Will making

rrr2015

unless there is an impetus to do so, if not i doubt they will.
just need more folks to feedback/suggestions to them on their needs
Most people assume that if one owner of the joint account passes away, then that other owner will be able to claim all the money in the account. In law, this is known as the “right of survivorship”. In fact, many banks state in their terms and conditions that they have the right to pay out all the monies to the surviving joint account holder.
why need to payout when surviving joint holder still have access?
However, in the event of a legal dispute between the surviving joint account holder and the estate of the deceased joint account owner, things are usually not so straightforward.
wow so complicated, must be written for US? am not HNW so nothing worth fighting over:LOL:

reddevil0728

ya. but need to literally write to them or like feedback to MP. have you done so?

wow so complicated, must be written for US? am not HNW so nothing worth fighting over:LOL:
more of disputes

rrr2015

ya. but need to literally write to them or like feedback to MP. have you done so?
no I'm just a nobody & no one seems interested. hope someone with more influence can help.

like what kind of disputes?

reddevil0728

no I'm just a nobody & no one seems interested. hope someone with more influence can help.
that is precisely the point right. need enough nobody to feedback. then they will hear it. if everybody assumes someone will do it, then there wouldn't be enough calls for demand to do so. then what you wish for wouldn't happen

henrylbh

no issues for those that are in joint CDP account.
I'm talking about those that are in individual CDP account mah :grin:
Cannot assume that joint CDP account got no issue. I just pointed out that I am having issue with operating a joint cdp account with my father simply because we missed a step. Read the T&Cs of the entities (including banks and insurance etc) that accept joint holding.

henrylbh

Having a will or no will also difficult, many procedures before monies come out.

Best is to put all ur monies into cpf and nominate, very fast ur beneficiary will get the payout.

Keep ur cash less den 50k or have everything as joint acc
Even CPF nomination can be challenged :s13:

And not all assets can be converted into joint ownership.

And going Public Trustee can be more expensive if you care to understand their charges in relation to your estate.

henrylbh

won't miss if it's significant. if insignificant probably missable :LOL:
Can never tell. Some spouse keep secret and there may be discovery after death several years later :s47::s13:
yeah just hoping MAS or CDP could do more.
What else you think MAS or CDP can do? Expect them to be involved in operation and distribution of private assets?

reddevil0728

Can never tell. Some spouse keep secret and there may be discovery after death several years later :s47::s13:

What else you think MAS or CDP can do? Expect them to be involved in operation and distribution of private assets?
I think is offering nomination like CPF?

henrylbh

Matters can turned ugly when there are interested parties wanting a share of the deceased's estate even if not significant.

My fathers had not much above 100k. He took his posb book when going out and hid it when he is at home :s13: All his children knows know that he had more than 100k in his bank :s13:

When he was in his eighties, I told my youngest sis, who my father stayed with, to tell father to convert his posb into joint ownership with her or my younger bro. When he procrastinated I spoke to him personally about converting his account into a joint account. He said not time yet 🤔 But alas about 2 years before his death, he asked me to be joint holder of his account in the presence of 2 other children 👏

Do you think as joint holder I got survivorship rights to keep all to myself? I asked him how he like me to distribute or else I would use my discretion. He refused to give an answer 😠

Before converting his account to joint account, I open another posb JA with him for the sole purpose of transferring by giro, his CPF monthly payout. Then from posb, I discovered that my father had another posb account in single name that he had forgotten completely as nothing much inside. Then I converted that account into a JA for the sole purpose of transferring by interbank the monthly cash allowance that I gave. Before that I deposit his monthly allowance in the first mentioned posb account.

When he passed away intestate, he had 3 posb JA account with me and a fully paid up 3 rm hdb in single name :s21:

Guess what I did with Letter of Administration?

henrylbh

I think is offering nomination like CPF?
CDP is already offering joint ownership. What else you like?

Don't expect bank or cdp to allow other issues like survivor taking a percentage with others the balance in the account. Only cpf nomination allows nominees to get respective portion of the entire sum.

rrr2015

Matters can turned ugly when there are interested parties wanting a share of the deceased's estate even if not significant.

