called willcraft or willcraftnow allows your to put joint assets into your will and handles the ademption thing in the will. Apparently they also just launched a new feature that allows your to get your will reviewed by a lawyer at $49, after drafting it online at $99. So much cheaper than going to a lawyer and asking them to draft from scratch!

Urbanchap

2 questions:
1) Can executor be also a beneficiary of my will
2) Do I hv to explicitly list out all my bank & trading accounts? Or can I just state generally "All banking accts and trading accts held under my name" or something like. As I open new accts from time to time, I dun want to hv to amend my will each time.

qhong61

2 questions:
2) Do I hv to explicitly list out all my bank & trading accounts? Or can I just state generally "All banking accts and trading accts held under my name" or something like. As I open new accts from time to time, I dun want to hv to amend my will each time.
Yes and no.

yoongf

Most executor are one of the beneficieries. Motivates them to faster close case n move on.
Witnesses cannot be beneficiaries.

Best to list all but not necessary.

2 questions:

SKenny

edwinttt1978

Most executor are one of the beneficieries. Motivates them to faster close case n move on.
Witnesses cannot be beneficiaries.

Best to list all but not necessary.

Witnesses can be beneficiaries.
However, beneficiaries who are witnesses cannot take a benefit under the will. A duly executed will does not become invalid by virtue of beneficiaries being witnesses. [Wills Act, section 10 Gifts to attesting witness or to wife or husband of attesting witness to be void]

https://sso.agc.gov.sg/Act/WA1838?ViewType=Pdf&_=20170326174929

edwinttt1978

2 questions:

1) Yes.
2) No. A will speaks from its death. So, at the time of death, “All banking accts and trading accts held under my name” would have been covered.

luvpraline

If one does not have any next-of-kin left and did not inform anyone about the will, how will the law firm find out about the death?

Urbanchap

If one does not have any next-of-kin left and did not inform anyone about the will, how will the law firm find out about the death?

Yeah, I also wonder how that's going to work out.

The reason why I'm thinking of getting a law firm to be executor is bcos I dun trust my family to do it, since I'm thinking of not leaving anything for them in my will :s13: They can just throw my will away and rely on the law to get a share :eek:

SKenny

Yeah, I also wonder how that's going to work out.

The reason why I'm thinking of getting a law firm to be executor is bcos I dun trust my family to do it, since I'm thinking of not leaving anything for them in my will :s13: They can just throw my will away and rely on the law to get a share :eek:

Leave your will in a place accessible by your executor is a good option. After all he/she is the one who will be ensuring that your wish is carried out.

Alternatively leave it with one of your beneficiary.

Urbanchap

Leave your will in a place accessible by your executor is a good option. After all he/she is the one who will be ensuring that your wish is carried out.

Alternatively leave it with one of your beneficiary.

I'm thinking of giving away to charity. So beneficiary is not a person.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.