Will making

twinklingstars

Hi everyone, I'm looking for a lawyer to make a will. My will is very simple, I would like to donate everything I have (CPF, insurance payouts, cash savings etc) to charities, including the HDB that I own, but my sibling is the essential occupier. Main thing is I do not wish to pass on anything to my sibling, especially for the HDB. In this case, is there a possibility that he will get to inherit this flat should I pass on, since he is the essential occupier? He has no other property.

Also, is it a must to get witness??

rkesin

Hi everyone, I'm looking for a lawyer to make a will. My will is very simple, I would like to donate everything I have (CPF, insurance payouts, cash savings etc) to charities, including the HDB that I own, but my sibling is the essential occupier. Main thing is I do not wish to pass on anything to my sibling, especially for the HDB. In this case, is there a possibility that he will get to inherit this flat should I pass on, since he is the essential occupier? He has no other property.

Disclaimer: this is not legal advice. Please do your own due diligence and research too. Things below may not be correct and may be inaccurate

For the CPF monies, you need to make a CPF nomination (can be to an organization), CPF monies cannot be included in your will. The rest should be able to be included in your will. If you own the HDB outright and no other parties have any equitable interest in the property, it should be yours to do as you please as per your will.

Both the CPF nomination and will must be witnessed. For the CPF nomination you will have to source your own witnesses. For the will, sometimes the law firm can provide witnesses (usually other lawyers or paralegals at the firm).

Again, proper legal advice is better than what I can tell you, the lawyer you get to draft your will should be able to advise you. Please do not accept what I say at face value and please seek advice from legal professionals.

yoongf

Have u discussed this with the executor of your will?

.... Main thing is I do not wish to pass on anything to my sibling, especially for the HDB. In this case, is there a possibility that he will get to inherit this flat should I pass on, since he is the essential occupier? He has no other property.

qhong61

Disclaimer: this is not legal advice. Please do your own due diligence and research too. Things below may not be correct and may be inaccurate

For the CPF monies, you need to make a CPF nomination (can be to an organization), CPF monies cannot be included in your will. The rest should be able to be included in your will. If you own the HDB outright and no other parties have any equitable interest in the property, it should be yours to do as you please as per your will.

Both the CPF nomination and will must be witnessed. For the CPF nomination you will have to source your own witnesses. For the will, sometimes the law firm can provide witnesses (usually other lawyers or paralegals at the firm).

Again, proper legal advice is better than what I can tell you, the lawyer you get to draft your will should be able to advise you. Please do not accept what I say at face value and please seek advice from legal professionals.
Why so mean to ur bro?

mummynew

This kind of will in my opinion is best to go to a lawyer to have it draft out and be witnessed by the lawyer and his/her assistant.

The content looks simple enough and so may cost about $250 - $350.

I have a close friend who has intentions similar to yours, gifting all her assets (millions) to charities instead of to her siblings. This kind of will may get contested and so better be done under a lawyer properly.

twinklingstars

Have u discussed this with the executor of your will?

Is it a must to appoint an executor? Both my parents have passed on years ago, no close relatives and I do not wish to get my relatives involved.

Thanks for the advice, for the CPF nominations, witness can be friends?

My sibling did not make a single contribution to the flat payment and hence I do not want him to inherit the flat.

twinklingstars

This kind of will in my opinion is best to go to a lawyer to have it draft out and be witnessed by the lawyer and his/her assistant.

The content looks simple enough and so may cost about $250 - $350.

I have a close friend who has intentions similar to yours, gifting all her assets (millions) to charities instead of to her siblings. This kind of will may get contested and so better be done under a lawyer properly.

Thank you, my will is very simple and I do not have too many complicated assets.

Any suggestions which law firms should I go to? :s11:

I assume u are non-muslim (law is different)

If u have simple assets with simple last wish, u can generate your own Will using the OCBC Will Generator, it is free of charge, template vetted by legal. There is FAQ there, read it. https://www.ocbc.com/personal-banking/lifegoals/willgenerator/#/

1. CPF nominations can be made with your charitable organisations as bene. Just go to CPFB service centre to complete the nomination and CPFB staff will witness for u. It is better to get CPFB to witness since u are donating to charities.

2. Insurance Policies: most insurance policies can be given to nominated beneficiaries. Check with your insurer, go down to their service centre to complete the nominations and they will witness for u. For those insurance policies where u cannot do nominations, include it in the Will

3. Bank savings accounts - u have to include in the Will unless under joint accounts.

4. HDB owned solely by u : u can include in your Will. Read more at HDB website https://www.hdb.gov.sg/cs/infoweb/r.../-occupiers/retain-flat-following-life-events

Your Will must be signed by 2 witnesses to be valid.

(disclaimer: I am not a legal person nor OCBC staff. I use the generator for my Will cos I make it simple to cover assets not excluded from the Will, with the ultimate objective of doing away with the Will).

Thank you for the advices, very useful!

Can I include everything in one will (insurances, HDB, cash savings etc), or is it necessary for me to go down to every places just to do the nomination?