My fathers had not much above 100k. He took his posb book when going out and hid it when he is at home :s13: All his children knows know that he had more than 100k in his bank :s13:
how they even find out?
When he was in his eighties, I told my youngest sis, who my father stayed with, to tell father to convert his posb into joint ownership with her or my younger bro. When he procrastinated I spoke to him personally about converting his account into a joint account. He said not time yet 🤔 But alas about 2 years before his death, he asked me to be joint holder of his account in the presence of 2 other children 👏
alamak … why he do that in presence of others
Do you think as joint holder I got survivorship rights to keep all to myself? I asked him how he like me to distribute or else I would use my discretion. He refused to give an answer 😠

Be converting his account to joint account, I open another posb JA with him for the sole purpose of transferring by giro, his CPF monthly payout. Then from posb, I discovered that my father had another posb account in single name that he had forgotten completely as nothing much inside. Then I converted that account into a JV for the sole purpose of transferring by interbank the monthly cash allowance that I gave. Before that I used to bank the allowance in the first mentioned posb account.

When he passed away intestate, he had 3 posb JA account with me and a fully paid up 3 rm hdb in single name :s21:

surely others can't contest on the 3 posb JA right? but hdb will need LOA liao. i read you need at least 2 pax for LOA?

if you already have enough, guess you could exclude yourself & just let your siblings settled among themselves?:p

henrylbh

how they even find out?
All children knows as sometimes he accidentally left his pass book on the table and even his given away son knows and we confide in each other about his bank balance.
alamak … why he do that in presence of others
Coincidence. My siblings happened to at home when I visited him.
surely others can't contest on the 3 posb JA right? but hdb will need LOA liao. i read you need at least 2 pax for LOA?
Just making a point that JA is not a guarantee to surviving joint holder especially the first JA where initially I deposited his monthly allowance until a second JA was open.
if you already have enough, guess you could exclude yourself & just let your siblings settled among themselves?:p
I distributed only the first bank JA balance to all including myself according to my discretion. My share, I put aside or on hold in case any siblings are desperate for money. All others I keep for myself. Of course I open myself to litigation for not complying with intestate act . if matters turn ugly. But I am blessed :LOL:

Squaredot

All children knows as sometimes he accidentally left his pass book on the table and even his given away son knows and we confide in each other about his bank balance.

Coincidence. My siblings happened to at home when I visited him.

Just making a point that JA is not a guarantee to surviving joint holder especially the first JA where initially I deposited his monthly allowance until a second JA was open.

I distributed only the first bank JA balance to all including myself according to my discretion. My share, I put aside or on hold in case any siblings are desperate for money. All others I keep for myself. Of course I open myself to litigation for not complying with intestate act . if matters turn ugly. But I am blessed :LOL:
don't understand :s11:
are you saying survivorship clause in joint accounts are being challenged by interested parties (siblings)?

your father's flat in single name is distributed intestate, correct?

Squaredot

Before converting his account to joint account, I open another posb JA with him for the sole purpose of transferring by giro, his CPF monthly payout. Then from posb, I discovered that my father had another posb account in single name that he had forgotten completely as nothing much inside. Then I converted that account into a JA for the sole purpose of transferring by interbank the monthly cash allowance that I gave. Before that I deposit his monthly allowance in the first mentioned posb account.

what did u do with Letter of Administration? Curious..

Squaredot

Cannot assume that joint CDP account got no issue. I just pointed out that I am having issue with operating a joint cdp account with my father simply because we missed a step. Read the T&Cs of the entities (including banks and insurance etc) that accept joint holding.
I may have missed your post...what is the issue of your joint CDP account? Care to elaborate? 😛

reddevil0728

CDP is already offering joint ownership. What else you like?

Don't expect bank or cdp to allow other issues like survivor taking a percentage with others the balance in the account. Only cpf nomination allows nominees to get respective portion of the entire sum.
as mentioned, something like cpf/insurance nomination lor.
nothing is stopping anyone from challenging it. but whether successful or not is another matter.
can switching from individual to joint (vice versa) be done online?
this sort of thing typically need authorisation. don't think they have set it up such that it allows singpass to authenticate 2 different ppl

CrashWire

Poor families also can fight over money.

My main point is that as much as possible, have something about the person's wishes in writing, or even just a video recording on someone's phone.

rrr2015

Poor families also can fight over money.
but you need $$$ (pay legal) to fight over $$$ leh
My main point is that as much as possible, have something about the person's wishes in writing, or even just a video recording on someone's phone.
if will or no will also can contest, better if done without will, less hussle. i think person's wish probably more on family harmony than distribution. if distribution going to create friction among family, better just will to charity:ROFLMAO:

rrr2015

nothing's perfect,
fortunately your siblings didn't pursue further. but what about hdb? don't u need LOA for transfer of ownership?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.