Also, if along the way I acquired new assets eg stocks etc, and need to update my will (but ultimately everything will still be going to charities), do I need to pay the law firm to update the will?

Why so mean to ur bro?

We had a fall out a couple of years ago.

reddevil0728

Thank you, my will is very simple and I do not have too many complicated assets.

Can I include everything in one will (insurances, HDB, cash savings etc), or is it necessary for me to go down to every places just to do the nomination?

Also, if along the way I acquired new assets eg stocks etc, and need to update my will (but ultimately everything will still be going to charities), do I need to pay the law firm to update the will?

Can consider this

https://www.ocbc.com/personal-banking/lifegoals/willgenerator/

chrisloh65

It is advisable to make your will "generic" to cover all assets not specifically spelled out in your will, except for your CPF money which may be outside of the will and you need to nominate beneficiary (this you need to check). This way, you do not need to update your will frequently as long as there is no change to the executors/trustees and beneficiaries.

You definitely need executors, and best if there is a main one and a cover one (in case main one not around anymore etc). Executors better be younger than you (else they may not be around earlier than you to be able to execute your will).

You may appoint law firm to be your executor, but not sure about the costs they charge.

mummynew

Your case is a bit more complicated if you are unable to find executor whom you can trust (actually not an uncommon problem in this 'lonely world' and the rich ones will go to trust companies that charge higher fees that one has to pay if really has no choice).

I pm you a contact and you make enquiry with them about:

1. your will
2. your LPA (a must for you to do as you seem like if you ever get into coma/disabled state, you dont really have close ones to look after you)
3. executor's issue (link to the will and LPA)

Do note this is an estate planning company runs by lawyers and financial planners. If their advice and price are right, then just get your key matters settled without engage into unnecessary 'financial planning' with them (unless you need so).

qhong61

Will he be able to apply his own flat?

maple96

I bought the flat with a sibling, but I'm the sole owner. I took a 30 years HDB loan.

Right now I have only been putting my savings in FD to generate some passive income. I know it's pathetic, so I'm planning to start investing asap..

Hi everyone, I'm in my early 30s, have yet to start topping up my SA but am thinking of starting to do so this year. My OA are mostly wiped out to pay for my HDB flat and it's only after 3 years that I start to see my OA growing, albeit very slowly (monthly OA contribution > monthly housing loan)

My only concern is that I will not be able to achieve min sum despite the topping up, plus god knows what kind of policies the govt will implement, afterall, it will be another 20 odd years before i reach 55...:(:s22:

Wah u posted so much of your personal financials but never share it here?

U are only 30, “likely” to change your status and financial situation in the future, u never know, if he/she is your only sibling, learn to forgive/forget. Dun behave like the LEEs.

If u change your status, your have to change your Will, if u change your financials, unlikely u have to change your Will if the same charitable organisations are your bene (read FAQ at OCBC website, the template is legally vetted to provide for it). U also have to change nominations.

Your sibling paid for the HDB, how much? Pls consult a lawyer whether your sibling can contest your Will with this evidence and chances of success. My advice: pls at least return your siblings share of the flat with interest.

Ok I end my sharing here, I only help people do good, not bad, goodluck!

advocate

Well in that case, you don't have to go to a lawyer to have your will draft up. For CPF nomination, you need to have at least 2 witnesses above the age of 21 and not your own family members.

A will drafted up in the presence of witnesses definitely holds more legal validity. If you need any assistance, do PM me.

twinklingstars

Wah u posted so much of your personal financials but never share it here?

U are only 30, “likely” to change your status and financial situation in the future, u never know, if he/she is your only sibling, learn to forgive/forget. Dun behave like the LEEs.

If u change your status, your have to change your Will, if u change your financials, unlikely u have to change your Will if the same charitable organisations are your bene (read FAQ at OCBC website, the template is legally vetted to provide for it). U also have to change nominations.

Your sibling paid for the HDB, how much? Pls consult a lawyer whether your sibling can contest your Will with this evidence and chances of success. My advice: pls at least return your siblings share of the flat with interest.

Ok I end my sharing here, I only help people do good, not bad, goodluck!

I understand that should I get married in the future, any existing will is automatically revoked.

My sibling did not contribute a single cent, he is just an occupier.

peppermint7

He will be as he is just an occupier, he did not use his name to buy the flat, 0 contribution from him. But he plans not to as he wants to take over the flat when I pass on.

U said u bought a flat with your sibling. U also mention he did not use his name to buy the flat.

Do u mean this flat only has your name on it? But u are not even 35 yet. How do u buy this flat alone?

polyglob

My sibling did not make a single contribution to the flat payment and hence I do not want him to inherit the flat.

But legally you are co-owners, buying as unmarried siblings in your 30s, right? I don't remember what it is for HDB, but look up joint tenancy and common tenancy for home ownership.

hwmook

I like your first statement.

So u are a Will writer?

Her sibling paid for the HDB, what is your view?

She said her sibling did not pay a single cent for the HDB. Why you say it differently?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.